James Michael Clay’s Reviews

James Michael Clay

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Really bad representation

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Clay.

    I had hired Mr clay to be my divorce lawyer. After taking the retainer he became very different. Was very hard to get a hold of. He does not even have a part legal. Came to court unprepared. Not a pleasant person to have on your side let alone represent you thru a divorce

    1. James Michael Clay

      James Clay

      Lawyer Comment:

      We try to assure excellent representation for every client. This client, who has apparently chosen to remain anonymous, does not appear to be an actual client, since we have received no contact from current or former clients indicating they had a problem with our representation. I have not had to try a contested divorce case in court in a very long time, as most of our cases settle in mediation or by settlement confernence, which indicates this may not be a bona-fide client. As any person who is viewing my profile in AVVO can see, reviews on our firm are overwhelmingly positive, and I invite the anonymous reviewer to contact our office so that we may discuss whatever complaints he or she has.

      Posted 1 day ago. Flag

  2. Quick stress free process!

    Posted by Wendy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.

    I came to Mr. Clay as a service member in need of a divorce in which I myself could not be in attendance for court as I would not be in the state at the time. His pricing was reasonable and he executed as expected without problems. He was quick in returning phone calls, emails, and answering any questions I had; making this situation stress free. The turn around time for completing the task from Mr. Clay was impeccible. I appreciate all that he did for me. And would gladly recommend him to anyone else requiring the same services. Thank you again!

  3. Worth Every Penny

    Posted by The Hyde Family, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Mr. Clay on a goole search of adoption lawyers for SATX. Later I found that I worked with a individual who had previously used his services. I made the first contact and was replied to within the hour. He was very up front with the process, the fee and all the requirements. He was sensitive to our families needs (we're military) and he treated us like we were the only clients that mattered when ever we were involved with him. Every bit of our process worked exactly as she stated and nothing was hidden or changed or left out. Now because of his help and his efforts, our family is truly complete.

  4. Mr. Clay is a fantastic lawyer.

    Posted by Jo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Clay was caring and sensitive to my situation. My divorce dragged on due to the other party and he was supportive all the way to the end. He was professional at all times and was always quick to respond to me by both phone and email. He gave me excellent advice and looked out for my best interests.

  5. A great lawyer

    Posted by Benny, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Adoption matter.

    Our lawyer James Michael clay,was a real professional, we went to him for help in adoption of our little boy, he was very clear in letting us know what we had to do in order for us to adopt our son, he was very upfront with everything,James Michael clay explain to us how much we had to pay and not a penny more, he was very reasonable with the payments, he explained the steps we needed to take to adopt our son, and he follow through with everything just like he said would happen, he never made us feel like we were alone in the adoption,and he was never far away from a phone call , we were always able to reach him when we needed him to explain paper work to us, he took the time to explain every step of the way , he made it happen for us , we adopted our son in a very timely manner, and for that we will always be grateful to him.

  6. Divorce Case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted J Michael Clay as well as some other attorneys for pricing. There was one other attorney that offered pricing at a difference of $200 from Mr. Clay. But by talking to Mr. Clay his knowledge and friendly customer service sucked me in to using his services. I have a wife that was not willing to sign a divorce agreement, she refused to sign, and myself serving overseas as a service member was difficult. So Mr. Clay made it easy and it didn't take as long as I thought. Great service and would recommend!

  7. Painless Military Divorce

    Posted by Zach, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Clay assisted me greatly during my divorce. He was able to quickly familiarize himself with the specifics of my case and issues, and facilitate a smooth ending to my divorce while I was stationed overseas. If you are military and out of country, it can be easy to feel like the system is stacked against you. Mr. Clay knows the military system, and it was a huge help to feel like you have someone on your side.

    Thanks again sir.

  8. Divorce

    Posted by Andrea, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Clay was always helpful and most important available. He is extremely knowledgeable and always let me know what was going on and the steps he would be taking.

  9. The perfect example of how a lawyer should be!

    Posted by Jeremy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The experience I had with his firm was as smooth and painless as one could hope for. Always professional and punctual on all set deadlines. The price is competitive compared to other private firms out there and very easy to get a hold of any of the helpful staff in regards to questions which were answered with great haste. I continue to thank him for finalizing this unfortunate bump in the road so I can move on with my life.

  10. A knowledgeable and aggressive attorney who bills incredibly fairly..

    Posted by Mike, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clay.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Clay represented me exceptionally well over a 14 month custody modification process. I was pursuing custody modification on behalf of my 15 year old son against two women (my ex-wife and her attorney) who were absolutely unreasonable. We immediately won temporary orders after a failed attempt at mediation. This process was filled with challenges including my moving outside of the County, discovery, a Jury request, continuance of the jury trial and finally a successful final trial. Unfortunately, I have had the opportunity to work with multiple family lawyers in San Antonio over the last 14 years.. However, I was fortunate to find Mr. Clay and although I hope to never need a family law attorney again, if I do Michael will be my first and only call.. I will also say that after my experience with other attorneys over the years, Mr. Clay is the only one who billed me in a way that I felt was a more than fair manner.. Never once was I "nickle and dimed" and for that I'm very appreciative.

210-694-5205