Dorian Claude Cotlar’s Reviews

Dorian Claude Cotlar

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Client

    Posted by Kristen, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family is from FL and Dorian Cotlar helped out our family tremendously!! My sister had a felony charge in TX and we needed to get her representation ASAP. We were helpless living so far away and the public defenders were not giving us or my sister any information about her case and we just wanted to get her home. We hired Dorian to help us and within a month he did as we hoped he would, he answered all of our questions and was able to assist in getting my sister home. Thanks to Dorian and his wonderful family, my sister was released and they took her in until she was able to make her flight home. I would highly recommend Dorian to anyone in the Houston, TX area.

  2. Our Hero

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the very first phone call Dorian helped us deal with a situation that was totally foreign to us. He handled the matter to its conclusion and we couldn't be more grateful. I would highly recommend Dorian, and already have recommended him to a very close family member.

  3. One of the top notch Attorney in Houston.Highly recommended.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    For anyone looking for Criminal defense lawyer, i would strongly recommend "Mr.Dorian Cotlar". He is very Proffesional, well behaved, friendly & caring lawyer with in-depth knowledge of criminal laws.

    Few things about Mr Cotlar,

    1. He is very proffesional to his clients, has represented us on every single court date on time and made sure everything was smooth for us.
    2. Explalined us in detail about whats the status and various stages involved in the case.
    3. He is very straight forward and talks to the point based on whats in hand. He does not give you false promises. Tells you whats to be expected and how we can handle the situation.
    4. His support staff is very friendly and knowledgable.
    5. He is an amazing person, treats you like his own family and takes care of you.
    6. Responds very promptly to your calls or emails or messages for any questions you have.

    He is with no doubt one of the top notch Lawyers in Houston. Highly Recommend.

  4. Very satisfied client

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am very satisfied with Dorian's representation of my teenage boys when they needed legal services. He was very responsive, explained the law clearly, engaged my boys in a very straightforward manner, and ultimately the outcome of their cases was very favorable under the circumstances. His fees were fair and reasonable, and his knowledge of the inner-workings of the DA's office was very helpful, having worked for the DA's office himself. I wouldn't hesitate to hire him again or recommend him.

  5. Cotlar Law Offices Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Dorian and his firm are excellent for the following specific reasons:
    - No false promises: They explain legal status and implications.
    - They are great with communication. I reached Dorian even when he was on vacation.
    - They are always present and on time.
    - I have confidence in their experience because of the results they produce.

    I had two cases involving alcohol. They rightfully dismissed both cases and cleared my record. Dorian, Austen and their staff have always been respectful and professional. They deserve every penny.

    K.M.

  6. Great work

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Great work by Dorian and his team representing me. They always showed up to court and answered all my questions. I will definitely use their services again in the future if required.

  7. 4th of July

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    The most responsive lawyer I have ever dealt with. Dorian did a great job proving the state had no case before it could go to court. We interviewed several lawyers before choosing Dorian. He has a great report in the court house with the prosecutors, clerks, and judges. If your in trouble and you want the best possible outcome a lawyer can get - Dorian will deliver.

  8. A referal for a great lawyer who gave me back my life!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Words cannot express how grateful I am to Dorian and what he and his law firm have done for me. With their support and guidance, I was able to get my deferred adjudication terminated early. Two years later I was eligible for the 'sealing' of my record and they came through again, especially in facing a more conservative judge. Thanks to them, I have my life back and if you have a criminal case in Harris County, this is who you should be going to for help. I recommend them without reservation.

  9. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Francisco, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Cotlar is one of the best criminal defense lawyers in the city of Houston. I hired him to represent me for a misdemeanor b case I caught against Hedwig Village Police Department. Needless to say he and his team handled my case very good. He answered every question I had and was able to get my case dismissed. Not once was I alone in the courtroom and I never even got to see the judge. I would recommend him to anyone needing a criminal defense lawyer.

  10. Caring criminal attorney Cotlar

    Posted by Judith, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorian Cotlar.
    • I hired Dorian 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Cotlar was assigned as my child's court appointed lawyer last Sept 2013, he handled the case just as a hired lawyer would have done. Once the case was complete and mind you he handled it same day and attained my child's release that very day. Mr. Cotlar had passed his business cards to myself and my husband that day before we left the courthouse... And thank goodness he had as two months later, unfortunately this same child was in need of a lawyer. After 8 hours of phone calls to various law offices and fees for services so high that I was not gonna be able to help my child, my husband remembered Mr. Cotlar and the pleasant, quick, and helpful services he had provided just two months prior. We dug for that business card and called, (hang on to those little cards, even in this high tech world those cards provide one thing the web doesn't, the name) we couldn't remember his name but found the card! We called him and explained who we were, and to my surprise, he remembered my child's case after only one visit to court (and had not been paid to remember)! I explained our new case and he was impressed that we remembered him and provided us a very fair and affordable rate considering the other rates I had been receiving all day! Once again, Mr. Cotlar to the rescue, with three new charges pending he worked diligently to attain my child a wonderful deal that my child couldn't refuse based on original charges filed. He provided wonderful communication and feedback concerning the cases as they progressed. He communicated by text messaging, phone calls, and emails, always keeping us in the loop of what was going on. I would recommend him for services if you find yourself in need of an attorney! He sure saved our family! Just hang on to those little business cards as you never know when you might actually need one that provides a name such as Mr. Cotlar's name! Thank you Mr. Cotlar, whereby I hope I do not need any other criminal services I will hang on to your card just in case!