Manuel E. Solis’s Reviews

Manuel E. Solis

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you For Help

    Posted by Austin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.

    I had a real hard case that other lawyers told me I would not be able to get my legal status. I’m glad I went to Manuel Solis. His lawyers were able to find a section in the law for me to qualify. It just made sense to me with all the cases he has won that he would at least tell me if my case was capable of being won. Thank you Mr. Solis for helping me and my family.

  2. More Reasonable

    Posted by Chris,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.

    I went to Manuel Solis to take care of an arrest warrant for an unpaid ticket. The lady that processed my case was sharp and on top of things. I was really worried of being detained. I take all my tickets to him and tell my family and friends to do the same. They are more reasonable than other lawyers.

  3. Thanks a Lot

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.

    I was detained while I was working out of state and handed over to immigration. Mr. Solis sent his lawyer to meet with my and bond me out. My family was on pins and needles not knowing what was going to happen. My lawyer was able to fight the deportation removal and plead my case for cancelation of removal and a work permit which I now have. If it had not been for Mr. Solis my family would be devastated I cannot thank him enough.

  4. Petitioin

    Posted by Rodolfo Aguilar,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.

    The attorneys in the office of Manuel Solis exceeded my expectations, they are highly professional; Therefore, I strongly recommended the office of Manuel Solis with all my friends and relatives.

  5. i do not recommend Manuel Solis!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Manuel Solis.

    My father hired Manuel Solis to managed my residency process. We went to their office and we only saw their assistants. The assistants told us that my case was going to be solve fast but weeks passed and we didn't had any news. Everytime we went my father made a $800 payments. After time the assistant told us that my residency was accepted and I had to wait for the letter telling me that I was a permanent resident. For over three years my father kept paying them and in total was more then $5,000. The letter NEVER arrived, Manuel Solis never filed my papers. After time I decided to go to CC and I paid only $480 for the whole process and in less than a month I had an appointment in Juarez city,Mx. CC filed my residency in less than 2 months and now I'm a permanent resident.

    1. Manuel E. Solis

      Manuel E. Solis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client, thank you for your review. We strive to always improve in our case management and take each evaluation seriously. We have a suggestion box in every office and you can always ask to speak with the floor supervisor. Mr. Solis has a zero tolerance policy for incompetence and each complaint or suggestion is followed up and acted upon. Behind the scenes you have a committed team of senior legal assistants and team of attorneys that do all the necessary steps to see a case to completion. Our attorneys are always in court fighting in behalf of our clients. However, on occasion, they also meet face to face with clients when it is necessary. Without knowing your case number we cannot comment about your particular case. At this point all we can do is speculate that your case was moving through the USCIS system and that you took the last necessary action. We are glad to hear you have your residency.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. FRUSTRATED AND STRESSED OUT

    Posted by Vanessa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Manuel Solis.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I hired this lawyer 4 years ago. I filled so my husband could get his visa. I understand its a long process but in the 4 years we have yet to meet Mr. Solis. There's good and bad to everything. Every time we Go we end up talking to a different person. One assistant was chewing gum and told me that I look perfectly healthy so I don't need my husband here. Another time we went a different assistant thought my husband was the one filling for me to get a visa so that tells me that they don't look over the case before calling us in their offices. Seems that everybody puts blame on each other. We went to the office on 7/25/2014 to turn in some paper work that was requested of course they gave us a paper of what we needed and I gathered everything. We arrived to the office and the assistant said I was missing information. One of the things that was requested and said on the paper bring your check stubs OR employment verification she started to raise her voice after I told her that on the paper it said either or. I mean they are there to help us not get upset and raise their voices. I've never had to deal with anybody like that. Like I said I understand it's a long process but they need to get it together in the Harlingen office I just can't take days off of work just because they don't explain anything right the first time. I hope you take the time address this situation because the personal that workers in the office should be there to explain things thoroughly not raise their voices and confuse clients every time we go.

    1. Manuel E. Solis

      Manuel E. Solis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client Vanessa, thank you for takign the time to give us your candid evaluation. We take very seriously your feedback and will take appropriate action to insure our legal assistants display professionalism and empathy. I'm a senior customer service manager from our central office in Houston and you are welcome to call me with any other concern to may have. My name is Victor and you can reach me directly at 713.493.0051, if I don't answer I will return your call the same day. Thank you and have a good day.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. Much better experience!

