Thomas Lane Hooton’s Reviews

Thomas Lane Hooton

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome DUI Attorney

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Tom Hooton was able to keep me out of jail, my brother out of jail, and my son out of jail. Need I even say more? The man is fantastic when it comes to being a DUI lawyer. It’s his hard work and dedication to his practice that kept the three of us out of jail on separate occasions. Obviously my family’s track record is not great when it comes to drinking and driving, but if you’re in search of a great DWI attorney, then I suggest Tom Hooton without a doubt! It was evident that his reputation preceded him upon his arrival to the courthouse.

  2. Another Win For Tom Hooton

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    For starterFor starters, drinking and driving is is one of the most unintelligent decisions someone in this day and age can make. One, because you'll never get away with it, and two because you are putting everyone around you in danger. I am truly very sorry for what I have done, and thank the lord no one was hurt. Thomas Hooton is a great DWI attorney! If it wasn't for him, my family would be in a very sticky situation right now. His knowledge of the field was quite apparent which just continued to boost my confidence in him throughout the trial. Needless to say, I'm not behind bars, my kids still have their Dad, and I'm here typing this review to show my appreciation as opposed to what the other outcome may have been. Thanks a lot Mr. Hooton, my family and I really owe you one!

  3. USE THOMAS HOOTON FOR DUI/DWI CASE!!!

    Posted by Will Nevola, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Dating back a few months ago my son Jarrod received his second DUI. My wife and I were very unhappy with this as we thought we raised him to be better than that. With that being said, a friend referred us to use Thomas Hooton for our lawyer since our first time around didn't turn out so pleasant. We took their advice and thank God we did!!

    Jarrod did not have to go to jail! Without Mr. Hooton's demeanor and reputation, I don't think our outcome would have been so nice. He was so professional in the courtroom, refused to plea Jarrod guilty, and kept us well informed throughout the whole trial!

    I give him an A++ ranking and strongly recommend his services to anyone in need of a DUI/DWI defense attorney!

  4. Need a DUI Lawyer in Dallas, TX? Thomas Hooton Is The Man For The Job!!!

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Hooton was the best lawyer experience I have ever had. Hands down, plain and simple. He makes sure he understands you as a client. He is very easy to talk to, and puts you in a position where you can feel at ease given the situation you are in. My favorite part about having him as my lawyer was the fact that he always showed up EARLY for court and kept me filled in with everything! Also, the fact that he always returned my phone calls in a very timely manner was a plus as well.

    Other lawyers I have had in the past are never on time, and that is not something that you want to be worrying about when going to face the judge. Mr. Hooten's promptness, as well as his skill-set kept me out of jail. And for that I thank you, my company thanks you, and my family thanks you!

    If you are an individual like myself who has a great deal to lose from this one poor decision you have regrettably made (drinking and driving), then Mr. Thomas Hooton is the man you need to speak with!
    He's down to earth, respectful and genuine. Not to mention, HE GETS THE JOB DONE. I had very high expectations, and Mr. Hooton exceeded every last one of them.

    I give him a Five-Star rating without question, and I certainly recommend his services to anyone in need. Hope this review helps!

  5. Well, that was not the worst thing thats ever happened to me

    Posted by Anna B., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My family is so pissed at me for getting a DWI but they bailed me out by paying for my lawyer. They are still pissed at me but since Tom took care of all the work and helped get me out of jail time they are a lot happier with me now. I'm still going to be able to graduate and so then hopefully we'll never talk about this again but if you're looking for a good lawyer then Tom will help you out and your life won't be ruined. Probably best if you don't tell your family though they don't even need to know.

  6. Thomas Saved My Reputation.

    Posted by Mary, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am incredibly grateful for all of the help provided by the courteous and considerate Mr. Hooton. I am well-respected in my community and was devastated to learn how having a couple drinks at my company's Christmas party could undo years of quality work and trust. Thomas reminded me that I wasn't the only one who had experienced such a traumatic event, and he helped keep me centered and grounded. He was able to significantly reduce the negative impact of this event on my life, and for that I am so very appreciative.

  7. I got a DUI thankfully I found Hooton for my lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I couldn't believe I got a DUI usually I am not like that and I really felt fine but they said at the checkpoint that I was over the legal limit and then I thought I was going to lose my job. Thankfully Hooton put so much hard work into my case and I am so grateful that I didn't get charged with what I was going to at first. I didn't even get my license suspended... so it all turned out ok after all. What a relief.

  8. BE Your own advocate!!!!

    Posted by Carly, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My son got a DWI in september of last year-2012. Since we have no experience with this type of case. we thot we needed some legal advice. Ask calling Hooten we arranged a meeting. His address was wrong and he failed to mention that. So we headed to Dallas and couldnt find the address. so we called his cell phone, guess what no answer. So we drove around. Finally a call back. Got the right address. Felt horrible that we were 15 mins late. Got to his office. he was not even there. Should have listened to my women's intuition. We proceded with our consultation. He talked a good talk we gave him $1500 for a RETAINER!!! BIG MISTAKE!!!!! We tried to call him and find out our court date. NO RESPONSE!!!! Got the cort date. HE said we did'nt have to be there. BIG MISTAKE!!!!! month after month $500 after $500 we did this. No information accept next court date you don't have to be there. Finally I had had enough. I told him we would be there. He did't seem to like that. WE FIRED HIM on the spot standing infront of the Judge. Let me explain something. My son works out of state. I am his mother and I live in dallas so I was doing some of the leg work for my son. When we went to court we were told my son was supposed to plea. REALLY???? he was told not to come to court. BOTTOM LINE we are out $$000 to be told by the Judge that my sons DWI (his one and only) was a MISDEMEANOR!!!! A FREAKING $5000 MISDEMEANOR!!!! We are now going back to court after 8 months and using a Public Defender. BE your own advocate. Ask questions!!! Ask someone at the court house to explain your case to you. Understand your case before ever giving anyone any money.

    1. Thomas Lane Hooton

      Thomas Hooton

      Lawyer Comment:

      They hired me to fight the case and go to trial, not plead him guilty. They decided to plead guilty and I told them that I don't do that, and to get a court appointed attorney. The bottom line is they did not want to pay me for the trial.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  9. A great, well seasoned attorney with repeat, satisfied clients.

    Posted by John, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I have tried several cases with Mr. Hooton and he is a very professional and seasoned attorney with a plethora of experience. We have repeat, satisfied clients and I think that speaks for itself. DWIs are a long, tedious, and expensive process. I'm proud to stand next to Mr. Hooton.

  10. Excellent DWI attorney

    Posted by Phillip, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I have know this lawyer for over 20 years. He is very intelligent and hard working. He does an outstanding job representing his clients. He is aggressive in trial and gets great results. I have referred many clients to him and they have all been extremely happy.