Jose Antonio Ceja’s Reviews

Jose Antonio Ceja

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DWI Review

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.

    I was arrested for a DWI in Harris county, TX. The charge was a 0.174 BAC, in March 2014.

    Jose Ceja was able to win my ALR case with the DPS and also ensured that my license was never dismissed all through the trial period, consequently I never lost my driving privileges, Finally and very crucially for my DWI case they got me a NOT GUILTY verdict after a Jury trial.

    He worked tirelessly to gather the facts of the case and they were able to prove to the jury that my case should be returned with a verdict of NOT GUILTY.

    They were courteous , professional and humane all through my trial process , matter of fact I couldn't have asked for any better.

    I would recommend Jose to anyone who has been charged with this very serious and potentially life shattering charge of a DWI, to give you a chance of fighting your case within legal limits and getting you a shot at getting your life back on track.

  2. Case Dismissed!

    Posted by Alexis, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my Family matter.

    Assault- Family Member cases got dismissed with Mr.Cejas! Great Lawyer! Highly recommend Scheiner Law Group! Very nice and amazing lawyers! :)

  3. Successful DWI case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 6-12 months ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I found Jose and the Scheiner law group through an internet search after I had been arrested for DWI. After blowing a 0.127 on the breath test I knew my situation was challenging and that I needed first class representation in order to bring my case to a successful conclusion. My interactions with Jose were always positive. He reviewed the evidence carefully and provided his opinion on how the case should be handled. These situations are always distressing for someone unfamiliar with the process, but Jose remained calm, confident and provided the advice that best suited my set of circumstances. Things started off well as he was successful in keeping my driving license at the ALR trial. As time wore on and the likelihood of a trial increased, Jose provided enough reassurance to keep me focused on achieving a positive result rather than taking a plea bargain. I am so happy that I put my faith in Jose because the case was dismissed after a mistrial due to the jury being hung 5-1 not guilty. This success was all down to Jose’s first class defence. He expertly picked apart the testimonies of the arresting officer and breath test expert during the cross examination and was the model of good manners during the trial. He also gave the judge, jury and prosecution to upmost respect when interacting with them which I believe contributed to the successful outcome of the case. I will always be in the debt of Jose and the Scheiner law group. They have allowed me to continue my life without the trouble and inconvenience of having a DWI conviction hanging over my head. Thank you.

  4. DWI case Not-guilty

    Posted by Rafael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr.Ceja helped me with my first DWI offense. I was arrested after being involved in a car crash with another vehicle. I was arrested for DWI and it was rough path for the what would be the next 6 months of my life. I figured I would be found guilty because of my blood work/ alcohol level. I was ready to negotiate, but I knew that I would have to either complete jail time (as a previous felon) or be on long-term probation. Mr.Ceja advised me to go to trial. He believed we could beat the prosecutors case. However, It was not an easy ordeal. The cop testified against me and the blood work did not work in my favor, however Mr.Ceja found the way. There were mishaps in the case against me and he found them to make the jury give me a not-guilty verdict. I could not be happier with the outcome. I am glad I chose a lawyer who was willing to go the extra mile to help me not get convicted.

  5. The Best Decision I ever made.

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    As I was arrested with my first DWI charge, I was worried and completely lost at what to do. I was referred to Jose by a close family friend. The moment I sat down with this gentlemen I knew I was in good hands. He made me feel at ease and was very clear and upfront from the beginning. Jose took the time on my case that was necessary to get the job done properly. My ALR hearing went first and we won! My license was never suspended. Next, the state offer a pre-trial diversion program. Jose helped me understand my options clearly so I could make an informed decision. I decided to go to trial, I knew I was in great hands and had complete faith in Jose. Well it's trial day, and Jose was well prepared, long story short Jose got my case dismissed in the middle of the trial because of a problem with the traffic stop. It was finally over and Jose helped me get through it all. having Jose on my side was the best decision I ever made. I Highly recommend him to anyone in the same or similar situation I was in. Jose is the best man for the job and you can count on that.

