David S Hunter’s Reviews

David S Hunter

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Lawyer!!!

    Posted by Cristina,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Hunter.

    David Hunter was recommended to me by an old boss when I was faced with a minimum five year sentence for a third DWI. Mr. Hunter was the consummate professional. He went to bat for me and seemed to genuinely care for my case. My ex-boss told me he was a good lawyer, but David Hunter went above and beyond all expectations. I felt like my life was over, but thanks to David I ended up with only two years’ probation. My probation is now nearly over, and I can happily say that today I am in a much better place in my life than I was before this mess began. My family life has greatly improved, and I feel fortunate to say that my professional life has improved as well. I am currently working back in my former field but at a better location and making more money than before. I definitely worked hard to get where I am today, but David Hunter was instrumental in preserving the freedom which allowed me to do so. I can’t thank David Hunter enough. I know I never could have succeeded without him.

  2. He earned these stars

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David Hunter sealed my review today with a 5 star rating.
    David was understanding of my need to keep resetting it so I could get situated with my job until I was ready for the court date. He also said that this tactic was good because it helps wear down the DA.
    He responded to every text I had and answered every question I had about from listening to advice from friends.
    My case had me guilty as charged but I still walked out today with absolutely nothing but a fine. The DA wanted probation, breathalyzer engine lock, community service, alcohol classes, and I walked out with having none of that.

    This man pulled a miracle for me. I had no idea it was going to be this good when he walked up and said "Are you ready to be happy?" Oh boy am I happy. He saved my life from being drastically altered.

  3. Honest and professional, but socially short and RUDE

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Defended me fairly well on a Mis. ASSAULT that violated my probation... Was able to reach a plea with the DA that left me satisfied. David was very honest, and upfront about what I was facing, and i really appreciated his straight forward approach to delivering my options... But i have to note, that a few of the bad reviews here probably derive from his extremely short and snappy demeanor... As being a former judge can quickly cut any persons tolerance for ignorance or excuses down to a minimal... I later called David to inquire about records I needed for my real estate license, only to have him RUDELY end the call in the middle of conversation because of background noise from the restaurant I was in. Not sure if RUDENESS would count as a detriment against a lawyer, however, It definitely makes want to find someone else to deal with.

  4. UNETHICAL ATTORNEY

    Posted by john, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had David hunter for over 1 year to help me defend a false criminal charges. He told me that He was a Judge before and he knew many people in fort bend court. He DID NOTHING for my case, he lied and worked with the DA to have me plea guilty of a charges. He is not thrust worth, lier and very lazy. Dont make my mistake by hiring this LAWYER…

  5. unexpected suprise...

    Posted by Ashley, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr Hunter was a very professional and informative attorney. He was very aggressive and handled my case perfectly. I am very pleased with his performance and would absolutely use him in the future. Very pleased!!!:)

  6. Mr. David Hunter is an excellent experienced highly recommended attorney,

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. David Hunter is an excellent experienced highly recommended well known and respected attorney, who has proved himself to be a man of his word! He is persistent, aggressive, and trustworthy rest assured he will fight for you.

    I was arrested back in 2012 for a third DWI. I immediately began researching and contacting attorneys to determine which would be the best fit for my fragile case as I knew a third DWI was a serious offense and my main concern was "I'm going to prison". So I contacted a very well known successful attorney I used for my second DWI however, I felt uneasy rehiring him for several reasons one being his rates were extremely high, and I just felt I could find a better attorney to represent my case.

    I managed to find Mr. Hunter's website I read & researched his background and became very impressed by the reviews, and successful cases he won. I setup an appointment to consult with Mr. Hunter at his law office he was very comforting, professional, and honest. I walked in filled with fear and anxiety about my case and expressed my concern to Mr. Hunter about how I did not want to go to prison, Mr. Hunter managed to assure me he would do his absolute best not let that happen.

    He immediately advised me as to what actions I needed to take in order to benefit my case. He told me it would take little effort and work on my end in order to get the best possible outcome. I complied and did everything he advised me to do, and it was well worth the little work effort! I must admit what seemed to be a tedious journey with several court reset dates (which is normal) turned out to be a great beneficial blessing in disguise as there was meaningful and distinct purpose behind these reset dates it actually gave us more time to do what was needed to do in order to build a strong defense against what the DA was offering and it worked as promised by Mr. Hunter.

    I was facing worst case scenario 10 years prison time, best case scenario 12 years probation! However Mr. Hunter managed to get me 5 years probation, and a occupational license! My overall experience with Mr. Hunter as my representing attorney is exceedingly high, as he over exceeded my expectations and proved his expertise excellent! Mr. Hunter truly was and is a God sent, and I would without hesitation recommend him to anyone.

  7. Very disappointed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Hunter to handle my misdemeanor case 3 years ago. He did absolutely nothing other than kept resetting the case for about 14 months. He hardly responded to my questions, did not care about the case in any way and I ended up replacing him with someone else. I strongly recommend NOT to hire or pay Mr. Hunter for anything in advance, he will refuse to do any work once he received his payment.

  8. USEWD CAR SALESMAN

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired him because he TOLD US HE WAS AN EX JUDGE in Fort bend court.
    For over 10 monts , he did not tel me or do anything. Yes he did some thing RESET MY COUT DATE 10 X.
    LAZY, RUDE, LIER, NO ETHICS and the worst of all HE TOOK MY MONE AND HELP THE DA to try to have me take the DA plea deal…he is a used car salesman

  9. Great lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Hunter.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David Hunter is a good lawyer! He is straight forward and professional. David Hunter is very calming, because of his experience he is a trust worthy attorney and you can count on him to do his best.

281-265-1515