David T. Lopez’s Reviews

David T. Lopez

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highest rank for an excellent lawyer

    Posted by Anne, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mr Lopez represented me in a very fraught dispute at an institute of higher learning. We crafted together what we thought would be a reasonable settlement, and that is exactly what we got. The institution is one that seldom settles; EEOC were very surprised, we were told , at our success.

    Mr Lopez was always professional, efficient and kind. I recommend him as highly as possible.

  2. William

    Posted by William, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Lopez was absolutely fantastic. At my request, Mr. Lopez traveled to my place of employment to represent me and meet with attorneys and the CEO - at least two or three times. He listened to my employment concerns and did what I expected him to do. He provided expert advice, guidance, and feedback. He was in continuous communication with me - even as I traveled out-of-state. Mr. Lopez was able to extend my employment to the end of my contractual agreement - about six months. I am convinced that Mr. Lopez's representation helped me to stay employed for the duration of my contractual period. I paid the fee that gave me unlimited access to Mr. Lopez - not the hourly rate. Employment issues and disagreements are very serious and can impact your career and life. I strongly recommend that when you employ Mr. Lopez you pay the fee that gives you unlimited access - it is well worth it. During the last weeks of my employment, Mr. Lopez contacted me to make certain my employer was living up to the signed agreement. If they were not, I was to contact him. This demonstrates that Mr. Lopez sincerely cares about his clients. I could write more but words alone cannot do Mr. Lopez justice. He has exceptional technical skills, excellent human skills, and great perceptual skills. He is highly professional, ethical, honest, trustworthy, dependable, and hard working. He put in many hours in studying, researching, and preparing to represent me. Mr. Lopez has a wealth of practical experience coupled with a sterling academic record. I strongly recommend that you hire Mr. Lopez. You will be glad you did.

  3. Employment Issue

    Posted by Stacy K. Martin, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Lopez responded to my email and asked me to contact him at his office on Tuesday the day after Memorial Day, as I emailed him on that prior Friday. I responded that I needed to talk sooner, and he not only replied by email, but I spoke with his office manager on a Sunday. That is correct, she called me. Mr. Lopez and his office manager stayed in contact with me for over a week, and it was me who failed to follow through with our meeting as the situation I was in was fluid and changing, and even after I sent him documents to review prior to our meeting he was on top of the issue.

    I was not able to meet with him, although I know he invested a few hours of time from emails and phone calls to preparation for our initial consult. In the end though, I would not have been able to retain Mr. Lopez, as his hourly rate is just too expensive for the field I am in. I needed his fee to be reduced to around $250 from his rate of $500 as I am in a labor union and we count on the attorney to give us an affordable rate because of the field we are in. But, to be fair, I never asked him if he could reduce his fee, although, I am sure he does not need to, as his 40 years in practice has obviously earned him this ability to charge this rate. I am sure he is excellent and has earned the right to charge this and has earned the "Super"lawyer rating. If I ever was in a position where I needed his services and could afford just the initial consultation I would indeed use Mr. Lopez.

  4. Associate Professor within the Texas A&M University System

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Lopez and his very able staff saved my career several years ago when he defended me in a wrongful termination/retaliation case. Just to know that there was an advocate for my position as well as a legal defense was empowering. His commitment to resolving things through mediation was commendable though his forte is definitely in the court room. I have since referred others to Mr. Lopez because he is fair, thoughtful, and frankly brilliant as a lawyer. More recently I consulted Mr. Lopez on an employment matter and his advice was right on the mark. I was able to resolve the matter quickly on my own without taking mis-steps though there was probably a strong legal case for discrimination. He is quite simply a remarkable man and person and an outstanding attorney. Mrs. Lopez, his wife, directs the office and its operations and entire staff works well together with the client like a family though it is clearly a professional relationship. I have the most profound respect and admiration for Mr. Lopez.

  5. Programmer Analyst at UTMB

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The following is my personal review of Mr. Lopez. During the initial stages he allowed me complete freedom to determine what I wanted to do. His recommendations were correct. He handled all negotiations extremely well leading to a successful conclusion without resorting to court. I recommend him highly.

    The following is a list of the factors involved with my employer and how they were resolved.

    Mr. Lopez,

    I wanted to personally thank you for seeing that I was able to remain at my employer and be treated with respect.

    In the sixteen years I was there, As I became older (65), they did many things to discourage me:

    . Demoted me from a supervisory position to a low level job.
    . Moved me from a private office to an open cubicle in a bullpen.
    . Refused to train me in the newer technologies.
    . Laughed at me when I asked for raises.
    . Told me things which never came true.
    . Applied an HR formula based on technology to keep raises low
    for older employees which over time made me the lowest salary
    in my group even though I was the oldest with the most
    experience.
    . Refused to allow me to telecommute when it was acceptable for
    most others.
    . Placed me in a vulnerable positon for layoffs that later occurred -
    and are still occurring.

    But through your efforts the above were remedied so that I was to
    receive a salary adjustment and make it to full retirement.

    Please accept my sincerest thanks,

    Jim Handler

  6. Mr. Daniel Gilbert Trevino, Jr. SVP, PMO and Enterprise Architect, Prime Paradigms International

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

  7. In Praise of Mr. David T. Lopez

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. David T. Lopez recently worked on my behalf regarding an employment matter, denial of tenure. I could not be more pleased with the legal services he provided. The matter was resolved in my favor because of Mr. Lopez’s representation.

    A friend recommended Mr. Lopez to me because Mr. Lopez had successfully resolved a legal matter for him. My friend remarked on the intelligent, conscientious, powerful manner in which Mr. Lopez advocated for him. After my initial consultation with Mr. Lopez — or actually midway through it — I knew I wanted him to represent me. He is talented, serious, and focused. He is also a man of great dignity, and I wanted that quality in a lawyer representing my interests.

    Mr. Lopez is the consummate professional. He is knowledgeable, experienced, and committed to his clients. I never doubted for a moment that he was working in my best interest and making each “move” only after careful consideration of all possibilities and associated outcomes. What a comfort it was to have someone representing me whom I trusted completely.

    Mr. Lopez prevailed in my case and was able to resolve the matter to my benefit. However, I told him before we knew the outcome that I was so very pleased with and appreciative of his services, regardless of how the tenure appeal turned out. I said, “If I don’t win with you, I certainly wouldn’t have won without you.” But we did “win,” and without having to resort to an actual lawsuit.

    I recommend Mr. David T. Lopez most highly and without reservation.

  8. College Professor

    Posted by Lettie, a Education client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Lopez.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Education matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    February 06, 2008

    Mr. Lopez helped me gain my tenure status after being denied by university administrators. Mr. Lopez knows the civil rights laws and he realized that I had been discriminated against on the basis of race and gender. Due to the professional help I received from Mr. Lopez, I will soon be tenured and ranked associate professor. Without his help, I would not have been granted tenured; instead I would have been terminated in August 2008.

    Mr. Lopez not only was able to give me what was already rightfully mine, but he also did not allow administrators to get away with treating me as an unequal employer due to my race and gender. Mr. Lopez took an unfair situation and made it right - the truth was revealed which gave me my life back. I will forever be grateful..........

    A Tenured, Associate Professor