Jerome Neal Stein’s Reviews

Jerome Neal Stein

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jerome is a very caring attorney, he treats you like family, and he is always willing to listen. He has served as our attorney for years and we are very happy with him. He is there to serve you and help you in any way he can. He is very professional and knows his job well. I would highly recommend him to others. He is not like my previous attorney only out for the money, he is willing to work with you and he gets the job done:)

  2. Experienced, Honest, Calming & Compassionate.

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 6-12 months ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    I thought I was going to be able to weather the storm in my marriage as I had done in the past, but that would not be the case. I was definitely caught by surprised when I was finally served in December and I had mixed emotions and lots of questions. After looking exhaustively for a lawyer I went with an expert referral and chose Jerome.
    Immediately there was a calm/compassion I was seeking in representation regarding this difficult time in my life. In addition his experience in the court shows. In preparation, any questions I had via email, phone, with the office or in person were answered in a timely manner. Don't be afraid or procrastinate, Jerome's office will guide you through the process. Although my case is not over, I know the preparation and hearings up to now have addressed my children's best interests. The office has made sure I am aware of important documents, dates, court decisions, & classes. Remember to keep your head up and be honest with the office about your situation, each case is different. At the end of the day it is up to you to find peace and dignity again.

  3. A custody case we never thought we could win...

    Posted by Charlene, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    Jerome was a God send! We were at our wits end. We had talked to other lawyers that told us we didn't have a snowballs chance in you know where of winning custody of a biological child and one that wasn't biological. I sent an email out on one of the lawyer sites and Jerome answered! Thank The Lord he did! It was a tough fight covering a couple of states but in the end he did it! He and his staff were so reliable, kind, caring and comforting...and worked with us financially. He was honest and told us everything we had to do and we followed his directives and we got custody! I love Mr. Stein for making that happen for my grandkids!! If you want a lawyer that will work hard for you, then call Jerome, we are sure glad we did! Thank you Jerome!!!

    1. Jerome Neal Stein

      Jerome Stein

      Lawyer Comment:

      What a great honor it was to work with you and your family to bring these children from darkness to the bright light of your family's warmth and love.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  4. Disapearing Lawyer

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    I am not sure about the falling asleep part like one of the other reviewers posted, but I do know about the taking your money part. Fortunately I did not have to go to court, so his services were no longer needed. I have been owed money from Jerome for over a year and he does not respond to emails, calls, texts or even messages anymore. Even the ones I left with his receptionist from my visits. My next move has been to file a grievance with the Texas Bar. I will let them deal with him. To be honest I would not trust him with anything!!

    1. Jerome Neal Stein

      Jerome Stein

      Lawyer Comment:

      i always respond to message and calls. My number one priority is to keep in touch with people.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  5. Jerome takes your money then sleeps on the job and in court

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    this man falls asleep when you are pleading for him to fight to get your kids back. He acts like he is on some serious drugs. He even fell asleep in court. there is a reason he is so calm, because he dont care!!! he makes you do all the thinking. you have to contact him over and over again to fill him back in on your case because once he gets your money he thinks the job is over. then charges you when you he talks to you asking questions you have already told him. I have represented myself for 3 years and won every time yet with jerome I lost my kids to a felon child abuser.

    1. Jerome Neal Stein

      Jerome Stein

      Lawyer Comment:

      it is imperative that a party follow the orders and direction of the Court and counsel. Unfortunately, cases do not go the way one would wish when orders are not obeyed and advice not followed.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  6. An outstanding choice

    Posted by GerryCollins, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I highly recommend Jerome Stein. As a father of three children, Jerome has allowed me to navigate the very complex world of divorce and mediation. He prevented the situation from ever really impacting my daughters by helping me both in and out of the court room. Jerome operates with high integrity and hard work ethic. His services were invaluable though the process of modification, social study, co parent counseling, and mediation.

  7. Honest, Affective and Experienced in the courtroom!

    Posted by Kimberly, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Child Custody matter.

    We worked with him almost 18 months and I can honestly say he was really dedicated and was "all in" regarding our story and our case. He truly cares enough to ask the right questions and actually listens to and remembers your answers. We had a very complex case involving custody and real estate and at all times he was honest and set clear expectations. He is an experienced, knowledgable lawyer with a great team to back him up. He was a tremendous help to our family and we will always be very grateful.

  8. A Super Hero For Sure!

    Posted by Penny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had another attorney that was working on my divorce case. We were at the end and all she had to do was type the decree and both me and my ex had agreed to everything. Well after FOUR months I had not received anything. I started putting pressure on her. This should have been final after 90 days it was such slam dunk. Then she sent me an e-mail saying that she was not a cattle call attorney and we bascially fired each other on the same day. Well..I found Jerome on some lawyer website. after telling him the situation..he said the same thing...it should have been typed and done. But by now..my ex was 'talking' to everyone and suddenly all that we agreed on was no longer what he wanted. due to her negligence..we now had a battle on our hands. Jerome was awesome in helping me get what I wanted. What should have been a 90 day turn around now became an 11 month ordeal. He was so patient, returned phone calls and kept me updated. He made me feel really special like I was his only client. He really helped me in a time where I needed some real 'support' and therefore consider him my superhero as I wouldnt have gotten things settled so smoothly without his help. Even after the divorce if I needed legal help in regards to my ex or my children he was always willing to dicuss the situaion with me to see if we had a case. I always joke with him that I wish I could do business with him again. But then that means I'd have to get married again....and that's not happening anytime soon!!! When it was all over- in the elevator after leaving court he gave me some advice I have carried with me since.."dont ever let anyone tell you that you are difficult to deal with-cuz you're NOT!." You see my ex had told me all through our marriage that I was a difficult person to deal with and I shared this with him on our very first visit..and he remembered. So after working with me...and seeing what that man put US through...he realized...I needed some reassurance and that meant the world to me. So I highly recommend Jerome Stein. The End!

  9. I wish I knew Jerome 5 years ago.......

    Posted by Dawn, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome 1-3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was lost and had already gone through two attorneys. I was not happy with the results. I started to do my own research on selecting attorneys and I found Jerome Stein. I hired Jerome based on his reviews and our meeting. He really listened to me and my concerns and I was extremely satisfied with his results. He arranged a settlement that I honestly never thought would happen since my case had been open for almost 5 years. I wish I would have known him 5 years ago.

  10. In the time of need

    Posted by Michael C., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jerome Stein.
    • I hired Jerome more than 3 years ago.
    • Jerome handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been fortunate to have you and your staff on my team representing me through my very difficult life changing situation. Your hard work and determination has allowed me to move on to the next phase of my life with peace and dignity.