Thomas Lane Hooton’s Reviews

Thomas Lane Hooton

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. great lawyer

    Posted by Chad H, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great lawyer with no .bs i thought. He had two DWI cases completely dismissed. One of the cases they drew blood and i had a wreck. The other case i fired my first lawyer and hired Tom to get it dismissed. I thought his pricing was fair. All in all a great guy to have on ur side.

  2. Outstanding DWI lawyer

    Posted by Jeromy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Tom represented me in a DWI case in Rockwall County and I was found Not Guilty. If you need DWI representation in the Dallas area Tom is one of the best in the business. He knows the law and just flat out gets results.

  3. I am satisfied!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was new in there and I felt myself extremely uncomfortable with all this procedure.
    Mr. Hooton leaded me through all this procedure with extreme attention and politeness.
    I always could obtain from him so necessary support and strength.
    I felt myself very safe over all procedure and now I feel myself excellent.
    Thank you Mr. Hooton!

  4. Got my DWI case dismissed!

    Posted by Roy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Tom Hooton represented me on my DWI case. He got my DWI case dismissed. My breath test result was over .08 I recommend him highly!

  5. Unbelievable - Unfamiliar with the case on Trial Date

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After receiving a DUI 3 years ago, Tom suggested we delayed the trial as long as possible, hoping witnesses would move away. Keep in mind, Tom was earning a fee every 3 months when we showed up to court and requested more time.

    When the judge would no longer grant extensions, the trial date approached. Sure enough, the witnesses showed up and we could either go to trial or take a plea deal. The plea deal that was offered at this point was worse than if I went to trial. However, because Tom wasn't ready, I had to take a plea deal.

    Just so you get an understand of how awful the deal was, the judge looked at the deal and said "that's too harsh" and reduced the plea deal. Why is the judge giving me a better deal than my lawyer could get?

    In the end, I wasted a lot of money and was left with few options. Please, for your own sake, avoid this lawyer.

  6. Awesome DUI Attorney

    Posted by Daniel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Tom Hooton was able to keep me out of jail, my brother out of jail, and my son out of jail. Need I even say more? The man is fantastic when it comes to being a DUI lawyer. It’s his hard work and dedication to his practice that kept the three of us out of jail on separate occasions. Obviously my family’s track record is not great when it comes to drinking and driving, but if you’re in search of a great DWI attorney, then I suggest Tom Hooton without a doubt! It was evident that his reputation preceded him upon his arrival to the courthouse.

  7. Another Win For Tom Hooton

    Posted by Aaron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    For starterFor starters, drinking and driving is is one of the most unintelligent decisions someone in this day and age can make. One, because you'll never get away with it, and two because you are putting everyone around you in danger. I am truly very sorry for what I have done, and thank the lord no one was hurt. Thomas Hooton is a great DWI attorney! If it wasn't for him, my family would be in a very sticky situation right now. His knowledge of the field was quite apparent which just continued to boost my confidence in him throughout the trial. Needless to say, I'm not behind bars, my kids still have their Dad, and I'm here typing this review to show my appreciation as opposed to what the other outcome may have been. Thanks a lot Mr. Hooton, my family and I really owe you one!

  8. USE THOMAS HOOTON FOR DUI/DWI CASE!!!

    Posted by Will Nevola, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Dating back a few months ago my son Jarrod received his second DUI. My wife and I were very unhappy with this as we thought we raised him to be better than that. With that being said, a friend referred us to use Thomas Hooton for our lawyer since our first time around didn't turn out so pleasant. We took their advice and thank God we did!!

    Jarrod did not have to go to jail! Without Mr. Hooton's demeanor and reputation, I don't think our outcome would have been so nice. He was so professional in the courtroom, refused to plea Jarrod guilty, and kept us well informed throughout the whole trial!

    I give him an A++ ranking and strongly recommend his services to anyone in need of a DUI/DWI defense attorney!

  9. Need a DUI Lawyer in Dallas, TX? Thomas Hooton Is The Man For The Job!!!

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Hooton was the best lawyer experience I have ever had. Hands down, plain and simple. He makes sure he understands you as a client. He is very easy to talk to, and puts you in a position where you can feel at ease given the situation you are in. My favorite part about having him as my lawyer was the fact that he always showed up EARLY for court and kept me filled in with everything! Also, the fact that he always returned my phone calls in a very timely manner was a plus as well.

    Other lawyers I have had in the past are never on time, and that is not something that you want to be worrying about when going to face the judge. Mr. Hooten's promptness, as well as his skill-set kept me out of jail. And for that I thank you, my company thanks you, and my family thanks you!

    If you are an individual like myself who has a great deal to lose from this one poor decision you have regrettably made (drinking and driving), then Mr. Thomas Hooton is the man you need to speak with!
    He's down to earth, respectful and genuine. Not to mention, HE GETS THE JOB DONE. I had very high expectations, and Mr. Hooton exceeded every last one of them.

    I give him a Five-Star rating without question, and I certainly recommend his services to anyone in need. Hope this review helps!

  10. Well, that was not the worst thing thats ever happened to me

    Posted by Anna B., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Hooton.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My family is so pissed at me for getting a DWI but they bailed me out by paying for my lawyer. They are still pissed at me but since Tom took care of all the work and helped get me out of jail time they are a lot happier with me now. I'm still going to be able to graduate and so then hopefully we'll never talk about this again but if you're looking for a good lawyer then Tom will help you out and your life won't be ruined. Probably best if you don't tell your family though they don't even need to know.