James Michael Evans’s Reviews

James Michael Evans

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If not the best, he is one of the best.

    Posted by Syed Ahmed, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    In past 10 years I have dealt with 5 different lawyers for various cases. Jim has been fantastic, responsible, trustworthy. He acted like my friend and thats very comforting. He answered all my calls and emails. I have nothing but praises for him. I wish him all the success in his future.

  2. Very Affordable

    Posted by Connie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Support matter.

    I found Jim in a local news paper. His rates were better than most and I felt like he was not trying to take all my money while representing me. I hired Jim for a simple child support hearing, but it turned into a very complicated problem because of the opposing attorney trying to run up the cost. Jim kept me informed and I was very happy with the results and the rate he charged was true and fair. I tell all my friends who have family court issues to use Jim Evans.

  3. Breach-of-Fiduciary-Duty -Worthless

    Posted by OC, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would never ever recommend this attorney. He will not fight for you nor work for you. This man delayed my hearings and really did not do much to help my case. I paid this man to file contempt on violate court orders, he would not get proper discovery and THIS GUYS YELLS AT YOU (I have recordings and witnesses) and does let you talk. He would not address nor change nor negotiate the divorce decree. This attorney cost me a lot of sleep, money and was my major problem of my divorce. You hire these guys to help but they make it worst. Overall this guy has violated his fiduciary duty code. Now he's running for Judge??

  4. Don't waist your time and most important money on this Greensheet Attorney!!

    Posted by Greg, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    Don't waist your time and money on this guy, he kept demanding money after I gave him $2,000 for a divorce and in order for him to settle my divorce he claimed he needed a continuous $500 a month until the divorce was final, which could take up to 5-6 years according to him. If you want to throw money away, get the run around, and get nothing settled than hire the guy. Good luck!!

  5. Knowledgable, Fair, and Friendly

    Posted by Thomas, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim Evans represented me in a child custody modification in Harris County in 2012/2013. I have actually known Jim for over 30 years; which is why I contacted him for my legal needs. Jim was very professional and had strong relationships with the court staff. Jim did not overcharge me to get started and was careful not to waste my money on busy work. Jim is a trustworthy and fair attorney and I recommend him highly.

  6. Professional attorney

    Posted by Sarah, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Evans stood behind me 100% of the time throughout my child support case. He gave me very good, knowledgeable, honest advice that prepared me during court settings and trial. I will continue to use him for any future child support issues that may come up.

  7. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Kristy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    very knowledgeable attorney. called me back in a reasonable time, given their very busy schedules as attorney's.

  8. Do not use this firm.

    Posted by Stacey, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This firm is all talk before you hire him and his assistance. It's the blind leading the blind. I would think you would no what the term "Court Order " means. I was suppose to go to my home to get my belongings, Heather's response was I don't no if you should, Jim said well what does the Order say in a snippy voice. Jim Evans or Heather Daniels Do Not seen to no the meaning. They do not communicate with their clients, extremely poor people skills, no confidences, no communication or follow through, do not have your best interest at heart, very lacks in their work ethics. In a Divorce you will not get everything you want. At least fight for your client instead of saying the other party is acting like a jerk. Please do your research before considering hiring attorney. I provided everything required for a simple divorce case w/no kids. The past 7 months they did nothing. Most attorney no your venerable and emotions are running high. Interview others before before giving them a Retainer fee. Well it took 4 months to receive a itemize bill of work they claim they did for my case. I decided at that time I know longer need their service. Do not hire. Preview/research the cover story and reviews before you consider hiring this Firm. You want someone to fight to get at least 55% from the opposite team. Often times I wondered and asked who side they were on. Jim Evans & Heather Daniels are not a good choice. I'm new to Texas!! That saying "Go Big or Go Home" I got it!!! 7 months later. I repeat Don't try this firm you will be sorry.

  9. Very Disappointed

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Evans did not keep me informed on the status of my child support case. He didn't want to go to court and wanted me to settle out of court. I don't feel that I was represented by some who had MY best interest in mind. I had to call the office several time before I would get a call back. I would NOT recommend his sevices to anyone. I should have done better research.

  10. Excellent mediatior and trial attorney.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Evans.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Evans for my very difficult divorce/custody case after being involved with 3 other attorneys over the course of 2 years who could not help. There were family violence accusations against me. As a result I could only see my kids twice a month. Mr. Evans guided me through some very trying times and made me feel much more at ease with our court system at every step of the way. In the end, I got a favorable outcome and got to see my kids on a regular basis due to his talents in the courtroom.