If you were simply given a citation, you are allowed to represent yourself. The court will not appoint you an attorney for a class C misdemeanor in Texas because the crime at this level is only punishable by a fine. You should hire an attorney. Many do not charge all that much for a class C misdemeanor. Some attorney dedicate most of their practice to defending class C misdemeanor and are able to charge very reasonable prices. Good luck.
No, as of right now it can not be sealed. A conviction bars you from petitioning the court for an expungment or a non-disclosure. Your husband would have to receive a pardon from the governor. That is very rare. You should find a criminal defense attorney that does post-conviction work. Call around and find one that will help you. Most have free consultations.
You should first make sure that you paid a licensed attorney. You can look him up on the Texas Bar.
Additionally, you should also check to see if the attorney has filed anything in the court. If he is not licensed to practice law you should file a police report. I am guessing that you should be able to trace the payments. If he is licensed, call the bar and inquire if he has informed them of his new location. Finally if all fails,...
You can petition the court for a non-disclosure. You can not get it completely removed, short of a pardon from the governor. State agencies will still see the charge. It will help you out, unless you want to work for the government. Seek a criminal defense attorney in your area, most handle non-disclosures. Good luck.
You can go to jail for up to 2 years day for day in a State Jail. If this is your first offense, it is likely that an experienced criminal defense attorney can work a deal where you do not serve any time in jail. The first step should be consult with at least a couple of defense attorneys in your area that are familiar with the court to discuss your case. Regardless, you will have to have an attorney representing you. Good luck.
Not having an ID is not a crime. Not having a valid driver’s license when operating a motor vehicle is a crime. Your question is too broad when you ask “what are my chances?”. Your chances for what? Probation? Dismissal? Jail time?
It is a class B misdemeanor. You could serve a max of 180 days in jail and pay a 2000 dollars fine. It is highly unlikely that they go really hard on you unless you have a long rap sheet of other crimes, but the prosecutor is less and less likely to cut you a break...
You are facing up to a year in jail and a 4000 dollar fine. Your punishment should you plead guilty for the crime depends on the court, the complaining witness, if you caused any damage, the deal your defense attorney can negotiate and to many other factors that are impossible to forsee. Without priors you are not likely to serve time. I am sure there will be other alternatives presented to you by your defense attorney. Good luck.
You should contact the police and make a report. The police and the District Attorney's Office will make the decision on whether they can pursue the case. Without your sister's help it will not likely go anywhere. Good luck.
Since your son committed a new law violation, the judge can sentence him to the maximum amount of time and the fine for the probation. That is the worst that can happen. Your son unfortunately signed a piece of paper stating that he understood that if he screwed up he was at the mercy of the court. The outcome depends on to many factors to possibly cover here. He needs to consult with an attorney to possibly convince the judge to keep him on probation for the other charge. Good luck.