Mark Mcentire Childress’s Reviews

Mark Mcentire Childress

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Happy Boy, Happy Life

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I hired Mark as our lawyer for my husband to adopt my son. I received a call from Mark within hours and he quickly moved forward with our case. I not only got updates from his office but Mark himself. Mark made sure every detail was met and completed by the book and we didn't miss any steps for the opposing party to come back in my son's life. It was long journey but our outcome was worth making sure every 'T' was crossed and every 'I' was dotted. We have a very happy boy and our family is now legally complete. Mark helped us with every question we had, we are pleased with him and his effort.

  2. family law court

    Posted by Jessica, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark childress is currently my lawyer. My sister is sueing me for custady of my son christian. I battled with drugs for about a year and a half and my sister cared for my son during my battle of addiction. I am now 9 months clean. Almost a year clean and mark has been nothing but helpful through my battle. We just went to court and Mark got me over night stays every other weekend with my son. I have faith that mark will get my baby boy back into his mothers arms where he belongs. Mark is trust worthy, he is upfront with what money he needs to pursue your case and he doesn't mess around When it comes to my son, mark knows where my son needs to be and I believe he will do everything in his power and fight until my son is back with me. His mother.

  3. Excellent Divorce attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was fortunate to find Mark at such a tough time in my life. It felt like my world was crumbling down and I was in desperate need of legal advice. He was very knowledgeable and gathered all of the facts before laying out the best options for me. In such a time of grief it is easy to get carried away with anger but he was very logical in his guidance which led me to making decisions that would best serve my long term interests. I am very pleased at how I came through my divorce and was able to move on with my life. I could not have done that without the legal help from Mark. I would highly recommend him if you are in need of a divorce lawyer. He genuinely cares about your needs and works hard to fight for them.

  4. Wrongful termination

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my ex tried to terminate my rights to my only son in 2012, I was distraught. I am so thankful I found Mark at the time I did. He was so determined and NEVER gave up or settled for less than the best. Finally after all of the battles with my ex we won. I know he gave it his all and put in a lot of time and effort for me and because of that I'd say he's the best attorney in the Fort Worth. He is awesome in court and he knows his stuff. Which is very reassuring when it comes to losing your kid! I am so thankful for him and always will be. If I ever need another attorney he's my guy!

  5. Should be attorney of the year!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    As I find these reviews it compels me to write one myself. Mark was my attorney about two years ago. I am very pleased with the outcome of my case. From the very beginning he was up front with me about there never being a guaranteed outcome, however throughout my case he worked hard to get me the best results possible, which he did. His office staff were always pleasant, and they were all very professional. I can't say enough good things about them! It upsets me to see these terrible reviews and I want people to know the good things about Mark and how many people have been helped because of Mark and his staff. I hope that this will help people in making a wise decison to hire Mark! If he helped me in my messy divorce, he can help you too.

  6. Outstanding!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have just hired Mark and already I am pleased with how my case is moving along. I am now getting child support and spousal support from my soon to be ex-husband! Just wanted to take the time to write a quick review because I think he deserves it! Outstanding work so far!

  7. Attorney with a big ego......

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.

