Back to John’s Profile

Client Review

John has received 11 client reviews

DO NOT HIRE THIS CLOWN!!!!!!

Posted by: a Divorce client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John 6-12 months ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired this clown in feb 2014 here it is august 2014 and I have yet to have a second conversation with this guy...I paid in full and havent heard from him since...and my divorce is UN contested......NEVER HIRE HIM.....IF YOU WANT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY HIRE THIS POOR EXCUSE OF AN ATTORNEY

I wish I would have seen this first!

Posted by: Tara, a Divorce client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John 6-12 months ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

John McDermott is dismissive and unresponsive. He has you pay his entire fee up front which isn't high comparatively but that us the type of service you get, not high. He doesn't even talk to you for the first 61 days, no matter what. In my case both parties agreed to the divorce and division of property but he decided because the other party had a lawyer it was immediately a contested case and required he double his fee. Why would I pay someone double that had spent so little time on my case that he didn't realize the other attorney filed a response within a week of our original filing? He didn't want to schedule the divorce telling me he didn't want to rush! He plays with people's lives carelessly. When I told him the only thing he had done was file an online form (that's available on the internet for free) he started being derogatory stating I didn't know anything about attorney's fees etc., that's why I hired a lawyer. I asked for a return on a portion of my money since I would need to find representation on my neglected case with the timeline ticking away and he just didn't address it stating he was sending me a bill for my already paid for case. He filed my case Pro SE like I was representing myself. He never had any intention of completing my case.

A class action lawsuit against this attorney is needed!

Posted by: a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John 1-3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Paid this man in FULL! Filled out paper work Nov. 2012 waited my 60 days it's now Apr. 2013. He does not return calls, emails, or text messages. He acknowledged that he saw that I had called several times when I was able to get a hold of him, but yet has never attempted to call me back. I am filing a complaint with the Bar and I am seeking to get my money back! He does not care at all about how this affects people lives! Far as I know, nothing has been filed with the courts because I have no case # or any other information for that matter.

Good lawyer

Posted by: LIsat, a Child Custody client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend John McDermott

I hired John 1-3 years ago.

John handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Mr. McDermott is VERY reasonable in his pricing and did a good job. I have had lawyers who charged a lot more and did a lot less.

GOOD EXPERIENCE

Posted by: Nikki, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend John McDermott

I hired John 1-3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

He filed the paperwork on time, Emailed me copies, stayed in touch, got me a good settlement and the divorce I needed. I am very pleased with his work, his integrity, and his fee. No complaint at all. Good lawyer.

TERRIBLE ATTORNEY!!

Posted by: Linda, a Divorce client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John 1-3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I don't understand how this attorney is still practicing.He took my money August 2, 2012 for an uncontested divorce and NEVER filed!! He told me to schedule an appt. 2 weeks before the 61 day waiting period was over to discuss the terms. I started calling him early October and he never responded. I called the courthouse and found out he NEVER filed. He texted me the same week and lied and said he had filed (he didn't know I talked with the courthouse, he filed AFTER I called the courthouse). I also called the Texas State Board to file a complaint. After researching him online I found out he had already been reprimanded by the state board. He also LOST the waiver my husband had signed and notarized then sent back to him. I've since retrieved another attorney and they told me he filed the divorce as if I had done it, without legal representation. Mr. Mcdermott told me since this was an uncontested divorce (my husband went into his office the same time I did) that it should take about 2 1/2-3 months total. I also found out he should have never seen the both of us in his office as this creates a conflict of interest. He is rude, NOT trustworthy, didn't follow up, is a bold faced liar who just doesn't care. DO NOT USE HIM. AS OF TODAY I AM STILL NOT DIVORCED THANKS TO HIM. I had to wait another 61 days because he filed 2 months late AFTER I started calling and texting him every day. I repeatedly requested a refund and he never responded. I sent him a certified letter also demanding a refund. Still no response. I then texted him and told him I was fed up and going to the state board. I received half of my payment 2 days later. On the money order it said full and final reimbursement. This is the WORST experience ever with an attorney, and I have used attorney's before. He made the process of divorcing even WORSE. Also, the picture he uses in the Greensheet is very old. He does not look like that. The first time I saw him he was unrecognizable. He is very old and I have to say again very rude. Any time I asked him a question he got angry, as if I should already know...that's why I paid him. Do not use him...you will be sorry.

Disciplined for a good reason folks!!!!

Posted by: Sarah also, a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John more than 3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

This attorney does not keep you informed, He does not give copies of paperwork, he's irritable and slow working. Kicking myself in the ass for hiring him, please use someone else. If you cannot afford an attorney, he will waste your money so just forfeit the extra money for someone who gets the job done.

HORRIBLE LAWYER

Posted by: a Divorce client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend John McDermott

I hired John more than 3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

First off I used this lawyer for my divorce...At first he was very responsive and helpful..But after some time he started to get annoyed with my questions and lack of knowledge..Im not the lawyer he is ...and then became unresponsive to my emails. Finally whem my ex agreed to sign the divorce papers she needed papers that had her new address. I sent him messages telling him to do so for 2 months straight and guess what the Jackass never did it...

Good Lawyer

Posted by: Sarah, a Divorce client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend John McDermott

I hired John more than 3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I am a young mother with a small child. My husband abused me and threw me out of our house. I had no money and no help from anyone, so I was sure my husband was going to get custody of our three-year-old. I found Mr. McDermott in the Greensheet and he was very nice and reasonable about a payment plan. I ended up getting custody of my three-year-old, good child support and my husband had to pay me 60% of his savings account.

HELL OF A GREAT JOB

Posted by: a Divorce client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend John McDermott

I hired John more than 3 years ago.

John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

I hired John Mcdermott to get me out of a hell of a bad marriage that was going from bad to disaster. Wife drank, did drugs, and cheated on me and abused our son Pepe. The Ex, and yes she is an Ex now, was a brilliant maniputor and capable of telling the most outrageous lies that twisted every innocent event to appear sinister and equally manipulated her insane behavior to appear innocent. My first lawyer's only progress in this case was to suck the financial life out of me while not progressing the case one wit. A colleage suggested I get rid of the lawyer I had and replace him with one that knew the meaning of the word jugular. Fortunately, I found John McDermott. The man saved my butt and my child's life to boot. You want a tiger for a lawyer, you get John. The man took copius notes, asked a lot of incisive question, and at the end of the three hour session, just smiled. Less than three months after retaining Mr. McDermott, I was DIVORCED, with custody of my child. Thank you, John. Good Job!