Richard Keith Oliver’s Reviews

Richard Keith Oliver

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Your life could change with Rick as your Attorney!!!!

    Posted by Jenn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Listen up, my story could change your life.

    I had reached an overwhelming moment of despair. An ugly divorce from a physically abusive husband, who had convinced me to give up my career and be a stay at home mom, ultimately drove me from my home. The whole divorce process was manipulated because he withheld and hid my money and property. Without funds, I could not obtain adequate representation. To say I took a beating is an understatement. All contacts after the divorce were battles. Ultimately, my X entrapped me with the local Barry Fife Police Department when I let him know we were coming over to pickup a necklace for my son. He frantically called 911 claiming I was beating on windows, verbally abusing him and treating him bodily harm, even before I arrived. I had just pulled up and was still sitting in the car with my son, when a Nassau Bay Police officer arrived and proceeded to pull me from the car, cuffed me and charged me with two felonies. No witnesses, just my X's word. Guess it helps to be bud's with the mayor.

    Having no money, I was in a spot. I finally had a recommendation to my first attorney, who said he would take my case, but wanted all his fees up-front. I sold personal property and paid him everything I could afford to start the case. He then would not return calls, nor make time to discuss the case and always rushing away after court. Finally had to fire him, because all he would do was reset my case. When I obtained my file from him, the only things in it were green slips. NOTHING else. Next up was a public defender. My only advise is: DON'T. I don't have time, I don't believe you and why don't you take the plea bargain were her only don't of wisdoms. Leaving court for the last time with the don't woman, I by chance ran into Rick Oliver in the lobby. I had known him as a child and instantly recognized him. As we talked, we discussed why I was there and what was happening. He immediately took interest. He asked questions and asked if my present attorneys had done any of several things he offered. The answers were all no, they had not done any of those things. He was very generous with his time and very perceptive in his questions. Finally he told me he was an attorney and would be willing to help if he could. I got a loan from my parents and hired him immediately. Working with Rick was a dream come true. He is smart. He is kind. And he was interested in the case and willing to stand up for me when no one else would. Every time we talked, he had new information and new perspective. He did the research and he investigated. And he investigated. And he investigated. Every time he talked to the DA, he was tearing down their case. If my X and his lawyer had not been continually pushing the DA's office, I believe the case would have been dropped. But he did and they didn't.

    Finally we got to court. The last offer of a plea bargain, the last chance before trial. Rick and I reviewed all the facts. We talked. He shared more findings he had just uncovered. His empathy and professionalism were outstanding. I really trusted him with my life. With a deep breath I said, let's go to trial, no deal. Back in the courtroom, he went straight to the attorney for the DA and got busy. He talked and pointed. He got animated. More attorneys. More talking. Finally to the clerk and called me back to the conference room. I was breathless. With the most beautiful smile I ever seen, he said, all charges DISMISSED. I would use Rick and recommend him to everyone I know in need of an AWESOME Attorney. In Fact I have asked Rick to partner on my Family case (even though he does not practice family law) because I believe in him with all my heart.

    Thank you Rick. You truly did save my life.

  2. A Darn Good Attorney, and Litigator of the Law!

    Posted by Oliver Gabriel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    To all who read this:
    On this day, September 25, 2013, I awake at my home, under my own roof, ABLE TO WRITE THIS "TRUE REVIEW", FOR ONLY 2 REASONS;

