Amy Ann Geistweidt’s Reviews

Amy Ann Geistweidt

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If only the same effort to bill me was applied to my representation...

    Posted by George,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Geistweidt.

    I hired Ms. Geistweidt six years ago to represent me during a divorce. I was stationed in Germany, so the distance and time difference (7 hours) did complicate things for both of us. This firm bills in 30 minute minimum blocks and she will charge you to read a five word email (i.e., "thank you for the update" and you will be billed half an hour for her to dictate a two line email and her paralegal will then bill 30 minutes to type it out. She also billed me $25 more per hour for herself and $15 more per hour for the paralegal. I discovered this error after our relationship was completed. To their credit, they did refund me the extra money paid and about 50% of the charges I challenged.

    The billing issue was the least of the problems I had Ms. Geistweidt's representation. We used a mediator and agreed to a mediated settlement agreement. At the time of the final divorce decree hearing, my ex-wife, her attorney, and the presiding Judge began crossing out undesirable sections of the final divorce decree and began adding and changing the terms of the MSA and Ms. Geisweidt was powerless to stop it. What was the most egregious inaction she did was to fail and tell me that we had to appeal this final divorce decree within 30 days or it is permanent. She failed me in so many ways. I would not recommend her or her firm.

  2. Outstanding Attorney - best in the region - a great example of excellence in legal practice. Brilliant.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 6-12 months ago.
    • Amy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Amy is one of the best attorneys in the region. She has in depth knowledge of the law and she is an outstanding professional. She has reasonable legal fees and her work product is of the highest quality. She is very results oriented, well organized and she is a very skilled negotiator. Her legal research is very in depth which is essential for putting your case before a judge. She does not stoop to try bullying or silly tricks that some lesser attorneys routinely do - she focuses on gathering evidence and putting together solid claims for your case that are well supported in a thoughtful concise manner. She is meticulous and thorough and knows how to defend and counter - including nonsense that is typically used to harass or to try to intimidate. She adheres to facts and evidence, and law. She would never come close to ever crossing the lines of professional misconduct that I have seen with other attorneys. She is one of the best attorneys that I have worked with in the past 20 plus years.

  3. Absolutely the best family law attorney in Bexar County

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 6-12 months ago.
    • Amy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Amy has represented the best interest of my children in several matters for over 7 years now. Amy takes her cases personally and is always very well prepared. She is honest and she is respected by judges and fellow attorneys. You cannot find a better family law attorney than Amy Geistweidt.

  4. Brilliant

    Posted by Lincois, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 6-12 months ago.
    • Amy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks to attorney Geistweidt for her brilliant help in trying my case at the protection order hearing. Very Proffessional and knowledgable in Texas Family Law.

  5. Just a normal guy

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Amy is in an industry where integrity & ethics are seldom seen; she has always represented herself to me w/ the utmost integrity & ethics in the most humble way. I strongly recommend Amy and have done so on a number of occasions.

  6. Amy Geistweidt Review

    Posted by Frank, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 6-12 months ago.
    • Amy handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Amy Geistweidt took the time to deal with my case on a personal level. I felt that as wild and as unpredictable as my case got, she walked me through, guided me, and advised through every circumstance that came along. She is a class act lawyer with a great staff. She is not your average lawyer that will leave you out to dry. I trusted her in my most dire time of need, and I expect to call her for any future issues that may occur. She is an experienced, knowledgeable, and compassionate attorney. Her staff members and office personnel exemplify professionalism Would I recommend Amy Geistwedt? With out a doubt!

  7. Billing Experts

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 6-12 months ago.
    • Amy handled my Child Custody matter.

    This attorney was not a good attorney in guiding me along in my divorce process and child custody hearings. We went to court multiple times with minimal results. The last time we went the other attorney just walked all over my attorney. Points that should have been fought were just met with one sentence objections and then there was no other follow up to the argument after that. I provided my attorney with so much information that it should have been plain what the outcome would be but she was not aggressive enough to win. If you want to be charged for every little thing then go see this attorney. She will charge you for faxes (30 minutes min), phone calls, emails etc. She will not guide you very well as far as the paperwork and terminology. She would send me documents and then I would have to call to ask what the heck the paper said. Of course she would charge me for that. She should have included it in the email with the document. I didn't expect hand holding but I did expect guidance. I would often call her out of some emotional situation I encountered with my ex and rather than direct she would say ok let's file this or let's file that. This lawyer has received numerous awards so don't go to court based on that or you will go way into debt and not be represented well.

  8. Amy is the best.

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy 1-3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Amy Geistweidt is an exceptional attorney and walked me through a contentious life event. She explained to me in laymen's terms my options and how to deal with a vindictive and dishonest ex spouse and won me a great settlement, especially for a man in the State of Texas. She would tell me when we should spend her time and my money and when not to do so.

    It wasn't about billable hours to her, it was about taking care of me. I have recommended her a number of times to my friends who happen to find themselves in a tough situation and would not hesitate to do so again.

    She fights to do what is right in a professional and personal manner.
    If you need help in family law, you need Amy. It's that simple.

  9. Left me Hanging

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Amy Geistweidt.
    • I hired Amy more than 3 years ago.
    • Amy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She left me out in the cold after she got a judgement from a judge that my ex-husband had no rights to my child in a custody battle. The judge ordered that since he was not the father through DNA proof and never wrote the order or had it signed and since he was a visiting judge and she dropped me as a client since I was unable to pay her outragous fees he came back after me for custody 5 months later. And I am still fighting this issue in court now and cannot get DNA entered now into evidence that he is not her father.

210-561-4035