Erick Masten Platten’s Reviews

Erick Masten Platten

Average Rating

Based on 43 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. best lawyer in Texas

    Posted by Juan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Platten done a great job on my 4th and 5th dwi. I thought I was going to go to jail for a long time but thanks to him and his team all I got was probation. I strongly recommend him to any body that is in need of a professional.... Thank You Erick Platten and team!!!

  2. Totally Satisfied

    Posted by a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Erick Platten to handle my criminal case. He kept me informed on what was happening and it took a good while to solve my case. He had it droped to a disorderly conduct charge with only a small fine.

  3. Erick Platten- Without a Doubt

    Posted by Jody B, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 6-12 months ago.
    • Erick handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Erick Platten was highly recommended to me and the results show just why. I surely thought I would be sitting in jail today, and probably would have if it weren't for him. I was arrested for my 3rd DWI in Tyler, which is a Felony. with my BAC being a .257, many thought I would be in jail no less than 6 months. But the reputation of Erick and how he handle DWI cases, the DA gladly accepted our plea. I got off this time with no jail time and 5 year probation. I thought I was going to miss work and several semesters in shcool, but I am a free man. still have my job and a full time student still at UT Tyler. If your ever in trouble for a DWI, Erick is the best fit in my opinion, and many others.

  4. excellent divorce lawyer

    Posted by betty, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr platten fought and fought for my divorce!!! My. spouse is in prison and it is very hard to get papers in prison!!!! But even though it took a while to get it done. he got it done!!! He did an awesome job!!! Thanks

  5. great lawyer perfect expertise

    Posted by brianna, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-6 months ago.
    • Erick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    my girlfriend was facing two new charges he not only got her time ran currcurent he also was able to get her only 150 days for both charges he was fast and efficient and he kept me informed thank you for helping my girlfriend shell be home for her birthday

  6. Erick Gave Our Son a Second Chance

    Posted by Sandi, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 6-12 months ago.
    • Erick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I highly recommend Erick Platten as a Criminal Defense attorney! He promised us over and over that "He would take care of our son", and he did just as he promised! He was able to negotiate a second chance for our son.
    Erick is a great communicator. He kept us in the loop and reassured us when all seemed lost.
    If you are faced with a serious situation, please call Erick. When we first called Erick we were desperately fearful about our son's future. Erick saw us on a Sunday morning, within an hour after we first called. I can't tell you how reassured we were after we met Erick that first time.
    Erick did everything he could to facilitate an early release for our son, and ultimately negotiated an outcome better than we could have possibly imagined.
    Trust Erick!

  7. Fire-Arms ( 2nd Amendment )

    Posted by Joshua. A, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 6-12 months ago.
    • Erick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    A+ Rating

    I contacted Erick Platten about purchasing Fire Arms ( 2nd Amendment ). I was unsure if i was going to qualify for purchasing a fire arm. Mr. Platten quick response and easy to work with helped me out to the fullest and checked if there were any problems in my background I passed with flying colors.

    Mr. Platten = Highly Responsive and Trustworthy!!!!

    Again thanks for all your help Erick Platten
    Awesome Job!!

  8. Saved My Life

    Posted by JimmyN, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my Violent Crime matter.

    I'm a minister and an educator and my life was turned upside down when a child accused me of horrible things. I didn't know what to do so I did my research and hired Erick. Erick told me that I was facing some serious charges that could have ruined my life. But, he told me he would do everything he could to help me.
    There were so many court dates and hearings before there was supposed to be a trial. I was depressed and it was the worst time of my life but I felt I was in good hands with Erick fighting beside me in court.
    Erick had experts from all over coming in and testifying about what this child said on a video and argued that the case should be dismissed because everything that was being said didn't match any evidence from hospital records.
    Ultimately the case was dismissed by the judge before trial. After it was dismissed the DA tried to get the judge to open the case again but Erick fought against that too.
    I never thought I would be in such a situation in my life but I'm so thankful for the hard work Erick did to win my case. Thank you Erick. JimmyN

  9. absolutely the worst lawyer ever

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I work in Afghanistan and had handle my dui case.. Worse decision I have ever made, next to driving drunk. I had to deal with his secretary, who never return phone calls or emails, not did she ever forward any messages to Erick. I never talked to Erick until I had a warrant for him missing my court date, which he blamed on the system for failing to let him know. To Which I explained, I let his secretary know of the court date change. After calling and leaving a angry message he contracted me for the first time, saying he would take care of it. I explained how crucial it was, because my job depended on it. The next day he somehow tricked the court, into thinking it was their mistake.. In which they overturned my warrant.. On the day of my mandatory court appearance, I found out that Mr Platten never reviewed the police video, and requested a future court date, which was denied..they did allow him an hour to review the tape..so he was able to view the video for ten minutes before telling me the only thing he could do is maybe talk to the DA. Due to my strict time schedule, I was not able to do probation, so I had to serve jail time. Which was not long. The day I was suppose to turn myself in to go to jail, I found out I had to appear in court for sentencing, and he was suppose to be present. The judge allowed me to contract my lawyer...he fail to return my calls, nor did his secretary. So I have up my rights to have my lawyer present and was sentenced to jail without him. Some months I found the state had issued t that I have an interlock system installed on my truck to drive even thigh the court didn't require it... I called him to have him figure out what was going , and to have him take care of the paperwork to send to the state stating it was not part of my court order... Which he and his secretary failed to do....which I am now having to deal with myself... For this guy being the number one dui lawyer, I would not recommend him.. The whole thing was a compete waste of $5000.

  10. R. McCurley

    Posted by Rick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Erick Platten.
    • I hired Erick 1-3 years ago.
    • Erick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had never been in need of a criminal defense lawyer and I called Erick Platten which I've been knowing for 30 plus years. He got me out of jail in 1 hour. He told me every step of the way, what to do and what not to do. He was with me every step of the way. I could call him day or night 24/7/s and he told me we would win this case and we did without going to court. I would recommend this eager, aggressive attorney any day.

    Thanks Erick you're the best!!!!!

Call now. Erick Platten will protect your rights and get you the justice you deserve.

903-570-8248