Michael Shawn Matlock’s Reviews

Michael Shawn Matlock

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    Outstanding attorney...well respected in the courts, amoung peers and with judges...thoroughly understands court procedure.

    -Tenacious client follow-up...diligently ensures and communicates an understanding of case merits and potential outcomes.
    -Keenly experienced in weighing case circumstance and offering alternatives that are in his clients best interest.
    -Exceptionally skilled at employing comprehensive and appropriate strategies.

    Mr. Matlock's expertise of the law and diligent resolve were instrumental in the dismissal of both of my cases with prejudice...I give him my highest reccommendation.

  2. Responsive

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Personable, reasonable, polite, calm, and best of all delivered results and had me in and out of the courtroom in minutes.

  3. Great Attorney

    Posted by Terry, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used Mr. Matlock for a criminal case, and he did a great job. He was very informative about the process and the law. He was readily accessible. I would highly recommend

  4. I would recommend

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend this attorney. He is a very good attorney. The best I've dealt with.

  5. An incredibly good attorney

    Posted by Leslie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Matlock for a serious felony offense. He carefully explained every aspect of the case to me, as well as what I could expect. He was available to talk to me when I called or emailed him, which is a nice change of pace when it comes to attorneys. He was truly fantastic.

  6. Highly recommended

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted Mr. Matlock after speaking to several other attorneys about my case. He was the only one that seemed to want to tell me everything at stake with my case, both good and bad. He was up front about my chances, but at the same time more than willing to fight for me. And fight for me is exactly what he did.

    I felt from the beginning that my case was winnable. So did Mr. Matlock. During trial he was incredibly impressive. He was an outstanding trial attorney. His closing argument to the jury was something out of Hollywood. It was great.

    But not only was he great in the courtroom, but alos leading up to trial. He was always available to speak about my case. He kept me up to date with everything that was going on.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Matlock to anyone facing serious criminal charges. He was more expensive than many lawyers I spoke to, but it was well worth it.

  7. Fantastic

    Posted by Teddy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Matlock to represent my son who was involved in a felony offense. Mr. Matlock handled the case is a very professional, courteous and efficient manner. He unquestionably knows the law and how the system works. As a result, my son avoided what could have been a potentially devastating result in his case. Mr. Matlock is a a true trial lawyer who commands the courtroom. I was truly impressed.

  8. Mr. Matlock is an outstanding defense attorney

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Matlock defended me in a drug case. He was on top of everything on my case. He explained the law to me and told me how it affected me in other areas besides just the possibility of going to jail. He was great. He always was available to answer my questions. I would recommend Mr. Matlock to anyone that is charged with a crime.

  9. Mr. Matlock did what other lawyers promised, but couldn't

    Posted by Tony, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After I was arrested, I received hundreds of letter and brochures from attorney wanting to represent me. There were two attorneys that claimed they could get my case dismissed. I went and spoke to them, and ended up hiring one of them. I went to court one time, and realized I had made a terrible mistake. I took the time to do the research I should have done initially, and went and spoke to Mr. Matlock. I am so happy I did.

    After speaking to Mr. Matlock, I realized the other attorneys' office was just out for money. They had no interest in my case, and they certainly couldn't get my case dismissed like they claimed. Mr. Matlock helped through the case and we eventually got the case resolved. I recommend Mr. Matlock to anyone. Don't be fooled like I did by those fancy fliers in the mail.

  10. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by Teresa, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Matlock.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Matlock is a tremendous attorney. He helped me in a very difficult situation. He took the time to explain every aspect of the case to me and it really helped me in making the decision to go to trial. Once we were in trial, Mr. Matlock was outstanding. He did a really great job with the prosecutor's witnesses. I was found not guilty. He saved my career. I would highly recommend Mr. Matlock to anyone that has any kind of criminal case. He is well worth the money.