Mary Elizabeth Van Orman’s Reviews

Mary Elizabeth Van Orman

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. off the rails not paying attention to her business

    Posted by Sallie Ben,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Van Orman.

    I had heard Mary was going down a rabbit hole with some outside issues and not being responsive and I have great sympathy for the kind of personal problems I was told she was having. However, her lack of communication and professionalism cost me around 1500 and I don't appreciate it. She was unavailable to my lawyers (she represented my ex-husband) and we had a signed agreement, my lawyers, my ex-husband and me had all signed. Mary simply couldn't be reached. For months. Not by phone, fax, mail, etc. Every time my lawyers reached out to her it cost me money. She is the only one we were waiting on. My attorneys even had to prepare for court because they had no choice since she hadn't signed the agreement. That cost me more money, too. Finally, my ex-husband fired her and she was furious. When she figured out why she was fired she apologized to my ex-husband and to my lawyers for her unprofessional conduct. The one person she didn't apologize to was the one who deserved the apology and compensation for her incompetence; me. I contacted her office and told her I wanted to talk to her about this matter and she pretended she didn't have any idea to what I was referring. Since the case was closed she couldn't hide behind me being represented by another lawyer but she still wouldn't apologize or make restitution. Doesn't seem to be a very competent professional and she sure isn't a fair person.

  2. Beware! Extremely Untrustworthy!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This lawyer treated me great throughout my child custody suit and had me thinking and firmly believing we had it in the bad and nothing to worry about. My ex made some awful claims about me that were PROVEN WRONG! On mediation day, when I refused to give him several extra days out if the month told me I should give it to him because we can't go to court. I asked why not and she said "Because you will lose!" I said that I was a great mother and she told me I wasn't and accused me of the things my ex lied about. She's very UNTRUSTWORTHY!!

  3. Termination

    Posted by Kim, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Family matter.

    Mary and her staff vigorously fought for my son! They were compassionate, supportive, and knowledgable. They resolved my case quickly and with a win in court! Best family law attorney, hands down. I would highly recommend Mary VanOrman to any of my friends or clients.

  4. WOW!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary Van Orman, I will always be eternally grateful for your representation. It means the world to me that you fought so hard for me and my children, giving us the gift of staying together in a safe, stable, and completely loving home. I am so glad that awesome lawyers like you still exist. Thank you and God bless you!!

  5. Horrible!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Do not even consider hiring Mary Van Orman. She will milk you for every penny you have, and then she will leave you hanging when the money well runs dry. She had me get into a custody battle with my ex wife just to get more money out of me. It was a waste of resources. She did nothing to help me with my case. She must have had a new para every couple of months. She is highly unorganized, and I wouldn't recommend her to anyone.

  6. unorganized

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It is impossible to reach her or make an appointment with her. I had a hearing she didn't even know about or show up for. Her office is disorganized and her staff turnover is very high.

  7. Mary is top-notch!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mary was recommended to me by a friend who is also a lawyer. I can say up front that Mary is a top-notch lawyer AND she's extremely honest and ethical. From the initial consultation with Mary, she was very up front about what to expect (during the process and the expected outcome) and what the fees would be for her services. I think it's important to note that Mary will not B.S. you. She will not take your money and tell you what you want to hear. She is a straight-shooter and will tell you like it is - whether you like it or not. Personally, I appreciate that honesty as I was going through one of the most stressful times in my life. Throughout the entire process, Mary was amazing! She provided much needed guidance and compassion to me and my children. She got me through my divorce, and her main focus during every part of the case was what was best for my children. The opposing counsel in my case was less than ethical, but Mary continued through the process doing things "the right way," which I appreciated and admired. If you want the best lawyer in the area who will do everything in her power to help you, I would STRONGLY recommend Mary.

  8. Careless attorney

    Posted by I, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary is not worth the $400/hr she charges. We had an appointment and although we could not find her offices because there are no address signs, we were there 10 minutes early. She made us wait for 40 minutes and then we threatened to leave. When we got up to go, she finally came out of her other meeting and asked us why we were leaving. After a brief volley of words, she told us that she was in a meeting with other clients who had trouble finding her offices as well. Then she told me she hopes I never have an emergency as we parted.

  9. Excellent divorce and child custody attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms Van Orman is an exceptionally passionate attorney and always has the children's best interest at heart. Mary is a personal friend of mine and for that reason, I did not initially use her as my attorney. When things started to spiral out of control with my case using another attorney, I turned to Mary for help. Initially I just asked her advice, but she stepped in and resolved my case that had been dragging on for about a year and settled it up within about a month. We still remain friends but I look at her in a new light as a remarkably professional exceptional family law attorney. I have no reservation recommending her to anyone....in fact I've sent several colleagues to her already!

  10. Best Attorney in Texas!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Van Orman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mary is the most passionate attorney that truly cares about her clients. She is dedicated, professional and no matter her work load, she makes you feel as though your case is her only one!
    I always felt as though I was in good hands with Mary. She calmed me down and supported me before, during and after my case. I would HIGHLY recommend Mary as an attorney for any child custody/divorce case. I trusted Mary with what matters the most to me, my children, and she handled the case as if my children were her own!