John J. Pfister Jr.’s Reviews

John J. Pfister Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Perfect Family Law Attorney!

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have used Mr. Pfister on a few occasions with my children. He has extensive knowledge of the court system and gives honest options as to what to expect throughout the process. His staff is knowledgable yet will tell you if they don't have the answer and will get back to you either with an answer or with information that they simply can't answer that question at that stage of your case.

  2. Run, Don't Walk Away from this Guy.....

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    If you want a highly contested, bitter, expensive divorce to appear out of nowhere with a very simple divorce, even with a willing divorce partner, John is your guy. Any contact with him I felt like I was bothering him and wasting his time, but he certainly billed me. Every single timeline, response, and answer from my ex wifes attorney he literally waited to the last possible minute to respond, creating an incredible, actually amazing, amount of animosity between him and what was once a willing party. The one court date we had, I was shocked at how angry, beligerant, and angry the other attorney was with him, and she mentioned it was due to his lack of communication, response, coordination, etc. He prefers to prolong, aggravate, and initiate conflict so he can bill you till your wallet is empty. What little hope that I had of mending my marriage at the last minute, I believe his actions helped slam that door shut. Oh, and yes, I caught him and his paralegal in numerous stretches of the truth, and had supporting evidence to substantiate it. One of the worst decisions I've ever made.

  3. Wonderful Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Jason, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.

    I used Mr. Pfister for my highly contested divorce. Mr. Pfister listened to my concerns, offered his professional advice and provided me with a plan of action. Mr. Pfister and his staff were very helpful throughout the entire process. We ended up with a full blown trial in Dallas County. Mr. Pfister helped me, as a father, gain primary custody of my 3 minor children. For that I will be forever grateful to him and his staff.

  4. Do not give this man one penny

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.

    Do not hire this attorney or the firm. You pay for the attorney but almost all of the work (which is mostly inaccurate and incompetent) is done by Jolie, his paralegal. He does not respond to his clients or other attorneys. The responses a client does happen to receive come from once again, his incompetent paralegal. You will not be able to settle anything outside of court due to the fact that he will not work with opposing attorneys. You will have to pay for him to go to court. He seems to have minimal knowledge or care for his cases and the actual children involved and affected and shows up at court with an indifferent and inattentive demeanor doing the least possible he can.

  5. Takes your money and does NOT help

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I gave him thousands of dollars after he promised to do my divorce but once I paid him I spent the next 5 months begging him and his staff for help with what should have been and open and shut case. I ended up having to FIRE him and pay another lawyer ALL OVER AGAIN. The new lawyer then pointed out that the few pieces of paperwork they did file were all wrong so I literally had to pay for TWO divorces and it took me over a year what Mr. Pfister promised would take less than 4 months tops because of my situation. ALSO BEWARE OF THE POST STATING ALL THE REVIEWS - This is mass posted on every review site out there from one of his employees.

  6. Wouldn't want anyone else...

    Posted by R. Palmer, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Pfister is by far the best Family Law Attorney in Frisco. He has represented my husband in his custody case (ongoing) as well as getting final orders in my custody case. He keeps in touch , keeps us updated, is honest and gives great advice. We couldn't be more pleased with the outcome of every Court appearance thus far.

    John does love a good fight (he is like a bull- he doesn't back down) and does command attention and respect, but the one thing I would never say is that he is in it for the money. The money is just a plus. He is a father himself and he genuinely cares about the children and parents that he represents.

    John and his staff have become more than just our "Attorney and his staff". We consider them friend's, even family. We wouldn't be where we are today (an awesome family of 6) without them. They are all blessings. If you need someone to help you fight for your rights as a parent or just protect your children, John is your guy.

  7. Disappointing experience

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Definitely knows the ins and outs of family law, but Mr. Pfister didn't give much time and attention to my case. He's not worth the money he charges.

  8. never contacted me.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called this guy and his office for 1.5 years and he returned one call. Oh, and he charged a retainer of 4k.

  9. Failure to Launch

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Most distasteful undertaking of my life. Pawned us off on an intern that left after hours and hours of meetings so we had to go through it again. Failed to file suit. Failed be meet with witness. Failed to deliver evidence to court. Even fell asleep during our meetings.

  10. Outstanding advocate, knows the law like nobody's business

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Pfister.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Pfister is the best family law attorney I've ever hired, period.

    He is extremely sharp-- knows the Texas Family Code so well it he must have the entire manual memorized! He knows all the deadlines, the filing procedures, pleading requirements, and what's practical in your case.

    Where he really shines is the courtroom. John has a great command presence when arguing. At one of my last hearings he basically took over from opposing counsel as she futilely tried to explain to the judge the remaining issues that day.

    A lawyer I had prior to John Pfister, also board certified, mentioned John as a "fighter." That's not an understatement. Against two attorneys, one who is a top legislator in the Texas House of Reps., he cleaned their clocks.

    But being a fighter doesn't mean he'll want to fight war on everything, which of course costs us as clients a lot of money. He seems to want to pick the best battles, which I appreciated.

    I hired shadow jurors to take notes at my hearings, to give my honest, anonymous feedback. Here's what they had to say about John Pfister's performance:

    --
    "Your lawyer is a badass. He's slammed everything head on that (opposing parent) and her lawyer asked for. He certainly knows his stuff. Good call on
    hiring this guy. He knows his stuff and brought up everything
    ("everything" is underlined 3 times)

    "PITTBULL!" (yes, two T's)

    "He is doing a great job on the issues, and keeping the judge on points"

    "Intelligent, competitive"

    "John Pfister pretty much bulldozed right over Jim Dunnam"

    "Professional, direct, thorough, got to the real point and heart of the matter"

    "Is absolutely correct about the dad wanting to be a part of his son's
    health & growth as well as his sickness, if or when his is ill"

    "Medical care arguments are completely legitimate"

    "Appears that Dunnam did not present much evidence against Pfister in
    medical care issue"

    "In my limited experience with him, he seemed very businesslike, and
    refreshingly impartial. All he is asking for are the rights made
    standard to any parent by law"

    "Chattered too much, but knew what he was talking about"

    "Well-versed for 1st time on case"

    "good job!"

    "Competent, knows his material. Working for the best interest of the child"