its been 6 months since my arrest for felony dwi. i havent heard anything on this yet and was wondering if there is a statue of limitations on this. does the da's office have to set an arraignment date in a certain period of time?
If your case is in Fort Bend County contact your bondsman. Usually an arraignment date is set when the bond is made. Because you are on bond the DA's office will usually indict a felony case within 90 days of the charges being filed but the Statute of limitation is 3 years. However, it is unusual not to have an arraignment date. I suggest you hire an attorney or check with your bondsmanSee question
I called constantly to check on the status of the charges that were filed, and was always told that there was a high volume of complaint. I was told that it could take a while. Well, five years have passed and I still havent heard anything.
You can go to the Harris Co. DA's office intake division on the 2nd floor of the Criminal Justice Center and ask to speak to the community service desk prosecutor they can check on the status of the case. Another alternative is to check with the police agency you reported the case to and that took the offense report. They can tell you if charges were accepted or notSee question
trying to see what pg 2 stand for
Penalty group 2 means some one is charged with possession or delivery of a controlled substance listed in penalty group 2 of the Controlled Substance Act. This can affect the range of punishment that the person exposed when charged with this offense. You need hire an attorney to defend the case in Court.See question
My husband received deferred adjudication for 5 years on a domestic violence case. Just four days after he signed he was involved in a DWI case. The DWI case is still pending as he was arrested for the violation of his defferred adjudication whil...
I agree with Mr. McClure. More detailed information is needed to be able to answer your question. The range of punishment for the charge your Husband is on probation for and the Judge he is before are critical. The Judge could either revoke the probation or continue your husband on probation with additional conditions. Retaining an attorney for your Husband is very important.See question
It's my first offense..I was in texas for only a few days for a short vacation and really messed up...I had a lot going on..(no excuse) and it's my first time I've been arrested. What happens if I get probation in Texas but reside in california? O...
You need to deal with the charge in Texas. If you leave and do not appear in Court a warrant will be issued and your bond will be forfeit. You need to hire a good lawyer as soon as possible. Being placed on probation in a Texas case when you live in another State is a tricky matter so the lawyer you hire will need to help you negotiate it.See question
my brother just got arrested on sunday, and is charged with evading arrest in a motor vehicle and he's on probation
The court in wehich he received the probation will file a motion to revoke his probation and the bond on the evading case will be higher than normal if the Judge sets a bond. He needs to retain an attorneySee question
A family member has a court date set for week away while out on bond for Felony Theft. This would be the Preliminary assigned court appearance in Harris County. How can you have the date reset. She has a Lawyer but It is a general question for me?
Contact the attorney and the attorney can do an off docket resetSee question
my husband was arrested at the begining of Oct. He was charged with two 3rd degree felonies. One of them was a drug charge and the other was a firearm charge. He keeps tryin to talk to his CA but he really isnt telling him about his case. They wan...
If your Husband is out on bond then it does not matter that the State has not indicted him yet. If he is in jail then after 90 days he is entitled to a PR Bond if the State does not indict him in that time limit. The state has until the statute of limitations is ended to Indict someone for a felony.See question
I had a rental car that my husband who Im seperated from was driving and failed to pay for or return, warrent was issued for my arrest for theft, was arrested and bonded out but Husband was pulled over, car picked up and returned the next day. Wil...
You need to hire an attorney. the basis of the theft as far as the State is concerned is the amount of rent owed on the car. The amount must be over $1500 since they charged you with felony. An Attorney can present your side of the facts to the prosecutor and may be able to convince them to dismiss the case. You need to hire an attorney as soon as possible.See question
My friend was in prison for 6 years and when he got out he has been required to make payments for his court appointed attorney as a part of his probation. Can they really hold that over his head? He is having a hard enough time just getting by and...
If your Friend went to prison for 6 years then he is on parole now. As a condition of parole he can be forced to make certain payments. Such payment can include court costs, court appointed attorney fees, restitution and fine, to mention a few.See question