Ruby Lichte Powers’s Reviews

Ruby Lichte Powers

Average Rating

Based on 64 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ruby is either the best, or certainly one of the best immigration lawyers in the country.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.

    Ruby exceeded my high expectations. Ruby got surprisingly fast results: permanent residency!!!! She was nice, very professional, no nonsense, took time to meet in person and she was on time. She was encouraging but also honest about what lay ahead. I trust her. She communicated appropriately, and was super knowledgeable and helpful. And gave good advice. Ruby nimbly adjusted her strategy as new information came in, and she was fair and straightforward about charging. What a relief to have such a good lawyer. I wish more lawyers were like Ruby. Early in the process, when waiting in her lobby I talked with another client of hers who said Ruby was a lifesaver. I am confident the treatment she gave me was typical of what new clients can expect from her too.

  2. Excellent!!!

    Posted by Yurany,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.

    After visiting 3 lawyers and didn't find any option. I went to this office, thanks to God. They took my case and after just one year I received my permit to work and SSN. Even though, my case was handled for different assistants, the service has been Excellent!!!! I am really thankful for everything and God bless you and your team.

  3. Simply the best!

    Posted by Lauren Jay,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.

    Ruby assisted my family in moving over from the United Kingdom. She's a dynamic attorney with experience- which made all the difference for us!

  4. Thank you Ruby Powers and team!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a very tough case but Ruby Powers and her team helped me through it all. I am eternally grateful for all the work and time the law firm has dedicated to my case. You've done an excellent job and I am very happy that you helped me. I would recommend to anyone that needs help with immigration problems to contact Ruby Powers. Her team is very professional and react fast and have been there for me every step of the way, especially the assistant who helped me.

  5. Best Immigration Lawyer-Very satisfied client

    Posted by Sandra Frias, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 6-12 months ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I want to thank the Law Office Of Ruby L. Powers for the great job they did on my case, if it wasn't for her, right now I wouldn't be considered a US Resident. She knows the Law pretty well, she's very professional, kind and on top of her work. Her staff are kind, professional, and also on top of their work. I would recommend her to anyone, she will tell you the truth and what you can do about your case. She gave me an estimate time of when I would be receiving my green card and it all came out as she said. I went to so many lawyers and wasted money and time for so many years to hear the same thing, that I could fix but that I was going to be asked to leave the country once I went for the interview with immigration while mean time immigration made the decision ( of course I wasn't going to do that, I've been here in the US since I was about 3 or 4 years old and have my own family with two children. I can't live without my family.) The thing is in the past I had applied for TPS and I would renew it every year, but the last time I applied I thought I wasnt approved because I never received the approval letter. Then years went by and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals appear so I applied for that and well it was denied for the reason of TPS. So I looked up Law Office of Ruby L. Powers and made my appointment, I went there and I explained my situation and I gave her all my paper work of records, well it turned out that she told me that I never needed to apply to any of this, that I could actually apply for the Green card without the need to leave the country. That I had all my proof, and I told her that for many years I went to a lot of lawyers and I told her what they would tell me. She shake her head and she actually told me she was sorry I had to go through all of that and for the wrong information that was given to me by other law firms. Once again I recommend Law Office of Ruby L. Powers.

  6. Honest Review... Keep looking... you dont want them as your immigration lawyer

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 6-12 months ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We chose Ruby Powers due to a number of positive reviews and her location, even though she charged above average for her services. After a rather good consultation we signed a contract with them. We were only submitting a "change of status" immigration case and our file got passed around to 4 different people in the office, none of which were lawyers, and Ruby never even saw our paperwork or file before it got submitted. Due to the number of people working on our case, we were asked the same questions multiple times and it took over a week longer than they said it would (which we didnt have time for).
    We did get our paperwork filed but since then they have been uninformative, unhelpful, and have gone back on a number of things that Ruby and her other employees had told us (some we even have in writing, gratefully). At the end of the day, they don't care about you or your case. No one in the office is very invested in anything they do, and I will never go back or recommend them to anyone.

    1. Ruby Lichte Powers

      Ruby Powers

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you had a bad experience with our firm. This matter does not sound familiar. We have three attorneys in the office and everything is reviewed by three people, including myself, Ruby Powers, or my associate attorney before filing. We strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. Please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  7. amazing service

    Posted by Oana, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I couldn't be happier with the results. I needed to apply for the removal of conditions on my 2 year green card in order to receive my 10 year one. I had to do this while in the middle of getting divorced. Ruby and Isela made everything very easy and less stressful. My case was submitted in January and got approved in July. I wasn't asked for an interview or additional paperwork because Ms Powers and her team made sure my package had all the evidence needed. They are very responsive whether on the phone or email. I have never been so happy working with a lawyer. I will be using her services in a few years for my naturalization process. I highly recommend Ms Powers office to every person that needs help with immigration laws. Thank you so much! O Duda

  8. she is TRUSTWORTHY

    Posted by Amel, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I came to her office for consultation, and even though the news where not good for me, but she was honest. she could of take my money and gave me ahope, but she didn't. she was nice and straightforward.

  9. She Did a Great Job on my VAWA case

    Posted by Trg, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am truly grateful that I found Atty. Ruby Powers law firm who is dedicated and committed to her client, She gave attention to my difficult VAWA case, for the reason that I was arrested for DV.But with the help of Atty.Powers and her staff who are very knowledgeable, professional and dedicated my case was a complete success. My I-360 which got approved and my AOS or I-485 got approved as well.I received my green card 7 days after my interview.
    I would like to thank you to Ms Jacklyn Hoang for patiently helping me gathering a bunch of documents and prepared an excellent response to the RFE on my I-360 case, and to Ms Isela for her efficiency in all required information and details on my AOS, and I-765 application, and to Atty Angie Turner for my prep. interview which was set Saturday not already an office day thank you so much for giving me hope.
    I particularly thank to Atty. Powers for always responded to all my e-mails even during the night,
    I would highly recommend her to someone who is looking for help on immigration matters same, as my case, God Bless and more power.

  10. Ruby Powers is the best lawyer

    Posted by Saad, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ruby Powers.
    • I hired Ruby 1-3 years ago.
    • Ruby handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ruby and her assistance Angie are the best lawyers I have came across. My wife and I are in permanant residency and we applied for naturalization and our case was very difficult naturalization case due to our frequent travel outside USA. Also, wish to mention that yesterday June11, 2014 was immigration interview fir naturilazation and the officer pushed my approval one month later to provide more documentations beside but my wife was approved for naturalization. After we left the immigration building, Ruby called and told to go back to immigration office because the officer approved your naturalization ! It was a history I will never forgot this moment ever. Ruby & Angie were very caring, compassionate and they dealt with our case as professional caring and concern, they are very trustworthy.
    I would recommend Ruby to anyone and will definitely will hire her again when necessary, and will refer all my friends who need immigration lawyer.