Todd A. Durden’s Reviews

Todd A. Durden

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Character and Integrity

    Posted by Relieved, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Todd truly cares about his clients. He can empathize with the divorce and custody issues. He has been there. He helps stay on track and is zealous without overcharging and being unreasonable. He and his paralegal is always responsive and helpful.

  2. The Best

    Posted by Curtis, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommed Todd Durden as an attorney. From the time he took my case on, he has handled it with the utmost care and personal attention. His diligence and his thorough understanding of the law led me to gain the outcome I was seeking... full-custody of my kids (which is often difficult for a dad to achieve.) I highly recommend him (and often do) to anyone!

  3. I Felt Like His Only Client

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a father who has custody of my son because of Todd. We worked together for two months to defeat my ex's divorce and custody petition in favor of my own. This seemed impossible at first; she had filed a month before me and already had a hearing for orders set that I had no way of attending. In the end, we dissolved her petition and moved the whole case to my state instead.

    Todd and his team have a very personal approach. They are 100% professional and have a thorough understanding of family law. I was always well informed, and every step of the process was quick and efficient. The firm worked hard for me staying late more than once. In short, my money was well spent.

  4. Father's Right Champion (Todd Durden got my daughter back to me)

    Posted by Ron, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In July of 2010 I became aware that my ex-wife was a drug addict and abusing herion. My ex lives in the DFW area and I in Houston . I have a very active role in my daughter's life and suspected that something was wrong in my ex's household, but wasn't sure what. My daughter was staying with me for the summer and my ex was suppose to be getting her life situated. After doing some investigating of my own I discovered that she had been lying to me and was using herion and other drugs. I was frantic and knew I had to do something but wasn't sure what. My ex wife had resources to fight me and her parents, especially her father were inabling her. I had not had great luck with attorneys in the past and was really scared. I contacted my EAP and was referred to Todd Durden.

    Todd was great. He listened to me and I feel took a personal interest in my case. He recognized the importance of keeping my daughter safe. He went to work immediately. He filed a TRO to ensure that my daughter would remain with me until we could reach a judgement. He worked with me via phone, mail and email. He not only ensured that he gathered accurate information from the police, CPS and witnesses he guided me in obtaining the information that would be pertinent in my case. He kept me updated on my case on almost a daily basis. In less than a month he had us before a judge.

    You must remember my entire relationship with Todd had been over the phone, through letters and emails. I did not actually meet Todd until the day before we went to court. He was just as supportive and detailed oriented in person. He continued to reassure me that we had a strong case. He knew the judge and had been in front of her before. At the courthouse it was evident that personnel and collegues knew him.

    My ex-wife's attorney was very aggressive and pulled out a couple of surprises, but it did not seem to phase Todd. I have to admire the fact that he never fed into the hostility. I also admire the fact that through this whole process he never made my ex out to be a villian. On the contrary he recognized that my ex is sick and needs help. This in turn helped me stay focused.

    In front of the judge he was calm and had prepared me well. It took maybe all of 20-30 minutes and at the end my daughter was with me. I can't thank Todd enough. My daughter is safe, happy and we have peace of mind. I will definitely keep him as my lawyer.

    Thank you Todd!

  5. Federal Case

    Posted by Texas, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was charged in federal court in Fort Worth with a felony offense. I hired Todd right away, and he got right on the case and worked hard on it. At the first Court setting, I was ordered released on bond, so that I could be with my family and continue to work and support them while the case was pending. Todd kept me informed about my case throughout the process. My guideline range was 57-71 months. He interviewed witnesses and prepared a sentencing pleading that included photographs and really told my story, and how my case was different. He also helped me plan who to ask for character letters, and in the end, we had almost twenty. Mr. Durden filed a motion asking for a reduced sentence, and the judge granted it. I received a sentence of probation. Throughout the process, Todd was there for me. He talked to me and let me know what the steps were, and what our plan of action was.

  6. Could not have made it with out Mr. Durdens knowledge & efforts.

    Posted by Jim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case had drug on for over 5 years with me getting shafted weekly
    untill Todd/Mr.Durden accepted me as a client.. He good enough at his job he can be extreamly effective while being 100% honest.( I ran across a few that could not say the same.) Todd is a very hard worker and dedicated to his clients.. Very happy to have found him..

  7. A Great Lawyer

    Posted by Pam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hes a great attorney and he knows his stuff ,He's not cheap but well worth the money , He help me in a battle with my ex and I won Sole Custody of my son and was awarded Attorney fees back which I'm waiting on , we shall see ,...I was very happy with him ..and will keep him as my personal attorney for yrs to come .

  8. Fantastic Experience!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Durden.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a father who fought for joint custody of his daughter, I cannot say enough good things about Todd Durden and how passionately he believes in doing what is best for the children involved. From the moment I met him, I felt as though he was going to do everything he could to make me feel like his highest priority. He was considerate, understanding, but at the same time firm and ready to fight to get me the best possible situation.
    I could not have been happier with the outcome. He has even followed up with me since just to see how things are going! What lawyer does that today? It is a great to know when I hear friends complain about their lawyer not calling them back, or not keeping them up to date on their case, that I'll never worry about that again!

817-431-0099