Billy Ray Skinner’s Reviews

Billy Ray Skinner

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Billy Skinner provides excellent legal representation, and got positive results.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Skinner recently represented me in a criminal case that I was wrongfully accused in and completely innocent of the allegations. I had prematurely hired another defense attorney that I was not completely comfortable with and when I decide to make a change he supported me in that process and then developed and implemented a case strategy that not only showed my innocence, but also shed light on the incompetence of the other parties involved. Mr. Skinner was very calculating in his approach to others regarding the situation, understanding the need to not alienate these resources and create a hostile and distrusting environment. During this ordeal Mr. Skinner always made himself available to me and provided a constant voice of both information as well as a sounding board for me as I grew more and more disenfranchised with the system and gained more insight into the truths of how the system actually operates. Additionally, Mr. Skinner advised me on circumstances not directly associated to the case, not as an attorney but as a person. I found this personal aspect to be very refreshing, and know that it is a quality that is not found very often in the legal ranks. Eventually, after every excuse was exhausted by the prosecution, the case was dismissed, and I am now on my way to returning to some sense of normality. My best advice is to never find yourself in a situation that you would need the services of a criminal defense attorney. However, should you for whatever reason find yourself in that very precarious situation, I would highly recommend the services of Mr. Skinner and his team.

  2. Mr. Skinner is an Excellent Lawyer who really cares about his clients

    Posted by Jose, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Billy Skinner defended me from a charge which I was completely innocent. He believed in my case from the beginning to the end, and did his best to show that in court. After several attempts with the prosecutors to get my case dismiss. He told me that we needed to go to trial and defend me in front of a jury. We did just that and he did an excellent job as a defendant's attorney. He truly demonstrated to the jury that the cops were lying about my charge, and that I was completely innocent of the charge. I really believe that his expertise in defending his clients made it easy for us to prove that I was not guilty. Thanks to Billy, I am able to go back to my career which was in limbo, and continue with my professional life. I will always recommend Billy to anyone who is in trouble with the law. He is a very dedicated attorney who will fight for your case and will never lie to you about your chances of winning your case.

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by J, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The Law offices of Billy Skinner made my experience calming, in an otherwise troubling ordeal. From the initial meeting to my last court day, Mr Skinners professionalism, thoroughness, and passion were most appreciated. From the business aspect, his services are affordable and he'll work with you on a payment plan if necessary. His knowledge of the law and experience was evident in his approach to handling my case. I would recommend Attorney Skinner in a heartbeat. Thanks Billy
    Charge: DWI 2nd offense - Dismissed

  4. Mr. Skinner did a fantastic job on my case.

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was falsely accused by the police of resisting a search. I was arrested, sent to jail and charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Mr. Skinner came to my rescue! His experience as a former prosecuter allowed him to immediately see through the false charge and fabricated police report. Once retained by me, Mr. Skinner went to work proving my innocence. He tirelessly advocated for me and the end result was that he was able to get my case dismissed. Mr. Skinner was always accessible when I had questions. I found him to be a very personable, caring individual. I am extremely thankful to him for all he did for me.

  5. Great Criminal Trial Lawyer

    Posted by Jake, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Skinner is an outstanding lawyer, from the day i first stepped foot in his office i felt very comfortable with him as my lawyer. He explained everything about my case to me in extensive detail. Billy is an effective lawyer with a calm approach that seems to work great in the courtroom.

  6. Superior Legal Representation!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy 1-3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Skinner and staff worked extremely hard on my case. He took the time to explain the processes, help me feel calm in a very stressful time and was able to get my case dismissed. I am overwhelmingly appreciative towards his professional/knowledgeable efforts to prove my innocence...Thank you.

  7. A Definite Winner!!

    Posted by Ron, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy more than 3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It was a review that convinced me to go with Billy, and I think leaving one myself is entirely befitting. I approached Billy at a time when I needed someone I could completely trust. I found in him a friend, one who is very affable, understanding, trustworthy, and above all is a terrific attorney. The confidence he had in his abilities was all the support I needed through it all. Thank you for that perfect score Billy. I wholeheartedly recommend him to everyone.

  8. An Amazing Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy more than 3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Billy in January of 2010 based on the recommendaytion of a former attorney. I was facing criminal charges, and my personal life was falling apart. Billy recognized that I was still in shock over coming into my situation, and gave me helpful personal and legal advice. His policy is to work with "the whole client," and was mindful of the fallout that was occuring in my personal life (a failed marraige, and substance abuse), as well as what I was dealing with in the courts. He encouraged me to seek help for the personal problems that lead to my charges. He was very diplomatic, but straightforward, in letting me know that I might have to prepare myself for facing probation as a result of my charges. We we discussed his fees up front, which I found to be more than reasonable for an attorney of his caliber.
    The case lasted several months, thoroughout which I had to appear in court on multiple occasions. Billy made it to all of my court appearances, despite having clients in multiple courts on the same day. I was an equal priority to him, even though he had other clients with higher profile cases. He continuously encouraged me to be patient with the process. He was quick to return my phone calls, and reacted swiftly and appropriately when we found out that local officials were spreading rumors based on my case. Billy wanted to be sure to put an end to that immediately.
    In the end, I was very lucky. Billy negotiated with the prosecutor (who he has known from years of working in the Harris County courthouse), who was willing to dismiss my case on the condition that I continue on a rigorous program of personal and group treatment for my personal issues. I enthusiastically agreed, and my case was dismissed within just a few months of the initial arrest. I have now moved on with my new life, with a clean record and without the issues in my life that I was dealing with before. Things are different for me now, but Billy kept me from falling further into a personal disaster.

  9. Great lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy more than 3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was accused of indecently exposing myself to an undercover officer in September of 2010 and I chose to hire Mr. Skinner because he had experience defending cases like mine. I did not regret my choice because Mr. Skinner was able to get my case dismissed promptly. He gathered evidence to show that the charges were baseless. If it were not for Mr, Skinner, I might be in prison today. I highly recommend Mr. Skinner as he is skilled, professional, and dedicated.

  10. Not only a GREAT lawyer, but also a GREAT guy!

    Posted by Andrew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Billy Skinner.
    • I hired Billy more than 3 years ago.
    • Billy handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To sum it all up in one word...WOW!!! Billy has truly been a blessing to my family and I. He represented me for a DWI charge along with a felony evading arrest. Never did he once approach me with the possibility of a plea, as he worked hard in doing his research and having one objective. That objective was to WIN! Billy always showed up early for court appearances and was very productive each and every time. He was very informative and was constantly giving me updates on the status of our cases. We ended up getting both cases DISMISSED!! The thing that really made Billy stand out was when after the cases were dismissed, Billy took the time to take me aside and have heart to heart conversation with me that will forever be embedded in the back of my mind. That let me know right then and there that not only was Billy a GREAT lawyer, but also a GREAT guy.

    Thank You, Billy