Eric B. Dick’s Reviews

Eric B. Dick

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Erick helped get my roof replaced. Farmers repeatedly denied my claim until I hired Erick. A

    Posted by Laurence Malone, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 6-12 months ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.

    Aggressive attorney that wouldn't stop until Farmers insurance paid for my roof. The adjuster came out and wasn't interested in replacing my roof even though all my neighbors got free roofs. Farmers only said that 3 shingles were damaged and only wanted to replace 3 shingles. I couldn't believe it because I have been with them for 23 years.

  2. progressive paid

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Called progressive numerous times. They denied claim. Called my agent and he was no help. Eventually dick made them pay the claim and 18% interest to boot.

  3. Best Lawyer I've Ever Had!

    Posted by Stewart, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    He handled an insurance claim. State Farm denied my foundation claim after I had been buying insurance from them for 20 years. We fought for six months and State Farm paid to fix the foundation and his attorney fees. My life is now back to normal.

  4. Stay Away

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In a previous review I posted here, Eric managed to figure who I was and commented on it with some very inaccurate responses. Thankfully Avvo support offered me an opportunity to edit my review. I hired Eric for a family law case. I hired him because he seemed aggressive and compassionate and most importantly, he said that he liked doing jury trials. I knew that if I was going to have any chance of getting custody of my daughter, my best shot would be a jury trial. However, most family lawyers are not interested in doing this for fathers because they often lose and they actually have to work.
    When I went to Eric's office to finalize hiring him, I told him that I had three conditions. 1) We were going to do a jury trial. 2) I needed to have my child support reduced because I had just lost my job. And 3) I wanted to be kept informed about how and why he drew from my retainer. I handed him copies of all the documents I had from the court, my ex's lawyer, and the attorney general. There were probably 6 or 7 documents (which he claims in his response were "hundreds of documents to go through"). One of those documents was titled "Mediated Settlement
    Agreement". I also sent him a link to scanned versions of those files and some financial documents which were clearly labeled and categorized (which he charged me several hundred dollars just to download). As it turns out, I
    could not get a trial because I signed the mediation document. He says in his comments, "it's pretty hard to represent someone when they conveniently omit that they settled the majority of the case pro se". If you are reading this I would bet money that 1) You don't know that mediation means you can't have a jury trial and 2) You don't know what "pro se" means. If you did, you'd be YOUR OWN LAWYER. It took Eric 3 or 4 months to realize this, even though he had supposedly read the documents, let alone the TITLE of the documents, let alone the detailed NARRATIVE (about 3 pages) that I wrote for him summarizing what had happened in my case to that point. Keep in mind that not only had I paid him several thousand dollars, but also paid a PI $1,000 on his "advice" (though luckily I didn't hire the Child Psychologist he recommended, presumably the advice I didn't follow mentioned in his comment) based on the understanding that we were going to have a jury trial. I also had been overpaying child support for several months despite having filed a request to have it reduced, but he was never able to even tell me what was going on. The request was denied, but I was never informed and I still to this day don't have any idea why, and Eric was never able to tell me ANYTHING about what was going on there. He also never gave me ANY information about how and when he was drawing from my retainer. Lastly, he DOES have an LLM degree (sort of a legal equivalent to a PhD which he flaunted to impress me) which he got online. Also, no matter how many times I corrected him he pronounced my child's name wrong.

    1. Eric B. Dick

      Eric B. Dick

      Lawyer Comment:

      The above statements are completely false. For example, you can't practice law in Texas with an online law degree.

      Frankly, its pretty hard to represent someone when they conveniently omit that they settled the majority of the case pro se and then give you hundreds of documents to go through - and when you figure out a way to get out of the agreement the client doesn't even want to follow your advice.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. EXCEPTIONAL LAW FIRM

    Posted by MARK, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained the Eric Dick Law Firm to Modify the existing Parent-Child Relationship. My situation was complicated as I live out of state and involved obtaining custody of my disabled adult Son and required rectifying a existing arrearage judgment (against me). I have had ongoing legal issues since my divorce (2001) involving custody and child support.

    Prior to retaining Eric Dick -

    I retained a law firm whose attorneys who were more interested with perpetuating my case (costs) then resolving it. Eventually, do to lack of money I was forced to represent myself (CATASTROPHIC MISTAKE). My brief attempt at "Pro Se" led to a Child Support Arrearage Judgment against me that (due to the amount + interest) would never be paid off.

    Then I found Eric Dick -

    It is no exaggeration when I say the Eric Dick Law Firm changed my life :D. I cannot convey the long term, emotional and financial toll these legal matters have taken upon me and my loved ones. Resolution of the onerous legal issues/obligations changed the lives of my son, myself and everyone associated with this case.

    We thank you Eric & Staff

    I highly recommend the Eric Dick Law Firm -

    Resolute - in pursuing the case to resolution
    Empathetic - in listening to the issues (my whining)
    Responsive - in attorney / client communications (phone calls, emails and opposing counsel submissions)
    Creative - in forming strategies to rectify legal issues
    Timely - in implementing those strategies
    Direct / Clear - to the point explaining the law (everything) to the Client
    Patient - no explanation required

    Last but not least -

    A Winner - Eric Dick won my case in one year and my issues are resolved

  6. It took a lawsuit for Farmers to pay its claim!

    Posted by Donald, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I tried everything to get my insurance claim paid. It actually took a lawsuit before Farmers paid my insurance claim. Insane. Thanks Eric.

  7. Cypress Texas Lloyds Denied Me Until Dick Sued Them

    Posted by Tommie, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My insurance company repeatedly denied my pool claim. Dick sued them and they paid me well over what I originally asked for plus Dick's fees.

  8. Made Allstate pay its claim

    Posted by Stephani, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Allstate denied my insurance claim. He made them pay the claim, attorney fees, and interest to boot. Cheers for Mr. Dick. Took about 4 months to settle the case.

  9. He kicks butt and takes names

    Posted by Thomas, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Ex-wife pressed charges for assault. He got the case dismissed

  10. Made travelers pay its claim

    Posted by Margie, a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Dick.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Had repeatedly been denied my insurance claim. He made them pay and my roof got fixed.

Call now for a free consultation.

713-498-7969