    1). Because I followed my convictions of defending myself in a trial that took 2 years to come, knowing I WAS INNOCENT!
    2). RICK OLIVER ATTORNEY AT LAW; WHO PREPARED A CASE IN MY DEFENSE, USING ALL HIS RESOURCES OF INFORMATION, AND WHO STOOD IN OPEN COURT FOR 2 DAYS, AND I HEARD THIS MAN POUND THE LAW INTO A PANEL OF OVER 55 JUROR PICKS, AND "WON THEIR ADMIRATION FOR "KNOWING THE LAW", THEIR EYES WERE RIVETED ON HIM, AND THEY HUNG ONTO HIS WORDS, AND THE TRIAL HADN'T EVEN STARTED YET! THEN HE HAND PICKED A JURY WITH AT LEAST 4-5 PICKS THAT WE WOULD HAVE WANTED ON A 12 PERSON JURY, AND ON THE 2ND DAY... MR. RICK OLIVER, (WHO'S EARNED THE RIGHT) TO BE CALLED, "THE LITIGATOR" CLIMBED TO A NEW LEVEL IN THE COURTROOM. IT'S LIKE HE WAS MADE FOR THAT COURTROOM; HE MADE IT HIS HOUSE. I WATCHED HIM STAND BETWEEN ME & THE STATE OF TEXAS, LIKE A PITBULL, DELIVERING POINT AFTER POINT TO THE JURY, BREAKING THE PROSECUTION'S DEFENSE DOWN, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, MAKING THE JURORS TAKE NOTICE AND SEE THAT THEIR WAS NO CASE, AND IT WAS WRONG TO CONVICT ME , THAT I WAS NOT THE MAN WHICH SHOULD BE ACCUSED, AND I SHOULD BE RELEASED FROM THIS, & RETURNED TO MY LIFE! AND NOT ONLY DID HE SAY "I WAS INNOCENT" HE MADE THE PERSON WHO BROUGHT THE CHARGES AGAINST ME, LOOK TOTALLY UN-RELIABLE ON THE STAND. HE TORE HIM TO SHREDS ON THE WITNESS CROSS, MAKING THE JURORS SIT UP AND TAKE NOTE.

    RICK OLIVER, POINTED OUT THE FACTS ON EACH POINT, DELIVERING A STUNNING BLOW TO THE PROSECUTION WHO WANTED TO PAINT ME AS A CRIMINAL.... THEY OFFERED ME AT LEAST 4 DIFFERENT PLEA BARGAINS OVER 2 YEARS; HOPING THAT I'D GO AWAY, FOR SOMETHING I DID NOT DO; I DID NOT GO AWAY!

    IN A CASE THAT HAD GONE TO TRIAL BEFORE & WAS DISMISSED AND RE-FILED,,,RICK OLIVER; "THE LITIGATOR" OF THE LAW, STOOD UP AGAIN FOR ME, WHEN THIS WAS RE-FILED OVER 1 YEAR AGO, AND SAID,,, TO THE PROSECUTION.... NO DEAL,,,, WE'RE GOING TO TRIAL! WE'RE GOING TO TRIAL!
    UNTIL YESTERDAY... I DIDN'T KNOW HOW MUCH FEAR COULD BE STRUCK INTO A 50 YEAR OLD MAN'S HEART, WHEN 12 PEOPLE WHO HELD MY FAITH WITHIN THEIR HANDS WALKED OFF, AND BEGAN TO DECIDE IF I WOULD GO HOME, OR GO STRAIGHT TO JAIL FROM THE COURT ROOM FOR 6 MONTHS TO 2 YEARS... I NEW ONE THING... THAT I HAD MY DAY IN COURT, AND I HAD HIRED THE BEST DAMN LAWYER IN TEXAS FOR THIS CASE...
    I HAD VISITED WITH MR. OLIVER AS THE 4TH ATTORNEY OUT OF 5. EVERY OTHER ATTORNEY I VISTED BOASTED SOMEWHAT BY USING THEIR OFFICE TO SHOW FANCY PLAQUES ON THE WALLS, HUGE STATUES WHICH STOOD ON THE FLOOR; LIKE THAT OF "LADY LIBERTY", AND SHINY SUITS WITH $200.00 NECKTIES, AND WINGTIP SHOES! NOT RICK OLIVER... I OPENED HIS DOOR TO FIND A PLAIN WEARING WHITE SHIRT ON THE GUY, NO JACKET AT THE TIME, SLEEVES ROLLED UP, NO CUFF LINKS; JUST AN EAR THAT LISTENED TO ME, TELLING HIM MY SIDE... THEN, LETTING ME KNOW WHAT WAS AT STAKE IF WE GO ALL THE WAY; A TRIAL. I SAID I WAS READY; LITTLE DID I KNOW HOW MUCH DEEP DOWN IN SIDE, I WASN'T. BUT AS RICK WORKED THE CASE; I REALIZED, I DIDN'T HAVE JUST ANY LAWYER... I HAD A PITBULL! I NOTICED; HIS DEFENSE OF ME, HE TOOK ALMOST PERSONAL...FROM HIS BELIEF THAT THE CASE AGAINST ME WAS VERY MUCH SO RIDDLED WITH MISTAKES.
    VERDICT/YESTERDAY AT NEARLY 5P.M. ON 9/23/13.
    IN THE CASE OF CRIMINAL MISCHIEF, A FELONY, WHEREBY THE STATE VS. OLIVER GABRIEL, “WE THE JURY FIND HIM "NOT GUILTY!"
    MY FAITH IN THE HANDS OF 12 PEOPLE WAS NOT DECIDED BY LUCK... I KNEW MR. OLIVER HAD GIVING ME THE BEST CHANCE TO SUCCEED AGAINST THE STATE OF TEXAS, AND DEFENDED ME, .
    Heck, Even the Judge Complimented Him saying, Thank you, for having your case heard in my courtroom, "AND, THANK YOU FOR HANDLING YOUR BUSINESS!"
    RICK OLIVER, TRUST WORTHY!

