You only have a duty to pay them back if you recover from the third party's insurance. If you don't recover, then you have no duty to pay them. Your attorney can also negotiate a reduction on the lien amount depending on several factors that include, but are not limited to, the amount of your recovery. If you have any questions or would like to discuss further, don't hesitate to contact me.
Sam K. Mukerji
If she's getting the run around for this long, I would recommend she contact an attorney immediately. Because the accident was another driver's fault, she will be able to recover not just from worker's comp, but also from the 3rd party's insurance company. If and when W/C gets involved, they will want to subrogate when you recover from the 3rd party. If you have any questions or want to discuss further, feel free to contact me.
Sam K. Mukerji
Defense counsel and his client/Defendant decide where they sit at defense table. There are no rules or laws I know of that say where either has to sit at their designated table. If you have an issue as to where you sit, speak to your counsel about it.
If the other insurance company is asking you to fill out a form, it may mean that their subrogation department is looking to get paid back for repairs to this property damage/scratch. In turn they will pay back their insured for any deductible per the terms of his/her policy. If you didn't have insurance or your car was not covered at the time of the incident, the insurance company may come after you and/or the vehicle owner directly.
Sam K. Mukerji
Typically a personal injury claim/lawsuit requires some type of damages from the tort committed against you. Although a jury may find the yogurt company (and possibly others) liable for the bone being in your yogurt, they would be hard pressed to award any monetary damages.
The age of consent in Texas is 17 years old. Statutory rape is a strict liability offense, meaning it does not matter whether you knew or didn't knew her age at the time you had sex with her. If you are less than three years older than your partner, you can use that fact to defend yourself against charges of statutory rape. You cannot be charged under Texas statutory rape laws if you are married to your minor partner. Legally, yes it is possible to have charges pressed against you for statutory...
The range of punishment is great. It will ultimately be up to the facts of the case at hand, what the prosecutor is willing to offer, how competent the defense lawyer, and what the judge is willing to accept/hand down as punishment. Should the case go to trial and he is found guilty, punishment varies even more greatly at the hands of a jury. I would highly recommend your brother consult an attorney in person and get him/her more detailed facts about his case, and that attorney could give you a...
A class C misdemeanor (no jail, max punishment of $500 fine) simple assault is the minimum charge he could face should it be reported and the proper authorities believe there is enough evidence to move forward. I agree that it could get as high as a class A misdemeanor which can be punishable up to 1 year in jail; but if it is a first offense, then probation may be a very likely recommendation by the prosecutor.The statute of limitations on any misdemeanor assault in Texas is two years.
A health care liability claim must be commenced within two years from the occurrence of the breach or tort or from the completion of treatment or hospitalization. Only if the actual date of the tort cannot be ascertained should time be measured from the last date of a course of treatment. This statute, rather than the statute of limitations for wrongful death, applies in health care liability claims for death. Time may begin to run before an injury is discovered. However, the courts have held...
I would need more information to understand exactly what you are asking and to better answer your question. If you are concerned whether you will be responsible if you daughter caused an accident and the injured party's medical bills are more than what your daughter's policy limits are, I wouldn't be. Barring any extraordinary facts about the case, I don't believe you can be held accountable in this type of situation.