Stacey Holley Valdez’s Reviews

Stacey Holley Valdez

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. "DEFENDER" - Tough to the core, and won't back down.

    Posted by Heather Fisher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • Stacey handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Stacey was assigned to me as a public defender on a nightmare of a criminal case. In light of the events, things could have gone much worse, but I put my trust in her to take care of me, and she did exactly as she said she would. She is TOUGH. She takes no nonsense from the prosecution, and commands a tremendous amount of respect from everyone in the courtroom, and pays attention to the details. She is a DEFENDER. I will also be retaining her for divorce. She is a bulldog and won't back down, and won't allow you to be treated unfairly.

  2. An Excellent fighter who can make things happen... A great partner and a great Attorney!

    Posted by Chad, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stacey did an exceptional job for me. She was my 3rd attorney in my 6 year battle for my kids. She was the first who was able to make positive traction and ultimately save my kids from a terrible situation. She was incredible in court and did an amazing job in trial. She is a fierce fighter who will make things happen. She was MUCH better than the "expensive well known" firm I had hired and was the one who changed the course in my situation. I am very grateful for her help and support and recommend her services to anyone. She will make things happen for you. Work with her and give her as much as you can, trust her knowledge and guidance and you will not be disappointed.

  3. BULLDOG IN THE COURTROOM

    Posted by Charles, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stacey tried a custody case for me a couple of months ago. She was so good. I was astonished at her ability to dismantle all of the witnesses for my ex. My ex had a good lawyer, but Stacey was far far better...every step of the way. We won. There is nothing better than winning. You want to win? Hire Stacey

  4. NOT GUILTY!!!!!!

    Posted by Mark, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stacey handled a criminal matter for me which went to trial. She was unbelievable in the courtroom. It was obvious that she was well prepared, knew the law and had the respect of the prosecutor and judge. If you get in trouble, she is the one you want to handle your case.

  5. Incompetent Money Hungry

    Posted by Martha, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey more than 3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    She never kept me up to date with what was going on with my custody suit. I was not provided copies of documents after she filed them or told that they had been filed. Her office was disorganized and I could never reach her once I gave her money. She does not keep up your case but scurries to work on it at the last minute, that was obvious in court.

  6. EXCELLENT AGRESSIVE REPRESENTATION

    Posted by Steve, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Stacey for a child custody case. She was amazing in the courtroom. She cross examined my ex with such skill, I felt like I was watching a television program. Absolutely owned the room. If you want to win, she's your best chance of getting there.

  7. CUSTODY-TEN REASONS TO STAY AWAY FROM HER OFFICE

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    TAPE RECORD YOUR MEETINGS WITH HER!
    1. When I went to her she promised to depose the other side, SHE FORGOT TO DO THIS!!!
    2. She is incompetent. She never notified me of a hearing I was REQUIRED to attend. She did not show up to my mediation but charged me for it on her bill.
    3. She did not file any documents correctly with court so EVERYTHING I had gathered for her was thrown out at beginning of trial.
    4. Now I cannot get a final bill from her that accurately reflects what I paid her. She doesn't keep tract of your case. She did not correct mistakes in the original paperwork.
    5. She did not take the seriousness of the child's welfare at stake. BECAUSE of the lack of having a competent attorney I was fined a judgment.
    6. Many elements of my case I could have handled better ON MY OWN. DO NOT USE THIS LAWYER.
    7. I sent her an email Sept 4th and she has YET to respond.
    8. DOES THAT SOUND LIKE SOMEONE WHO STAYS ON TOP OF A CASE. She should return my money.
    9. She allowed the opposing attorney to berate me for HOURS on the stand causing me much emotional duress. She hasn't checked on the welfare of the child involved. NONE of his family has seen him since the trial.
    10. I am filing a complaint with the bar association.

  8. Over priced divorce attorney

    Posted by JAMES, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stacy handled my divorce and overcharged me. We were going to fight my X wife but then it turned to a noncontestant divorece. She charged me 2800.00 dollars to fight but when it changed she did not want to refund any money back. My X and myself did all the work and all she did was type it up and charged us 2800.00. On top of it she told me she couldnt handle the 401K transfer to my x account. I was told she doesnt handle that and another attorney would do that for a fee of 500.00. Totally disappointed with her work and charges!!

  9. First time good, second time not so good

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went through Stacey Valdez for another legal matter about five years ago. She did exactly what she was hired to do and the communication was perfect. This time again, I needed an attorney and so I went through her again.

    Apparently times have changed. Sure. She claims she did what she was hired to do this time around, but I have yet to see any proof of it. For a couple months, the only person who I was directed to speak to about my case was her grossly incompetent assistant, Blair. First off, my paperwork didn't even get off the ground in the time frame discussed because Blair claimed she didn't have all the info for my case. Said info was provided along with the couple thousand dollars I paid when I first hired Valdez's legal services. Upon my payment, I was told that if any further info was needed I would get a call from the office. That didn't happen. It took two phone calls to get to Blair's first line of excuses. Along with the excuses, I was told that she was going to call me when a court date was set. That phone call didn't happen either. Two phone calls later, Blair finally gave me a date but didn't know if I was supposed to attend. How do you not know that?! Each step of the process was the same exact thing. Blair had no idea what was going on, promised a call back with the correct info that never happened. When I asked to speak with Stacey directly, all I kept getting was Blair. The "umm", "like...yeah" thing was pretty unprofessional as well. Felt like I was talking to a character off of the movie "Clueless" the whole time. Not good.

    When I finally could get directed to speak with Stacey, all I got was a bunch of excuses including "Blair is new and I'm sure you were new at a job once." Really?? It's not that hard to stay organised and call people back when you say you will and do what you say you're going to do. You don't have to have a lot of experience in order to apply the basic common sense practice of following through. Then Stacey went on to say that she's not a courier service and if I wanted my outcome I could Google it. Nice. So ridiculous that I have to have a couple months of dialogue with an incompetent assistant, then get told this mess by the attorney.

    Until I get the documents as promised by Blair, I'm going to assume nothing happened. Common sense has it that communication is biggest part of any product including legal services. Valdez and her team failed at both. Thank goodness there are plenty other attorneys to sift through.

  10. Experienced, knowledgeable FIGHTER!

    Posted by D.R., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stacey Valdez.
    • I hired Stacey 1-3 years ago.
    • Stacey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Stacey is an incredible attorney who has gone above and beyond when we truly needed her help. She has traveled to other counties with us during our custody modification, making sure that the letter of the law was followed. We recently retained her again; and to me, that says everything. Stacey truly cares about her clients and has shown compassion and knowledge through our most difficult times as parents. I highly recommend Stacey as your Board Certified Family Law Attorney.