    I am in tears writing about this attorney and never have done a review before but... I just cannot let any other person/family go threw what mine has gone threw. I will first start off with he has stripped us of our life savings, we are a younger couple and are starting out new in life together so let's just say $10,000 plus dollars is a lot for us when we could have used this money else where. He has left us financially upside down, without and custody/visitation rights to children, emotionally devastated and frankly scared of attorneys and judges!!!
    This was supposed to be a pretty common easy case as Mark claimed, he met us on a Saturday and things seemed fine gave him all the money he asked for upfront. Went to the first hearing didn't go as Mark stated then of course he wanted more money to proceed which was paid. Went to a mediation which was awful oh let me add on our day of court he doesn't have you get to his office a little to early to prep and prepare you of what to come no Mark does that when you walk to the court house out of breath and loud passing busses and cars drive by. So back to the mediation nothing is worked out by either side so Mark states ok we are at a zero balance now what we can do is move forward with a trial and I want to get this one particular judge but.... Doing that I need another $5000 so we go home think about it called his office few days later with some questions I will not say names but she states oh I am not sure I will get back with you well she never does so about a week goes by after few calls to his office she finally calls back and first thing she says is by the way Mark says you have an outstanding balance and in order to move forward you need to pay that plus the $5000 so we go back and fourth over payment Mark stated last week I had a zero balance... Well you can never get a straight answer it's always I'll have to get back with you with this one particular woman. Make a long story short here Mark then stated he was dropping me as a client for non payment so not knowing what to do court coming up I need an attorney I paid him biggest mistake ever! He never did what he said he was going to do in court!!! He blames me as to why the court was not favoring him. Well the real facts are he doesn't really care his heart isn't into his career he is all
    About being and playing the part of a rich pretty boy attorney which he does do that well. His office is a mess they never know what the heck is going on you constantly have to remind them I felt like I was the attorney I gathered information and paperwork at the end I kick myself wondering why I even got an attorney. I am in such a mess and have zero I mean zero
    Time with my beautiful children which is killing me. I had to hire another attorney and she cannot believe the mess Mark allowed my to be in!!! She also states why didn't we show up to court on such and such date well..... Answer is Mark never did, he said he was billed us for it but never did! Needless to say I am the type of person if I have bad service or bad taste in my mouth I just look away and never go back but with Mark and his office I have to warn others...
    We are taking about lives and families here. Please please please look elsewhere do your homework I did not and I am severely paying the price and now I can't afford to dig myself out of Marks mess with a real attorney!! Good luck we didn't have any!!

    1. Mark Mcentire Childress

      Mark Childress

      Lawyer Comment:

      The first hearing did not go as expected because the client advised the Judge that he was not using drugs, but after he was ordered to take a drug test, he tested positive for heroin. The client was not honest with the Judge about using drugs. Therefor I was not able to give him the outcome he was expecting. After finding out he was still using, I then needed more money to move forward with the case because it was not a common "easy" case anymore. The clients mother then advised me that she had paid for the case and would pay no more because the client had used her credit card for things that she did not agree with, so she refused to give him more money. When the client refused to pay additional funds for trial, I had no other choice but to withdraw from the case. I did not attend the trial because I was out of the case at that point. However, if this person was still on drugs at the time of trial I am sure he was not satisfied with the outcome of his case.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  8. Don not be fooled

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Childress.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Family matter.

    I have never written a review on anyone but I would never want anyone to fall for Mark and his promises. He does not review paperwork... Don't be fooled by the initial meeting with him or Justin. It is impossible to get a straight answer from anyone in the office. Mark caused me more problems than I had before I hired him. He promised me he could fix a simple problem but almost 9 months went by... He Missed court dates. He obviously does not review his own paperwork or emails. He impacted my life and my sons in a very negative way and I am embarassed that I ever fell for his confident empty promise of I can fix it. I do not take on a case I won't win. I dont know how the man or office staff sleep at night. Money greedy and cant give direct answers. They are not upfront at all about their fees. Do not sign anything. Dont fall for his quoted price either. Bottom line, he is terrible and wouldnt recommend him to my worst enemy. Eventually I found an amazing lawyer that fixed my problem in no time. Time can't be lost when children are involved.

    1. Mark Mcentire Childress

      Mark Childress

      Lawyer Comment:

      First and foremost in addressing this client's concerns, I have not ever missed settings of any sort. The client insisted we file suit even though his position was not favorable. On the topic of fees, I offer an absolutely free in-house consultation. In the event that a client hires me, I charge retainer and an hourly rate thereafter. In addition, each client must read and sign an employment contract which clearly outlines our fee structure. Shortly after closing the case this client filed a grievance against me for fees, which was reviewed and rejected by the Texas State Bar, which found no errors in my work. I would like to note that when dealing with complex cases there are no set-in-stone procedures or outcomes. We are sorry for the client and respect his concerns; however, as professional attorneys we certainly do not imply that any case has a guaranteed outcome nor do we mislead our clients with empty promises.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

817-475-9362