Bruce A. Baughman’s Reviews

Bruce A. Baughman

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bruce is very condescending

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bruce would not take my case unless I left Iraq and appeared in his office. When I did get a chance to leave he did not even remember who I was or anything about my case. He is very condescending so he treats you as if you are a child or really stupid and any question that you ask him is beneath him to answer. On April 30, 2009 I had court Mr. Baughman decided to go say hi to his buddies in other courts and asked me to tag along. I had no ideal why he ask me or why we were going to diffent floors but when we return back to my court where I was suppose to be he almost got the case thrown out because we were running late. After court was over my parents had question as did I but I guess he found my mom to be the most annoying and asked my dad and I if he could curse out my mother. I stood in shock an aw. Is he a good lawyer? NO. Will he do you right? Just as along as you keep giving him money.

  2. Best family law attorney in Harris county

    Posted by Ronald, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce 6-12 months ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Bruce to help me get better visitation with my daughter. This process took over a year to get done. Bruce is not the nicest guy but he is the best lawyer you can get in family court. Bruce was highly recommended to me by my aunt who works at the family court. He got me a none standard visitation which I needed because of my work schedule and he destroyed the opposing attorney who tried to make it look like a made more money than I did to get more money in child support. I am very happy with the results. If you need an attorney hire this guy.

  3. I PAID FOR REPRESENTATION THAT I DIDN'T GET

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-6 months ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the moment I gave Him his retainer I regretted hiring him but it was too late. The second appt. I made with him to discuss questions that I had I was greeted in a Hostile manner. Every question was answered in a condescending manner and I was made to feel totally incompetent because I didn't understand legal terminology. When I questioned the billing He asked me if "I could add?" Throughout the course of the case there was absolutely no contact from His office other than sending bills. Whenever his office sent copies of legal papers, there would be no explanation as to what the paperwork meant or what He recommended. When I called His office I was told they were busy and they would call me back. I would not get a return call. Things got really ugly towards the end when He scheduled court and didn't inform me. A second court date was scheduled to finalize paperwork. He showed up 3 1/2 hours late! Because of this there could no longer be another rescheduling without having to go to trial! Long story short, He withdrew as Counsel days before our case was due to court. I had to hire another attorney at the very last minute to represent me. Wonder how many people He has done and will continue doing this to in the future?

  4. Bruce is dropping my case because I wrote a bad review

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Custody matter.

    I just received a call from Bruce's secretary saying that he is dropping my case because I wrote a bad review. My case have been on hold an I am not getting any updates. Iha e left messages for Bruce and he never called me back. He is now dropping my case and holding on to my retainer according to his secretary Brandy.

    Be very careful with this man.

  5. My divorce attorney

    Posted by Norma, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He is a tough lawyer and fights for your rights. He prepares you for your case by making you tough enough to handle the defense attorneys and mediators. I would recommend him highly.

  6. OMG, BEWARE!!! Horrible Arrogant Jerk!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This guy was horrible. I thought it would be nice to have a tough lawyer, but in reality the only person he is tough with is his own clients. While sitting in the waiting room waiting for your appointment, all you hear is him yelling at the the client currently in his office. Then when your turn finally comes, he yells at you. When he needs something he YELLS at his own office staff.

    There are far better lawyers out there with a lot better reputations with the courts. This guy won't know you child's name or even care in the slightest and will only cause problems with your case in the long run.

  7. RUN, RUN, RUN BEWARE!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This guy was so unprofessional and yells at everyone in the room, from you, the opposing counsel, the judge, his own family who work in his office. I've seen it all from this belligerent old guy.

    We wanted a simple uncontested divorce in which he did not listen. You will get absolutely no chance to tell you side because he simply does not care. I had to fire him because they would not finish anything!!! If you want a return phone call, you can forget that and don't even ask to know what is going on with your case.

    Once I hired a new lawyer he decided to intervene so I could not finalize my divorce with the new lawyer. I hired him and paid good money, yet he felt he could treat me like a dog and yell at me like my ex did!! Worst lawyer I have ever had! I have ran into so many people with the same complaints and am pushing them to file a complaint with the bar. DO NOT HIRE!!!!

  8. Fantastic Family Law Attorney / Custody

    Posted by Cindy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When my ex-husband lodged a custody suit against me, I was referred to Bruce by a former Harris County Family Law Judge as one of the best lawyers ever to walk into her courtroom. Boy!! was she right!! As long as you play by his rules, everything will go great. He is abrupt, to the point and not so much on the "warm fuzzy" side of life; however, he kicks butt in the courtroom AND THAT WHAT YOU NEED!!. Other lawyers and judges have the greatest of respect for him. I only wish that I had hired him for my divorce!!! If you want the best - go see Bruce!!

  9. Bruce is awesome!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Bruce Baughman.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Love Bruce! He's a pain in the ass and completely rude but he gets the job done which is all that matters! Walking in the court house with him was like walking with a celebrity. Everyone knows him and has a high respect for him. I would recommend him to anyone needing a badass divorce attorney!