  3. hutch

    Posted by hutch, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My first dwi was 20 years ago but apparently still counted against me; my second was in the first part of 2011 and was such a sham that rick tore their case to shreds. NEVER BLOW folks, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER!!!!!! Would recommend rick to anyone alive who needed a good attorney.

  4. Nothing is impossible with Rick Oliver!

    Posted by lesley, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    There are no words to explain how hardworking and incredibly talented Mr. Oliver is. I was involved in an accident and then arrested for a DWI back in October. I blew a .19 at the station but my video did not reflect such results. Rick spent so much time on my case and knew it in and out. My case went to trial and when I saw Rick in action I could not have been more proud that he was my lawyer. He showed the jury all the holes in my investigation and on the second day of the trial the prosecutor knew they were in such a deep hole, they dismissed my case. Throughout the seven months I worked with Rick, he always kept me updated and answered my millions of questions. I will most definitely recommend him to everyone who needs a hardworking, honest and determined attorney.

  5. Dismissed pcs

    Posted by Kimberly, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rick is a great lawyer, he worked with me financially and kept me informed. He gave me my options before I went to court so I knew what I was up against. Overall my case was dismissed. I highly recomend him to anyone in need. Thank you Rick

  6. Excellent Attorney will never use anyone but Rick Oliver

    Posted by Tiffany, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was involved in a car accident and as a result of that I was arrested for a DUI. The arresting officer took me to station and I was given a breath test out of a suitcase looking bag.,I blew a .21 . My case was so difficult my video did not match the breath test results Rick showed how it was not possible for me at 100 pounds to possibly blow that high and stand as straight as I did. After hours of research he found out that the breathilizer was taken out of use and the officer was fired. If he didnt go the extra mile and take the time to go over every detail and push for information that was being with held my case wouldn't have gone so good. In the end of it all he completley destroyed the prosecutors case. I truly belive that with out Rick and his knowledge I wouldn't have been so happpy with the outcome. I will recommend him to anyone who needs an attorney.

  7. Very Good Lawyer

    Posted by Enrique, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Rick is honest and will fight for his clients. If I ever needed an attorney I would re-hire Rick and refer him to all my friends. If you ever need someone that is really in your corner and not just trying to collect your money Rick is the lawyer for you.

  8. Dedicated Fighter

    Posted by Mateo M., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have had Rick help me with two DWI's. I have worked with multiple attorney in the past for a variety of issues, some of far greater risk than a DWI. I can say that out of all of the attorneys I am more impressed with the representation Rick provided in spite of not receiving the verdict I wished for. The video evidence was unfortunately very detrimental but at least I tried. I don't think there was a single thing we could have done better. Rick even went to the seen of the incident and document all possible intersections and proved the police report falsely stated the number of stop signs ran.

    I had paid Rick a very reasonable fee in full up front. In spite of the long pretrial and trial he fought very hard to the end. He definitely fights to win; not billable hours.

    His knowledge of the law was impeccable. His persistence and relentless fight was impressive. I feel very glad I fought the charge even though I did not win. I think Ricks valiant fight actually helped me get better terms after I lost than where offered before trial.

    I will definitely have Rick represent me in the future if he will take my case.

  9. Thanks Rick!

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    In my field of business Ive met alot of attorneys over the years and I can't think of anyone more diligent or that works harder for their clients than Rick does His knowledge of case law is most impressive as well as his ability to negotiate the most favorable courtroom conditions for his client. It gave me great pleasure to watch him attack the prosecutions case from every angle and never blink throughout the process. His courtroom ledership, legal intellect and winning attitude make him one of the finest defense attorney's in town and I beleive that he gives defendants the best chance for success. Thank you Rick!!

  10. An excellent attorney

    Posted by Rick, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Oliver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rick is an honest, confident, and no bs type of attorney. We was my lawyer on a dwi case and got the charges dropped. I recommend him to anyone.

713-864-3700