Thomas James Daley’s Reviews

Thomas James Daley

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Daley

    Posted by Robin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Daley's firm provided superior service. Responses were prompt and consultations were thorough. I would highly recommend using Mr. Daley's firm.

  2. Great to have on your side

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I could not be happier with Mr. Daley's representation in my case. He totally outclassed and outmaneuvered the opposing lawyer. It was awesome to watch and am just glad he was on my side!

  3. Cool, Friendly, Smart

    Posted by Carlyle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Tom handled my divorce case. I was referred to him by a friend. My husband had filed divorce on me and wanted to take my kids away even though he never helped with them. When I met Tom, he told me the first thing, "If nothing else, when you leave here today, you are going to understand the process and feel much more confident." I did. He tried to get an agreement for temporary orders but my husband's attorney kept saying that my ex was going to get full custody and make me pay child support. Tom went to the hearing and the judge said we could each side have 20 minutes. LOL!! Tom told the judge he only needed 11 minutes. He used just over 10 minutes. We got what we came to get on that day. After that, my husband and his attorney became much easier to work with and we settled our case fairly soon. Divorce is a tough time in a family's life. Tom is funny, smart, and he is really looking out for what he calls the "long game." He kept telling me to stop worrying about each and every day and focus on how this was going to work out 1 year, 2 years, 10 years from now. Now that we're done, I see that he was right. I would surely use him again and I will tell everyone I know that you just can't find a better firm to work with.

  4. Lacks A Heart!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I'm not even sure what to say? Much like my ex husband, he said
    Everything I wanted to hear, earned my trust... Only to take my money
    And not return my phone calls! I thought the most painful part of
    Getting divorced would be fighting with my ex husband, I would have
    Never expected it would be fighting with my own attorney that I paid to
    Defend me?! All attorneys are in cahoots with each other... And they are
    The only ones who win in these horrible situations.
    If you have to hire an attorney... Keep looking! He may know the laws well
    And know just what to say to make you trust him... But he doesn't care about
    The safety of women and children. All he cares about is his appearance, his ego...
    And money.

  5. Made my divorce quick and easy

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tom was extremely knowledgeable throughout the entire process. He never missed a beat. He kept me informed and made the entire process easier than I thought was ever imaginable. I have already recommended him to 2 of my friends.

  6. Smart, Hard-Working Attorney with a Heart

    Posted by Jennifer, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tom Daley handled my case with professionalism and knowledge of the law that, in the end, leaned the court in my favor. At trial, he showed up completely prepared and focused. He did not barage the other party with personal attacks or nasty remarks; instead, he kept to the facts and presented my case to the judge with precision and compassion. Tom was very easy to work with, was prompt, was understanding, and obviously has a passion for the work. I appreciated that very much. It was comforting to know I had someone in my corner. He counseled me on all possible outcomes, positive and negative, but in the end, he supported my ultimate decision. I would recommend Tom to my friends, family, and anyone else who is looking for a smart, hard-working attorney with a heart.

  7. Velvet Hammer

    Posted by Sean, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had a lot of problems with depression, alcohol, pills, and stuff. But I'm a good dad. But my ex doesn't think so. She got a new boyfriend and was ready to just kick me out of my kids lives. A friend of mine recommended Tom Daley. I met with him a few days later and he told me some hard things to hear. He told me I was a F* up, but that if I would do what he said, he could protect my rights--but that it was going to be a team effort. I did not want to hear that, but I now know that he was right. Every time my ex would bring some new charges against me and I would want to freak out, Tom would say, "Be calm. This story only ends one way: You will have a normal relationship with your children. Just keep working the program." That's exactly what I did and guess what? I now have nearly 50 50 wtih my ex. I called Tom the velvet hammer because I heard that terms one time and it fits him. He never seems to get too upset, but when it's time for battle, he shows up prepared. He definitely knws the law better than anyone else in the courtroom and he just keeps hammering away. After two bad beatings in the courtroom, my ex and her attorney decided to start negotiating with us and that's when things started to go my way. Tom was not cheap. I talked to other attorneys who said they would charge less. But if I have to work 3 jobs, that is what i will do to have an attorney like this. His staff is patient and kind and very responsive, even when he is in trial for days i can still get through to a live person. If you think your case is hopeless, this is the guy you need to call.

  8. Settled My Case Quickly

    Posted by Farid, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My ex was mentally and sometimes physically abusing my children but lives two states away. I could not find a single attorney who would take my case. I found Mr. Daley on AVVO, called his office, and they set up an appointment right away. When we met, he told me I had a tough case and that it was likely that my ex would pop the case to her home state as soon as we filed. But even with these warnings, I wanted to proceed. Within 10 days he had filed the paperwork, gotten an emergency order and a hearing set. On the date of the hearing, he convinced the other attorney to try to mediate the case and called a mediator (former judge) from the courthouse and set up mediation for 9:00 a.m. the very next day. We settled our case that morning and my kids are now living with me in Texas. He warned me that not all cases can be wrapped up so quickly. But before I met him, I didn't know that ANY could be!

  9. Terrible

    Posted by Sam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Weak, ineffective and only pretends to care. Reactive instead of proactive and affords the opposing counsel all kinds of time and opportunity to outmaneuver him in every step. Does nothing to fight for you and puts you in a very weak position then pushes you hard to settle. Does not communicate except to notify you of bad news. When confronted he drops you and makes you pay for his withdrawal. You do NOT want such a lawyer respresenting you. My new lawyer was able to take my case and immediately turn it around in my favor. I came out on top after almost losing everything with Tom J. Daley.

  10. Best Advice and Brilliant Attorney

    Posted by Jessica, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Daley.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thomas James Daley has been helping me for over a year in so many ways I lost count many many months ago. His insight into family law is invaluable to me and will be to anyone who seeks his help or is blessed enough to receive it by chance.
    I look forward to hearing from Thomas when I have a legal question related to my family law matters and he's brought me so much peace of mind, courage to face very trying situations and insight that allows me to prepare for the worst, which unfortunately happens a lot with my case. He's never cold or condescending and I can tell he really cares about helping others, which is so very hard to find in this profession!
    I thank you Thomas from the bottom of my heart!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

972-985-4448