    Posted by Joanne, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Immigration matter.

    Thanks to Victor (customer service representative) he took my complain serious. He spoke to Solis about my case. Solis was not aware that my case had been closed. I was set up with an appointment with Solis. Solis looked at my case and told me that his office would resubmit my I-130 at no cost. Solis told my husband and me that they would take high priority on my case. I was then sent to speak to an associate, where we updated our information for our I-130 and the process of I 601A. The girl had knowledge about the process and answered all our questions. We were glad to see someone with 15 minutes that we were there. A couple days later, Victor contacted to see if I was satisfied with the outcome of my meeting with Solis. I feel more confident that my case will be taken serious.

  8. DO YOUR RESEARCH!!!!

    Posted by Jessica, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Manuel Solis.
    • I hired Manuel 1-3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Immigration matter.

    My husband and I hired this lawyer. Yet we have never met him. Our first appointment was held by a Legal Assistant. She was helpful. We signed all the paperwork, and paid all our dues. Everything seemed fine. They said they would contact us with the first results. We waited, and waited, and waited. I finally called 6 weeks after the first meeting. A guy answered and said they had just submitted the paper work. We thought it had been taken care of right away. The guy was rude, and basically said they would call me when they heard any news about our case. They never did. My husband called them and a lady answered. He asked what the deal was. Se explained how they have a lot of cases, and it takes time to get through them. No one here is informative. They just give us a plain answer and leave us in the blank. We have no clue what is going on with our case. and we still have not heard anything. Horrible customer service. I feel like they do not care about our case, since we already paid everything. They probably only call the clients who have not made a payment.

    I worked at a law firm before. I understand how things go. I feel like they think most of their clients are idiots and will not stand up for themselves. They do not care about our case. They just care about getting paid.

    1. Manuel E. Solis

      Manuel E. Solis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ms. Jessica, we would be happy to assist you if you need to speak with a senior legal assistant or attorney about your case. You can reach us directly at 713.493.0051. We value you, and every customer to assist them to their satisfaction.

      Law Office Manuel Solis

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Bad experience! Waste of time and money

    Posted by Romero, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Manuel Solis.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Immigration matter.

    I will never go back to the Law Office of Solis. You have an appointment at 9 am you won't see anybody until 1pm. Every time I went to the my appointments I never spoke to the same person. When I would ask a question they couldn't give me a direct answer. When I would request to speak to Solis they would set an appointment and I would show up and it would be some random lady off the street. I was called in because my petition case was going to be closed. The girl was asking me what to write. I told her that it was her job to know what to write. A month later I received a letter saying my case was closed and I would have to start all over again. My husband and I waited 7 years and now I have to start the whole process again. During the seven years, I had to be on top of my case. They would never contact me to tell me about my case. I had to make an appointment to see how things were going. Now with the new 601 A waiver is out they sure called me in for that. No way I'm doing that process with them.

    1. Manuel E. Solis

      Manuel E. Solis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Mrs. Romero I'm a senior customer service representative and I have been assigned to review your case. We regret your experience and want to insure that we take corrective action as soon as possible. Please call me directly at 713.493.0051 to investigate this and provide a rapid resolution. I will need the city of the office you went to, case number and complete name. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Supportive Law Firm

    Posted by DannyG, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Manuel Solis.
    • I hired Manuel more than 3 years ago.
    • Manuel handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had problems sponsoring my fiance for IR1 visa for insufficient documents provided, particularly the affidavit of support. We had to get some legal council to settle the requirements. Solis law handled not only the petition process but was behind our back until her entry. They were very supportive in making sure she lawfully stays permanently.

    1. Manuel E. Solis

      Manuel E. Solis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Danny, we understand the frustration and the helpless feelings when you are going through the difficult process of certain immigration proceedings. We often get cases that clients tried to file on their own only to be find out they lost their money and time when they were denied. We reopen these cases and refile their petition when we see that we can salvage their petition. We recommend people don't try to practice immigration law on their own or worse go to a notary public that can damage their case beyond repair.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag