Thomas Lane Hooton’s Reviews

Thomas Lane Hooton

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Tom Hooton is an Amazing Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.

    Being charged with a DWI was the worst experience of my life. Dealing with the entire legal system and the many "crook" attorneys trying to get my "business" was probably the second worst. Judging by many different reviews of other attorneys on on this website, I'm not the only one who has maybe had a very bad experience with a defense attorney...but TOM HOOTON IS A GREAT ATTORNEY.

    Tom was responsive from day one, and never stopped being responsive. He took the time to answer my many questions, all the while being respectful, and helping me to ultimately make the best decisions for me and my family.

    But don't let his wonderful "bedside manner" fool you. When it came time to deal with the DA and courts, he flat got down to business.

    Jail time and HUGE fines are not uncommon for DWI offenses. As a citizen and father of two, Tom understood what is at stake for me and family and truly took it upon himself to go to bat for us. Not only did I get a better deal than I could have dreamed of in my situation (probation, NO JAIL time), but he got another related charge completely DISMISSED and the DWI reduced to a Class B Misdemeanor. I now even have a chance to fight for non-disclosure of my offense, and I have no doubts that his tenacity and expertise will help us find success there as well.

    In short, I can honestly say that he takes a personal interest in clients and will FIGHT when needed in order to ensure the best possible outcome for his client.

    Because of his expertise, experience, customer service, and sheer will to fight for his client, I would recommend Tom Hooton to ANYONE in need of DWI representation.

  2. NOT GUILTY!!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.

    Mr. Hooton represented myself during the long 16 months of my life that I will never forget. Due to his Dedication and knowledge, we obtained NOT GUILTY. It was a pleasure working with you Tom, thank you again for everything you did.

    1. Thomas Lane Hooton

      Thomas Hooton

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was a blood test case. The results were two times over the legal limit. The defendant was accused of bumping the complaints car. I cross examined the state's expert on the science involved and proved that their testing was flawed. The jury found my client not guilty.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  3. great lawyer

    Posted by Chad H, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great lawyer with no .bs i thought. He had two DWI cases completely dismissed. One of the cases they drew blood and i had a wreck. The other case i fired my first lawyer and hired Tom to get it dismissed. I thought his pricing was fair. All in all a great guy to have on ur side.

  4. Outstanding DWI lawyer

    Posted by Jeromy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tom represented me in a DWI case in Rockwall County and I was found Not Guilty. If you need DWI representation in the Dallas area Tom is one of the best in the business. He knows the law and just flat out gets results.

  5. I am satisfied!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was new in there and I felt myself extremely uncomfortable with all this procedure.
    Mr. Hooton leaded me through all this procedure with extreme attention and politeness.
    I always could obtain from him so necessary support and strength.
    I felt myself very safe over all procedure and now I feel myself excellent.
    Thank you Mr. Hooton!

  6. Got my DWI case dismissed!

    Posted by Roy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Tom Hooton represented me on my DWI case. He got my DWI case dismissed. My breath test result was over .08 I recommend him highly!

  7. Unbelievable - Unfamiliar with the case on Trial Date

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After receiving a DUI 3 years ago, Tom suggested we delayed the trial as long as possible, hoping witnesses would move away. Keep in mind, Tom was earning a fee every 3 months when we showed up to court and requested more time.

    When the judge would no longer grant extensions, the trial date approached. Sure enough, the witnesses showed up and we could either go to trial or take a plea deal. The plea deal that was offered at this point was worse than if I went to trial. However, because Tom wasn't ready, I had to take a plea deal.

    Just so you get an understand of how awful the deal was, the judge looked at the deal and said "that's too harsh" and reduced the plea deal. Why is the judge giving me a better deal than my lawyer could get?

    In the end, I wasted a lot of money and was left with few options. Please, for your own sake, avoid this lawyer.

  8. Awesome DUI Attorney

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Tom Hooton was able to keep me out of jail, my brother out of jail, and my son out of jail. Need I even say more? The man is fantastic when it comes to being a DUI lawyer. It’s his hard work and dedication to his practice that kept the three of us out of jail on separate occasions. Obviously my family’s track record is not great when it comes to drinking and driving, but if you’re in search of a great DWI attorney, then I suggest Tom Hooton without a doubt! It was evident that his reputation preceded him upon his arrival to the courthouse.

  9. Another Win For Tom Hooton

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    For starterFor starters, drinking and driving is is one of the most unintelligent decisions someone in this day and age can make. One, because you'll never get away with it, and two because you are putting everyone around you in danger. I am truly very sorry for what I have done, and thank the lord no one was hurt. Thomas Hooton is a great DWI attorney! If it wasn't for him, my family would be in a very sticky situation right now. His knowledge of the field was quite apparent which just continued to boost my confidence in him throughout the trial. Needless to say, I'm not behind bars, my kids still have their Dad, and I'm here typing this review to show my appreciation as opposed to what the other outcome may have been. Thanks a lot Mr. Hooton, my family and I really owe you one!

  10. USE THOMAS HOOTON FOR DUI/DWI CASE!!!

    Posted by Will Nevola, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Dating back a few months ago my son Jarrod received his second DUI. My wife and I were very unhappy with this as we thought we raised him to be better than that. With that being said, a friend referred us to use Thomas Hooton for our lawyer since our first time around didn't turn out so pleasant. We took their advice and thank God we did!!

    Jarrod did not have to go to jail! Without Mr. Hooton's demeanor and reputation, I don't think our outcome would have been so nice. He was so professional in the courtroom, refused to plea Jarrod guilty, and kept us well informed throughout the whole trial!

    I give him an A++ ranking and strongly recommend his services to anyone in need of a DUI/DWI defense attorney!

214-328-9957