  6. ASSAULT CASE FOUND "NOT GUILTY"..... VERY PROFESSIONAL & AMAZING ATTORNEY...

    Posted by Ernesto, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My Husband was charge with an assault. First Attorney we went to go see for my Husband's case was Mr Ceja. He explained to us about my Husband's case and was very upfront about it. Mr Ceja, an honest Attorney with my Husband and myself from the beginning of the consultation all the way to end. He let us know from the start what the possible outcomes were. Mr Ceja is very professional and always responsive to mine and my Husband's questions no matter how minor. After we finished talking to Mr Ceja, I told my Husband we do not need to see another Attorney I (his wife) want Mr Ceja to repesent you. Mr Ceja put us to ease throughout this very stressful situation. He handled my husband's case and is always professional and informative of the whole legal process. He is well respected in the courtroom and always showed professionalism among his peers, courtroom staff and more importantly, my husband the client. He handled my Husband's assault case very professional. Very happy and pleased with the outcome "NOT GUILTY" was the verdict. I would refer Attorney Jose Ceja to any family member, or friend. Thank You so much Attorney Jose Antonio Ceja...

  7. DWI Case Dismissed! Really Sharp

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the get go, Jose was very helpful. The initial office visit was very reassuring. Jose and I spoke about my case, and other cases that were similar to mine. He told me about how there are two cases, the ALR case and the criminal case, and how both affect me and my license. Jose and his firm do everything they can to get your license back to you as soon as possible. Jose let me know about the steps they would take to keep my DWI off my record, and how to get the case dismissed, and also walked me though the process of if they could not get the case dismissed and what would happen next. They were very clear about what fees, if any other I would need to pay early on so there were no surprises. Jose's firm was very helpful, if I ever needed anything i could call them and they would let me know what was going on. They also call you to remind you about your court date the day before, just so you don't forget. Jose was there with me at every court appearance, this is very reassuring as you are in court, you know your lawyer is there fighting for you, not worrying about someone else's case. Since this was my first ever infraction going to court was really scary, Jose let me know what to expect and was there with me at every appearance. Jose had a keen eye when he reviewed my stop. The Officer had no reason to pull me over. Armed with this information Jose had my case dismissed. If I ever needed another lawyer Jose would be the one I go to.

  8. DWI case dismissed!!

    Posted by Philip, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested because I refused to blow into the breathalyzer. Since I refused to blow, the state trooper told me that he got a warrant from the judge for a blood test! After this, I knew I had to find a lawyer to represent me. I started researching and was able find Jose Ceja who was very knowledgeable, professional, and easy to talk to. There were a few other lawyers that I had consultations with but I received a bad vibe from all of them, they were all unknowledgeable, and they didn’t seem confident. I did not see any of these negative characteristics from Jose so I picked him to represent me. He always seemed confident that he would get my case dismissed and never quit trying. He kept on trying every time in court and after 9 months of trying, my case was dismissed right before lunch on the day of my trial. He is a smart lawyer and you will feel confident with him representing you! He always offered good advice and never tried to push me into making any decision. He suggested that I fight my case in trial and told me that I had a good chance to win because my video looked good. I was hesitant at first because I had a blood test result of .08% which I thought made me guilty. He told me that it doesn’t make you automatically guilty of being intoxicated and reassured me that I had a good chance to win my case still. So I decided to fight it in trial based on his advice and I was able to get my case dismissed instead of taking the divert program! Im so glad I listened to him! My blood test result did not even matter; he was still able to get my case dismissed. He’s an awesome lawyer and I feel that he deserved every bit of his cost! I would definitely refer him!

  9. Amazing Lawyer

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose 1-3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Ceja was amazing in handling my DWI case. I was pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving in October '11, after "failing" the field sobriety test I was arrested and charged with DWI. Having a previous DWI charge I knew the damages that a second charge would cause me and was determined not to let that happen to me again. I was very fortunate in choosing Mr. Ceja to represent me in this case after searching through countless lawyer directories. From the onset Mr. Ceja made me feel like the outcome of this charge would not be like my first time and that he really was going to do everything he could to win my case. I am very thankful to Mr. Ceja for allowing me to discuss all my questions and concerns with him without making me feel like I was "just another paycheck" to him as I have felt with lawyers in the past. Going to trial I was very nervous but I was able to take some comfort in knowing I had an intelligent, honest, capable, and sincere lawyer fighting for me. I can't thank Mr. Ceja enough for getting me a not guilty verdict in my case.

  10. Great Lawyer who helped me get a dismissal I REALLY needed

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jose Ceja.
    • I hired Jose more than 3 years ago.
    • Jose handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jose was a great guy and a great lawyer. When I was really stressing out and was very depressed after my arrest, Jose made me feel much more confident. He was confident in himself and his ability to get this off my record. On December 12th he did just that, handing me my motion to dismiss papers, which was relatively short since my arrest was August 15th. The whole crew there really did a great job working with me since I just started a new job, so didn't have much money just to spend at once and not much time I could take off. I would suggest anyone, who wants this off their record at any means, hire Jose Ceja or Grant Schreiner.