Skip to main content
John Hunsucker

John Hunsucker’s Answers

232 total


  • Released from probation, but found out I have a probation violation. How is that possible?

    I was arrested of prostitution, done my 30 days in jail (1st time and only time offense), done my 1 yr probation, paid my fines, done my 80 hrs of community service and done drug counseling even though I wasn't on drugs or had drugs on my person w...

    John’s Answer

    If you received one year probation, I am assuming you we're in district court. You can search www.oscn.net and it may tell you why you the violation was filed. It may be as simple as you didn't send in the final report or pay your monthly probation fees. Depending on what it is, may be relatively easy to clear up. Good luck

    See question 
  • On a app to revoke ..what can be done to keep from going to prison?

    I didn't realize my bf hadn't paid his court stuff in a couple months...come to findbout he hadn't in four months now..he had. a suspended sentence for four yrs..

    John’s Answer

    If strictly failure to pay, the court will ant it caught up or some type of valid reason why it hasn't been paid. Most courts are not going to send someone to prison over a first time failure to pay if that is only issue.

    See question 
  • What are my rights being under supervised probation?

    misdemeanor marijuana and paraphernalia

    John’s Answer

    You should have been given some types of rules and conditions when you went on probation. I am assuming you are on DA supervised probation and they can give you a copy of them or your attorney. Being on probation, your rights are limited by the terms and conditions of probation.

    See question 
  • Can state of Oklahoma trial my 16 trae old as adult

    My son just turned 16 in march the da put a request to trial him as adult for Manmig and the state doctor even says she thinks he was so intoxicated he didn't realize remember it happen do you think they will trial him as adult

    John’s Answer

    Oklahoma can charge minors with certain crimes in adult court. However, a qualified attorney can challenge this under the youthful offender procedures.

    See question 
  • Marijuana possession laws. Can non using spouse be charged as well.

    I am wanting to try using marijuana for medical reasons and of course Oklahoma doesn't have medical marijuana. My wife is an rn and she is afraid if cops find the weed in our house she would get charged as well even though she is not using it (th...

    John’s Answer

    The court will look at whether she has dominion and control over the marijuana. She could definitely be charged and it could be detrimental to her rn license. Also, ok just passed a new DUI law that having marijuana metabolizes in your system when driving is per se a DUI.

    See question 
  • My sister is in jail for domestic abuse. Her bond was $5000.00 and we bailed her out 500.00 4 weeks later she get back with

    boyfriend and gets into another argument. she is back in jail for assault and battery. The judge denied her bond. Do we owe the bondsman the remainder of the $5000.00? thanks

    John’s Answer

    The purpose of paying a bondsman is to post the bond for you. They do this by posting a surety with the court. The bondsman charged you 500 fee to do this. That is their fee and how they make money. You would owe the bondsman the 5000 if sister no showed for court and the bondsman had to pay the court 5000. As she is back in custody, the bondsman should not have had to pay anything else so you would not owe the bondsmen anything else.

    See question 
  • Can police stop me for no seatbelt on a private road or can they just wait until I'm on a public road to pull me over?

    Was on a private road when the police saw me with no seatbelt on. I put my seatbelt on and proceeded to get on a public road when the police pulled me over!

    John’s Answer

    Based on the limited information, these facts would indicate that there could be a stop issue that could lead to suppression of the evidence. In Oklahoma, there isn't any requirement that you wear a seatbelt on a private road.

    See question 
  • How long can the court take a person to trail & convict a person. when does starting date and end? will rights be violated

    have been in county jail since july 2012 for 7 felony charges and haven't been convicted

    John’s Answer

    It is not unusual in OK for a case to take 1-2 years to make it to trial depending on the county. As far as his right to a speedy trial, they will give him one if he demands it. However, a lot of times cases are continued by the defendant for various reasons or there are time delays as the case goes through the system. It is possible to get to trial quicker but you may ended up losing your opportunities for trial motions etc that take time to flesh out and argue. The best person to ask will be his attorney as he/she will be the one most familiar with the case

    See question 
  • Is it illegal to be on the campus of a privately funded college if you are not a student?

    I was walking through a parking of a college campus which I think is privately funded and a police officer stopped, got out of his car and demanded to see my id. At first I didn't think I had to show any id but he told me I was on private propert...

    John’s Answer

    Not sure which college you are referring to but most of the private campuses in OK have signs posted at verious places. If it was Oklahoma City University on 23rd, their police department is actually state certified as a police agancy and as such, have the same abilities as any other police department. Their jurisdiction extends beyond their campus all the way from penn to near classen and 23rd up to NW 30th. The OCU police are very aggressive in contacting people on their campus.

    See question 
  • My Boyfriend Was Arrested For Possession of A fire arm and it was loaded and he was in a car when they were pulled over!?

    This his first case as an adult he had one when he was a juvenile for I think breaking in a house. A Delinquents

    John’s Answer

    Transporting a loaded firearm is a crime in Oklahoma. Your boyfriend should consult with a local criminal defense attorney in Tulsa. It is a misdeameanor crime that carries 10 days to six months in the county jail and/or a fine. Even though it carries jail, most cases like this end up in some type of probation depending on the facts of the case. Good luck

    See question