Mekisha Jane Walker’s Reviews

Mekisha Jane Walker

Average Rating

Based on 34 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. She is the Best! Highly recommended!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.

    I have to say Mekisha is the BEST!! She has handled a few cases that I felt I was wrongly accused and she fought for me until the very end which ultimately ended with a dismissal! I would refer Mekisha to anybody needing a lawyer that is STERN, caring and will FIGHT for you!! She knows what she is doing & she does it very well!! I'm so thankful I had her on my case. She has been a true blessing!

  2. Excellent Experienced Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.

    I recently needed legal representation, due to a charge I received, and was referred to Mekisha Walker thru an existing client and friend of mine. According to my friend, he found Mekisha to be very professional, knowledgeable and all business. Once we made contact, Mekisha explained to me clearly my options and possible outcomes. I also found her to be very business-like with no BS. Throughout the process and court resets Mekisha kept me informed and returned my calls and texts in a timely manner.

    Although my case did not make it to trial and was ultimately dismissed, I credit Mekisha with recognizing an opportunity and utilizing her experience to help get the case dropped. I highly recommend Mekisha and her office for any legal matters. As a sidenote due to Mekisha's hard work and preparation the case against my friend was also dismissed.

    Once again, Thank You Mekisha!!

  3. A RELIEF to have someone working for me!

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 1-6 months ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If looks could get your trail dismissed or beaten. This is your person. First impression being of stern, stone cold, and all business. Afraid to be on her business end of her barrel. As conversing with her she is quite easy going personable, and chatting over my case I knew I had the right legal council for me. She kept me informed along the entire process. Even with going back to court several times as judge ordered. She was punctual each and every time. It was a real RELIEF to have someone with the experience, vocabulary, and professionalism working for me. I hope this will be last time I need to call her, but I least I know who to call If I or friends needs legal council ever.
    Thank you so much Jane!

  4. The Best

    Posted by Demetries, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Just like to say thanks first and won't to say she did a really great job on helping me with my case and not just letting me take the first deal that was offer to me. She did fight for my rights and if you are looking for a great lawyer she is the one for you.

  5. Outstanding criminal defense lawyer and savvy insider

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 1-6 months ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have been a lawyer in Houston since 1976. I have known and worked with many good lawyers, but my experience with the criminal bar has been limited. About 19 months ago my 25-year-old son received a DWI, and we retained lawyer #1. Lawyer #1 was reasonably responsive at first, but seemed more interested in trying cases, and making big fees, than in getting us the best deal possible. When my son entered the DA’s new, revitalized “deferral” program, lawyer #1 became more and more inaccessible. The problem was that if my son completed the one-year deferral program successfully, his case would be dismissed and no conviction would appear on his record—i.e., no trial. When my son would miss some minor requirement in the program, or be a day or two late, the DA would threaten revocation, and lawyer #1 would cave and tell us we needed to try the case and pay him a large retainer. He wasn't really interested in learning the details of our case and working it to avoid trial.

    I believed we could make it through the program if we had someone who would stand up for us and be the advocate we needed instead of operating on his own agenda. I called a friend of mine who is one of the most respected criminal lawyers in Houston. He is on the short list for all the most important criminal and white collar cases, and I trust him. I should have called him to begin with. He referred me to Mekisha Walker, and I am very glad he did.

    We retained Mekisha a couple of months before the end of my son’s deferral program. At that point, the DA had advised us that he intended to revoke my son’s participation in the program, and he made it clear he was not going to change his mind. This meant that we either would have to go to trial, or my son would have to enter a plea bargain and go on probation for another year. He had already had a breathalyzer in his car for 18 months, he had attended over 100 AA meetings, he had done the Alive at 25 course, he had attended Outpatient Treatment Therapy sessions twice a week for 15 weeks, he had attended monthly meetings with a Case Officer and a number of other requirements of the deferral program. This had been a major commitment of time and effort, and the thought of repeating it was too much to bear.

    I had done a lot of work on this, because my son was finishing college and working, and, after all, he is my son. I created the best paper trail I could and turned it over to Mekisha. It was complicated, and it is never easy for a lawyer to have to start midstream, but she learned it quickly, which was absolutely crucial. The Case Officer had made deliberate misrepresentations in my son’s file, and the DA refused to correct them. The DA appeared to be looking for every reason possible to revoke, and did not care in the least that the facts were wrong. This is how the system works—they want you to fail.

    Because Mekisha was formerly a prosecutor, she knew the ropes. I can’t emphasize enough how important this is. I am a lawyer myself, and I would never try to navigate these waters without someone who understands how the DA’s office works. When they got to court for the final hearing, Mekisha learned that a brand new Chief DA had been assigned our case on her first day on the job. She was not inclined to dismiss anything on her first day, but over the next few hours Mekisha was able to convince her, and the judge dismissed our case that day. My son’s record will show no DWI conviction. This result could not have been obtained without the savvy of an insider with good instincts working the system effectively. My son and I heartily recommend Mekisha Walker.

  6. Mekisha Jane Walker Is The Legal Savior You Have Been Looking For!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 1-6 months ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Finding an excellent lawyer is a daunting task. I read the glowing reviews for Mekisha Jane Walker and was intrigued so I decided to take a chance on her. This turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Her legal genius was apparent the moment we spoke. I was blown away by her professionalism and the fact that she was in constant communication with me every step of the way. She came up with a brilliant strategy for my complicated case and watching her perform in court I knew I was in the presence of an artist. I owe my freedom to the tenacity and perseverance of Mekisha Jane Walker. So if you or someone you care about is in trouble and you are looking for an attorney that is actually going to fight for you then contact Mekisha Jane Walker immediately. She is the legal savior you have been looking for!

  7. Five Stars is not Enough! Hard working, Organized, Honest, Caring, Tenacious, a Fighter!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 6-12 months ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    You will be blessed to have M. Jane on your side. Hire M. Jane if you need a criminal defense attorney, she knows Harris County and she knows justice and how to fight for your rights fairly. You can trust M. Jane as you would a good friend. I hired M. Jane several times for myself and for family members. She is one of the best in Houston and a rising star!

  8. Very professional and supportive

    Posted by Diego, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 6-12 months ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mrs. Walker is currently handling 2 cases of mine, and she has been very very supportive along the way. I am a very doubtful and nervous person but Mrs. Walker has been very patient and professional, answering the many questions I have about my case and the possible outcome of the trial. Very informative, and attentive!, she returns all of my calls promptly, and takes the time to hear me out. I hired Mrs. Walker after letting go of my previous Attorney for doing the complete opposite of what she does. (no call backs, always got the voicemail, etc) .. Anyways, I recommend her to anyone looking for good representation. Very trustworthy, and very responsible.

  9. Excellent defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 1-3 years ago.
    • Mekisha handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Was able to get a possession charge dismissed and then expunged. Kept in constant contact with us, offered encouragement and support throughout the process. Would definitely hire again if the need arose.

  10. Case Dismissed

    Posted by Kim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mekisha Walker.
    • I hired Mekisha 1-3 years ago.

    Mrs Walker was very helpful concerning all of my questions during such a distraught time in my life with my teenage son. Not ever did I have to discuss my concerns through a secretary or other office personnel; Mrs Walker was personally helpful, exceedingly, through out my case. She was very knowledgeable and reassuring, which managed to put me more at ease with so much going on. I would with out a doubt refer her, or use her services again; my CASE WAS DISMISSED and I have now been able to recover my life because of her .