Matthew Allen Skillern’s Reviews

Matthew Allen Skillern

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Best in Texas!!

    Posted by Asad,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.

    Where do I start?? First of all I'm a dad, so in the beginning I went through 8 different lawyers before I chose Matthew to defend me, and let me tell you I don't regret a single moment of the process! The man knows his stuff! From day one he was honest and upfront about the system and best of all he didn't ROB me!! After our first consultation which lasted about 45 minutes I knew instantly he was the right man for the job! I genuinely recommend Matthew and his staff, especially for dad's.
    Thanks again Matthew and keep up the good work!!!

  2. Appreciated your Work

    Posted by Nancy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dear Matt,
    I want to let you know how much I appreciated your support and expertise through my divorce. You have a wonderful amount of knowledge, common sense, and calm that is a perfect blend for your clients! And, you are trustworthy and have a great personality. I am grateful for your help and feel blessed I found you on the internet! Please thank all of your staff for me also. I wish you the best with your family and career.

    Sincerely,
    Nancy

  3. Trustworthy and excellent super lawyer

    Posted by Pam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I believe Matt to be a very trustworthy and professional attorney. I hired Matt for my divorce matter. I previously had 2 other lawyers who were unable to make inroads regarding my case. I am a non-working mom with no income, with a signed prenup, and a disabled child. Financially I am very disadvantaged, however, I value that Matt and his entire team was confident in accepting my case with my limited finances. He simplified many things for me so that the case may be finished as soon as possible. I feel that he has worked very hard to maximize my benefits, and I have not felt that he was working for his own profits. He was very attentive to my urgent requirements, and answered my many questions that I called and emailed him about. He is very clear with the law, and he gives very good legal advice from his perspective that the case may be closed as soon as possible. I highly recommend him, and feel that he is an excellent attorney who listens diligently and can be trusted.

  4. Brilliant attorney!

    Posted by VA, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matt is knowledgeable and honest, effective and efficient. He was always available and accessible. I also would like to express my appreciation to his professional team. My divorce was granted within three months.
    Matt understood my financial situation and even gave me a discount. Who does it these days?
    He was there for me “holding my hand” though the roller-coaster-like process. He truly is perceptive, communicative, and rational attorney.
    I highly recommend Matt. You cannot go wrong with honesty and integrity.

  5. A professional in every sense

    Posted by Cunnie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Skillern handled my divorce and I could not be happier how things were handled. Understanding, thorough, informative and completely honest. I did not have a particularly high opinion of lawyers in general but I must say if there is any truth to the perception Matthew and his office are the exception. I always felt heard, I never felt shorted and it was never handled like a war. That is the way it should happen if at all possible. I appreciate everything he and his staff did to make a very stressful and painful time bearable. If you find yourself traveling down this road, a better guide you will never find. He's a credit to his profession. Thanks my friend.

  6. Matt is outstanding

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Effective, confident, knowledgeable and very clear communicator, he simply does not disappoint. Throughout my divorce, I never left Matt's office feeling worried or like I wasn't sure about what to do next. I think his patience is what I value most. He takes the time to explain everything thoroughly and gives sound advice about how to move forward. He's also fair on price. Divorce is hard to deal with financially, but I never felt like he was trying to take advantage of my situation—he's very transparent about what's going on. That's tough to find these days. I would hire him again in a heartbeat.

  7. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt is a very professional, excellent attorney. I hired him for my divorce. He listened to what I wanted, and he advised me on the best way to go about things. I felt like he truly cared about my situation. When I called or emailed him, he always promptly returned my call/emails. I 100% trust Matt, and all of the advice that he gave me was excellent. He clearly explained to me the steps of the divorce process, and each step of the way he made sure I understood my options. My ex was threatening to take me to court to try to get 50/50 visitation with our kids. With Matt on my side, my ex ended up agreeing to standard visitation and did not pursue fighting me in court. Matt is the attorney I want to be on my side all the time! He knows the law, he is confident, and he listens to what his clients want, and then he gives them the best advice from a legal perspective and then acts on that. I am 100% satisfied with Matt representing me. I highly recommend him and always want him on my side!

  8. Matthew Skillern

    Posted by Bobby, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Skillern was wonderfull in my case. He always informed me on the positive and negative side of my case. He made sure that I was comfortable in every way. Always return my calls in a timely matter. Very professional person. Good job to Mr. Skillern and his team.

  9. Expert Representation

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed legal representation for what I knew would be a very contentious divorce. From the beginning, Matt was very clear and thorough about what I was going to encounter. Matt's work immediately brought clarity to a very confusing and stressful situation. He did an excellent job of countering all moves brought on by the opposing attorney. Having Matt represent me gave me peace of mind, and brought a clear solution to a very complex situation.

  10. Absolutely fantastic!

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Skillern.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matthew Skillern was referred to me by a friend who said I would be in the best hands, and she was right. My custody case was modified and made to work so that both my sons father and I had as much time with him as possible. It wasn't easy and it got mean & petty at times, but Matt walked me through every step of the way and ensured that my son and I would be taken care of.
    I cannot thank you all enough for all of the time, energy and advice that you gave to me. You all made a very difficult time a bit easier and now a year plus later although we still have our hiccups, we are trying to work through them to do what is best for our son.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

713-229-8855