James Morris Balagia’s Reviews

James Morris Balagia

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review for Poss. case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It took 4 months to resolve my case and some information I wish I would've had the first time I met with them. Instead I got information about a week before a court date saying I needed to get about $1000 together. The end result was good but that's information someone needs to know 3 1/2 months before.

  2. Out of State Issue

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.

    I came to Mr. Balagia with a traffic matter that was mistakenly showing on my driver record as a conviction which also meant that I would lose my license. Mr. Balagia sat me down and thoroughly explained that he thought this was something that could be resolved. He chose his assistant attorney Mr. Simpson to help me with my case. His assistant attorney Mr. SImpson handled the matter with the utmost professionalism, always responded to my calls and demonstrated a genuine care for my situation. The matter was resolved and I now feel such a great sense of relief and freedom thanks to them. I would definitely recommend Mr. Balagia and Mr. Simpson for anybody who has a traffic matter to resolve.

  3. Solid Criminal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jamie & his team represented me in a felony criminal defense matter. I was referred to him by my father who'd known Jamie for quite some time.

    The initial meeting lasted about an hour as they questioned me on what happened so as to determine the best way to defend me. Prior to every court hearing, they called and wrote me to keep me informed as to when to appear. At the conclusion of each appearance they reviewed what had transpired and sought my input before making recommendations as how to best proceed. The case was difficult in that I didn't give them a lot to work with; that said, Jamie provided me with solid advice and we were able to reach a good conclusion with the State. I avoided prison and have a second chance that I am making the best of. I would recommend that first, it's better not to get in trouble in the first place, but, if you do, I wouldn't hesitate to hire Jamie again.

  4. Best Damn Lawers Around!

    Posted by Mel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Very professional, trust worthy, polite, extreamly smart. Team works together great before trial and during trials, was surprised at the amount of attorneys that were working on my case at any given time, if i ever have any type of legal matter I will be contacting Jamie and his team first!

  5. Will fight for your rights...

    Posted by Jodi, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Excellent attorney....He will fight for your rights....expensive, yes.
    He will go the distance ....

    He is a wonderful person, he took care of my son.

    I would highly recommend...you have to follow up tho...

    If you ever get a DWI in the surrounding counties .....this is the man.

    1. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      I will certainly discuss the "responsive" and "kept me informed" categories with all the staff. I appreciate the honesty of Jodi and will do my very best to improve to all "fives".

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Great!!!

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was recently arrested for DWI/Possession of marijuana. Jamie and his entire staff did an amazing job. They worked relentlessly representing me, they were extremely easy to talk to, and generally made me feel at home whenever i went to their office. I would highly recommend him and his firm to anyone.

  7. DWI Dismissed!

    Posted by Brandon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had been arrested for DWI almost 2 years ago. Jamie and his staff worked tirelessly so justice would prevail. After reviewing the DPS tape my lawyer, Tristan Dau submitted a 'Motion to Suppress' based on an invalid traffic stop. The judge reviewed and had no choice but to dismiss the case!!! I have my life and reputation back and could never repay these guys for this judgement. Hire Jamie Balagia!!!

    1. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      The thing to remember is that we can win cases without ever facing the jury. We have been winning quite a few of these lately with Motions to Suppress. And just filing a Motion doesn't get you to the finish line. You have to know how to analyze a video tape, how to cross the arresting officer on the stand and then argue the legal issue convincingly enough to position the judge to do the right thing. This is a wonderful comment by another satisfied customer. Next thing to do is get his record expunged from this arrest.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  8. Non-discloure Agreement (NDA) Success

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have a misdemeanor arrest on my record from 10 years ago and dreaded every time I had to submit to a background check for a new job. After reviewing my case's history, my attorney, Tristan Dau, walked me through my available options, ultimately saving me time and money. He was very responsive to all my communications , and provided updates every step of the way.

    The entire process took about 6 weeks to complete. My record is now sealed from non-governmental agencies which means I'll never again have to worry about another background check, and the peace of mind that comes from knowing that is priceless.

    I highly recommend the services Mr. Balagia's Austin office.

    1. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is the great part of having excellent associate attorneys and a terrific support staff. Just knowing that our clients are getting top notch service starts the day off with a smile.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  9. LIFESAVER - aside of God of course!

    Posted by Lisa!, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was reluctant to trust one of Jamie's staff attorney's but he really does hire GREAT associates. TRISTAN was excellent and pulled me out a a horrible fire. I had a DWI charge in Hays county and then got one in Bexar. I am a pretty responsible and professional person and never thought I'd ever be in this position in my life. We went to trial 2 times for Hays county and then able to get Obstruction of a Hwy deferred adjudification. WOW. I have an opportunity for a job that looks promising. That never would have been possible before their help. I owe them a debt of gratitude. Thank you!

    1. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      Lisa was going through some tough times and we are so happy with the result obtained here. And it did take us two trials, both with hung juries, to get the deferred adjudication that we needed to avoid a third trial. This allows Lisa to get the DWI arrest expunged from her record and we will be able to "seal" her Obstruction once she finishes her probationary period successfully.
      And yes I hire only the best associates and train them to the best of my ability. My associates won eight of our 14 trial "wins" last year and I lost our only "Guilty" trial before knocking out six Not Guilty trials in a row. Lots of lawyers advertise that they are DWI lawyers but you always need to ask them about the previous DWI trial that they have been involved in. If all they do is work out plea offers then you need to reconsider whether you need to call the DWI Dudes.
      We have a great track record of winning cases that we were hired on to take the place of the first lawyer hired. And we are always there to review your case and advise you prior to you letting your lawyer plea you to a DWI.
      We are "always ready to take it to trial for the win!" and can back that up with action in the courtroom or to accept a non-DWI offer to make the DWI go away.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

    2. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      Lisa was going through some tough times and we are so happy with the result obtained here. And it did take us two trials, both with hung juries, to get the deferred adjudication that we needed to avoid a third trial. This allows Lisa to get the DWI arrest expunged from her record and we will be able to "seal" her Obstruction once she finishes her probationary period successfully.
      And yes I hire only the best associates and train them to the best of my ability. My associates won eight of our 14 trial "wins" last year and I lost our only "Guilty" trial before knocking out six Not Guilty trials in a row. Lots of lawyers advertise that they are DWI lawyers but you always need to ask them about the previous DWI trial that they have been involved in. If all they do is work out plea offers then you need to reconsider whether you need to call the DWI Dudes.
      We have a great track record of winning cases that we were hired on to take the place of the first lawyer hired. And we are always there to review your case and advise you prior to you letting your lawyer plea you to a DWI.
      We are "always ready to take it to trial for the win!" and can back that up with action in the courtroom or to accept a non-DWI offer to make the DWI go away.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Success!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Balagia.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was stopped last year for a traffic offense which tunred out in my arrest for a DWI which I felt was wrong. I contacted Mr. Balagia's office for representation and from the first time I spoke with them I knew I had found the right guy. They helped me from the very beginning and made me feel very comfortable. Mr. Balagia was certain that we would win the case one way or the other. Every step of the way he answered my questions. From ALR to getting the case dismissed. Thanks you all for representing me in the case and getting it dismissed.

    1. James Morris Balagia

      James Balagia

      Lawyer Comment:

      I wanted to take the time to thank our client for having the courage and staying power to hang in there with us until we could get the only acceptable result for this case. It isn't easy fighting the system but it is so wonderfully rewarding to hear that a case has been dismissed so that life can get back on track.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

go to dwidude.com for important information and an easy contact form for 24/7 help

210-394-3833