Lisa Mary Haines’s Reviews

Lisa Mary Haines

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hands down – The most passionate, compassionate, dedicated professional one could hope for!!!

    Posted by M,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.

    I cannot say enough good things about Lisa. She is incredible! She had her work cut out for her when she took on my case. To describe my circumstance as complicated would be a huge understatement. What a nightmare! Even now with such a good outcome (Thank you Thank you Lisa) :) I'm not comfortable talking about it.

    So.... Here I go.... Take a breath.....

    Due to a grossly exaggerated incident... No... Dare I say it... Trumped up charges against me, I was facing a 2nd degree felony where none existed! Lisa immediately saw the ridiculousness of the charges, faced down the prosecution and got them to see the truth with common sense. Without Lisa's compassionate determination I would not have my life back. I am eternally grateful to you Lisa. As always thank you for supporting me.

  2. Excellent

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.

    Lisa was extremely professional from our first meeting. She directed me through the right steps to achieve the best possible outcome, and due to that process my case was dismissed. I would recommend Lisa to anyone that needed a trustworthy, knowledgeable attorney in Tarrant County.

  3. Compassionate, persistent & professional - amazing

    Posted by wyldchyld144,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.

    Lisa Haines understood the significance of mental health problems where the judicial system fails to. We had a case that was clearly untreated mental illness & NOT criminal. She was able to show the judge evidence & get the charges completely thrown out. Charges that should have not been in the criminal system to begin with! Mental illness is unfortunately a sad failure with the police & the courts. Lisa Haines did not give up until someone finally looked at the evidence. It took two years & she never gave up. She changed our lives. Thank you, Lisa!

  4. Exceptional Knowledge and Compassion - A True Advocate for You

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Lisa exceeded all our expectations of a court appointed attorney when my husband was involuntarily held for psychiatric reasons. Her compassion and guidance through navigating the complex mental health law process was invaluable. With little information available on the subject, Lisa's knowledge and willingness to advocate for our family has made it possible for him to get the help he needs. Thank you, Lisa, for your support and efforts.

  5. Paul Rodgers Review

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lisa was my Attorney for a criminal case in October 2012. She is a fantastic Attorney. She has explained everything in Layman's terms so even I can understand them. Her previous experience as a prosecutor provides her with a unique perspective in acting as a Defense Attorney. I would highly recommend her to EVERYONE. She is always eager to respond to any questions regardless of the issue. She is still working my case if the need arises. I even met with her today (08/28/2014) to address additional issues.

  6. Great lawyer even when court appointed!

    Posted by Wendy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I did not hire her but my boyfriend was appointed to her by the court. She is an excellent defender of ones civil rights! Thank you Lisa and team for getting his case dismissed.

  7. Lisa haines is wonderful(:

    Posted by courtney, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    I unfortunately got my second dwi that is when I choose lisa haines to be my attorney and I couldn't be happier with that decision not only was she very nice, and easy to be honest with but she was also very direct, and kept me up to date with everything going on in my case. She helped me to receive an occupational license while mine is suspened and got me 180 days probation. I would recommend her to my family or even a close friend and if your looking for an attorney you will be glad you chose give Lisa haines a call(:

  8. Compassionate and Effective Defender

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Late one recent evening I received a collect call from the Denton Jail. It was my daughter calling. She’d been arrested in Fort Worth, Texas and moved to the Denton Jail. She'd been away several months already on a cross country journey with her boyfriend that I’d done everything I could to discourage or delay. I live in New Jersey. First thing after receiving my daughter’s call, I searched the web to find out what the possible punishments were for the offense my daughter was charged with. Next, I concluded two things. I had to get my daughter out of jail before she came to serious harm and I had to get her a defender. My daughter’s crime was petty and stupid but the punishments allowed at law could quite literally destroy her.

    Having dealt with the traffic tickets and petty citations my kids seemed to draw I concluded that without the best defender my daughter was at the mercy of a predatory system of laws without mercy or what I could term justice or equity. Some judges and prosecutors do their best to mitigate the often harsh and disproportionate punishments resulting from a strict application of the law; some do less. I wanted a defender who knew the courts, the judges and prosecutors and who they can deal with.

    I was also very concerned about my daughter’s mental state. She was completely unprepared for the inhumanity of our jails. The process of arrest and jailing can break the will and sanity of whoever ventures into its maw. I wanted a defender who could find empathy for and relate to her on a personal level, and who would make clear that what she did was stupid and wrong ; convince the court to make their punishment the best possible under the circumstances and proportionate to the offense; and finally convince my daughter that the punishment was indeed just. No more late evening calls from a jail somewhere.

    Reading through attorney listings in the AVVO. Lisa Haines, P.C., immediately stood out. The pattern of her experience, the directions she chose for her career told me she was exactly the right person to defend my daughter. She was a school teacher, a prosecutor and now a defender. She specialized in cases like my daughter’s case. The picture of her on her website showed me in her face the thousands of smiles and the concern, the caring that I felt my daughter needed. When I spoke with Lisa Haines on the phone the next day I was already sure she was the right defender and became certain of that as we spoke.

    Lisa Haines, P. C., exceeded all my expectations both in the outcome and in her ability to establish a relationship with my daughter, conveying the lessons I hoped my daughter might learn from her bad experience. She was very responsive to my emails and phone calls and to those my daughter also peppered her with. She kept both me and my daughter aware of the situation as my daughter’s case wound its way through meetings with the prosecutor and finally my daughter’s hearing after we’d had to move the court date out so that my daughter could meet the requirements of the probation the prosecutor agreed to prior to the hearing. At the hearing the judge was satisfied with the arrangement for punishment that Lisa Haines had worked out with the prosecutor, an arrangement that exceeded my best hopes. One of the most important outcomes besides avoiding the possible destruction of my daughter was my sense that my daughter had indeed learned what I hoped she might from the arrest, trial and punishment. I also felt justice had been served and what could have been a disaster had taught my daughter lessons I’d failed to convey. I credit this all to Lisa Haines and with this recommendation I hope I can repay some of what I owe to her for her devotion and skill in humanizing the law. I must also give special thanks to a member of Lisa’s staff, Sandie Powell, who consistently demonstrated the same compassion and passion to help characteristic of Lisa Haines.

  9. A beacon of light in the dark world of Tarrant County Justice.

    Posted by Kolby, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have needed Ms Haines services twice in the last 3 years. Each time she has she made a scary situation, not seem as bad. She is thorough in explaining your options and every possible outcome. Her experience working in the D.A's office was visible when dealing with them. She does not mince words, or beat around the bush, which I found very comforting. I hope I never need Lisa again, but If I do, I would not hesitate to use her again.

  10. THUMBS UP

    Posted by JEANETTE, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Lisa Haines.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MS. HAINES FOUGHT HARD FOR MY GRAND-SON. SHE CARED ABOUT MY CONCERNS AND TOLD ME WHY SOME WOULD WORK AND SOME WOULDN'T.
    WE WERE NOT JUST ANOTHER NUMBER.