Lisa Douglas’s Reviews

Lisa Douglas

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Lawyer

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have used other lawyers and none compare to Lisa. She is top notch. She looked out for my interests and was fierce in the courtroom. You don't want to be on the other side of her cases. Lisa was always there for me and always kept me informed of everything going on in my case. She knew the law better than her opponents. I am so thankful I found her, she's truly a hidden gem. I can't say enough good things about what she did for me.

  2. Neutral Experience

    Posted by Jennifer, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • Lisa handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    My sister is how I found out about Douglas. My sister had hired her to handle a PP & PI claim for her a year ago and wasn't thrilled with the services provided. She mentioned that getting Lisa to actually call her back or keep her up-to-date about the status of her claim was like "pulling teeth without the dental tools." She also claimed that there were times that she asked her about a certain detail in the case and was not given the correct information.
    For me, my consultation wasn't all that much better. It took a few days to get a return phone call or email response. I initially called the office and her receptionist said she was out and would return my call shortly. "Shortly" turned into never, so I sent an email. The email was responded to, but it took almost the entire week and when she did she was dull in her response. I figured it was just the workload she might've been under, but I'm still unsure. Although, my review is honest and regardless of the fact that my rating is "average," that doesn't mean she might not help someone else. Given the proper timing, she possibly could've helped me as well. My sister might've not felt as if she could trust her to do what she was paid to do, but I can't say that for the next person. It's unfortunate that I wasn't able to get passed the third email with this attorney. I pass her office all the time, but never know when she is in the office. I still have the email as being unanswered to this day. It is fine, hope she helps someone else.

    1. Lisa Douglas

      Lisa Douglas

      Lawyer Comment:

      This comment saddens and disappoints me because it sounds more like a former disgruntled employee than a true former client. I checked back through my records and did not find a Jennifer with this type of case nor did I find any emails from a Jennifer. I feel sad for you because you feel you have to blast me on a public forum with untruths, posing as a former client instead of yourself.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. The Best

    Posted by Lou, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Douglas is unquestionably the best attorney I have ever known. She works very hard for her clients and has a strong desire to give personal attention. She is knowledgeable in medical, legal, and genuine human kindness. I highly recommend her for any legal problem you may have. She is extremely qualified.

  4. She Rocks!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She was an excellent attorney. She was very knowledgeable and kept me informed about my case.

  5. Great attorney

    Posted by Megan, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I appreciate everything she did for me. She was aggressive and knowledgeable. She was the best attorney. I will use her again.

  6. Good but fishy

    Posted by a Insurance client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Lisa Douglas.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Insurance matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She responded to me promptly, but when it came down to getting the case filed in court she was not there for me as initially promised. She lied about the reasoning for not wanting to help me and this made me think twice about her as a lawyer!

    1. Benjamin Weaver Glass III

      Benjamin Glass

      Lawyer Comment:

      why does Avvo allow an anonymous negative comment like this? Is this just a forum for slander? How does one defend an accusation from an anonymous person that a lawyer "lied?" Even if the lawyer tries to guess the identity of the anonymous writer, how does she defend herself without disclosing client confidences?

      How does Avvo ensure that this is even really a former client vs disgruntled competitor vs absolute nutball?

      Perhaps Avvo should require a complete waiver of the attorney client privilege if it is going to allow people to post subjective, defamatory comments that give the lawyer no objective way to defend her reputation?

      If Avvo is going to have any credibility at all in the marketplace (still too early to judge) then it is going to have to think seriously about this issue.

      Ben Glass, Attorney
      Fairfax, VA
      http://www.BenGlassLaw.com

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    2. Brian Marc Mittman

      Brian Mittman

      Lawyer Comment:

      As with alot of the internet today there is the good, the bad and the ugly. Unfortunately, AVVO can be a very good source for information for both the client, attorneys and others. However, I must agree with Ben Glass' comment that the anonymous heading is problematic. I note as I write this I can choose anonymous in a check box, what does it mean? Does the lawyer cited have the right to respond to that anonymous person, how is it done and why would it be done. If this is an issue of consumer protection then the consumer should understand the forum and be required to provide their name and information. Lawyers are held to generally higher standards for their conduct, their clients should not be allowed to hide under even lower standards. Brian Mittman, Attorney White Plains, NY http://www.markhofflaw.com

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    3. John Paul Harris III

      John Harris

      Lawyer Comment:

      Anyone that will post an anonymous complaint without out sufficient information for the object of the complaint to respond is a coward. The internet is a fabulous resource that can easily be abused.

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    4. Brian Robert Wilson

      Brian Wilson

      Lawyer Comment:

      Like others on this thread, I am very concerned that Avvo would allow an anonymous comment in this manner without any mechanism for any attorney to defend him or herself. For all we know this is something orchestrated by someone other than a client. There has to be some balance,between a user's ability to comment and a way for the attorney to respond to it.

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    5. Anthony Claude Francis

      Anthony Francis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I add my similar sentiments to those above. My hope is that the Avvo. administration will take notice of all these objections and recommendations for change against anonymous negative comments!

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    6. Charles R. Hofheimer

      Charles Hofheimer

      Lawyer Comment:

      Allowing anonymous reviews is reason enough to disregard AVVO as a serious publisher of consumer opinion. Charlie Hofheimer VirginialDivorceAttorney.com
      1060 laskin rd. Virginia Beach, Va. 23451

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    7. Robert A. Kraft

      Robert A. Kraft

      Lawyer Comment:

      There might possibly be a reason for an anonymous review of a lawyer, but such a situation would be extremely rare. I think if Avvo is going to allow anonymous negative reviews there should be some way for the maligned attorney to discover the identity of the reviewer in order to make a proper response. In other words, the reviewer would be anonymous to the public, but not to the lawyer. The current system is simply unfair to the lawyer.

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    8. Lisa Douglas

      Lisa Douglas

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have never been notified by any client in this manner and was blind sided by this. I have not been turned in on a grievance or otherwise disciplined.

      Posted almost 5 years ago. Flag

    9. Timothy Minthorn Klob

      Timothy Klob

      Lawyer Comment:

      I couldn't agree more with the comments above concerning the need for anonymous reviews to be screened and verified before posting, and the need to allow for legal recourse if it is determined that a review is fraudulent or unwarranted.

      AVVO should also offer some sort of pre-complaint process where anyone posting a negative review such as this would first be required to either resolve any miscommunication or misunderstanding with their attorney and/or to certify that they have previously made a good faith attempt to do so and that all other remedies have been exhausted. If AVVO does not ensure the integrity of the review process, then they risk their site becoming like many of the other generic consumer review sites that have little or no credibility due to their lack of quality control.

      I've referred to some of the answers that Lisa has posted on AVVO in the past and have always found her guidance to be well-reasoned and thorough. This leads me to believe the negative review above is inconsistent with both her online reputation and her reputation within the legal community.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag