You should speak with an attorney in Washington. You can be arrested for an out of state warrant and held and extradited to the other state. You should not wait and wait to see if you will one day get arrested, rather you should be proactive and contact an attorney from Washington.
Courts will use different titles for court settings. For example, a setting may be called an arraignment , a non issue, a non trial, a disposition, a pretrial conference or a motion setting, just to name a few. It sounds like the motion conference you are asking about is setting where a the state and defense discuss all motions filed before a trial date given. You should speak with an attorney that practices in the county that has a motion conference to be sure.
You can either pay the fine or set the case for trial. If the police officer does not show the case will be dismissed. Unfortunately the fact that you don't own the car anymore does not change the fact that you were driving it when the inspection sticker was expired. Another option would be to get the inspection from the current owner and present it to the court. The court would likely dismiss it with a $20 post compliance fee.
Your boyfriend is innocent until proven guilty. As the previous posts discussed he needs a good experienced criminal defense attorney to defend him as he is charged with a First Degree Felony which has a range of punishment of 5-99 years or life. Further, if he has any prior TDC convictions his punishment range can be enhanced. But to answer your question, how much time will he get, he may not get any time. He needs a good attorney to defend him.
If you are set for trial you must still appear at court. You are certainly at a disadvantage without an attorney as you do not know the rules of evidence and procedure that are required to properly defend yourself in trial.
Often times in Municipal Court cases like a MIP, if the police officer does not appear the case is dismissed. You will also likely have an opportunity to speak with prosecutor. If you do speak with a prosecutor you can request Deferred Disposition, which is a probationary...
If the charge is aggravated assault, assault family violence 2nd offense or assault family violence impeding breath, it is possible to reduce the case to a misdemeanor assault causing bodily injury or assault offensive touching as these are lesser including offenses of the ones I listed.
It possible to have any case dropped. It depends on the facts of the case, the reasonableness of the prosecutor and skill of your attorney.
If you are charged with Assault Causing Bodily Injury (a class A Misdemeanor) you face up to 1 year in County Jail and up to a $4,000 fine. You are presumed innocent and have a right to a jury trial.
You should hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. If you are unable to do this by your court date you should request a reset to hire an attorney.