John Andrew Kinney’s Reviews

John Andrew Kinney

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. No fear divorce

    Posted by Tiffany, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John helped me through my divorce. I found John and his staff to be very helpful and informative about the legalities of divorce. If I had a question, John talked me through, in terms I could understand.

    John was also very knowledgeable about the legal process within Sarpy county, and helped me feel comfortable about what was going to happen next.

    I was pleasantly surprised by his business acumen as well as his human factor, (with a Dr., you'd call it bedside manner).

  2. You Should Trust John!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Through the most difficult time I've ever had, John was the best decision. John is trustworthy and knowledgeable. I turned to John after 2 other attorneys could not help me get through my annulment -- not only did he get it done but he lightened my burden. I cannot say enough about John other than go meet him and hire him!

  3. Divorce Client

    Posted by Amanda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John, Marie, and the staff at Kinney Law was highly recommended to me and after working with them for a year, I fully understand why. John and Marie helped me not only with my divorce but with a business dissolution. Both situations were stressful for me and they explained every option along the way and put me at ease throughout the process. Discretion was very important to me and I cannot be more satisfied with the way my cases were handled. I would without question use Kinney Law in the future.

  4. Outstand Service and Legal Advice

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.

    I hired Mr. John Kinney in 2009 to help with my divorce. John provided me with outstanding advice and legal service. Everything I asked for John delivered on. Going thru a divorce is a very emotional and tough experience. John and his firm always put me at ease. When the divorce was final John came thru on everything I asked for. Thru the yrs I have gone back to John for various other legal matters and he continually provides the best possible outcome. I would highly recommend John Kinney and Kinney Law Firm. John has put together a team of persistent, intelligent and diligent employees that always welcome me with open arms. I’ll continue to use Kinney Law Firm and recommend them to any one asking for legal assistance.

  5. Utterly Disappointed

    Posted by Paul, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had used Mr. Kinney's firm in the past (two years ago) concerning my business and incorporation. Recently, I had a homeowner back out of a sales agreement and this person hired Mr. Kinney to represent them. I received a very condescending and antagonistic letter personally written by Mr. Kinney. I went to his office to discuss what I believed to be a breach of ethics on his part. After simply introducing myself and the reason for being there, he ran away into his back offices muttering and threatened to call law enforcement. I simply wanted to ask if he made it a regular practice to send such threatening letters to people who had contributed to his income in the recent past. Sadly, he would not come out to talk to me about his business model. I was stunned by his lack of professionalism and decorum.

    1. John Andrew Kinney

      John Kinney

      Lawyer Comment:

      This individual called with a false name and asked for me and then appeared suddenly at our office unannounced within a few minutes of his call. His version of events is quite a departure from ours here at Kinney law. The police were called.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Extremely Challenging Case

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From day one, John has gone above and beyond the call of duty. Sadly, my case required the intervention of several mental health professionals as well as law enforcement agents. John's compassion and understanding throughout the entire process provided reassurance and comfort, knowing that I had an aggressive and extremely competent advocate in my corner. Thanks to John, his tenacious pursuit of what's right, and his ability to rally the necessary experts, my children are safe and I have a new beginning. I will be forever grateful to him. Finally, Marie, provided a great deal of emotional support throughout the whole process...the two of them make a wonderful team.

  7. We are VERY thankful for John's guidance!

    Posted by S. Kennedy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When you find yourself in a situaton where you need a lawyer. The biggest decisions you can make is who is going to sit next you and protect your interests. John is the guy you want in your corner. He is an extremely talented person. Our case was an emotional one. . . John and his staff were simply oustanding! (Marie is a saint!!) The flat fee structure was also very helpful. We knew what our expenses were up front.

  8. Child Custody Case

    Posted by Kendra, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Kinney simply wants one thing - to make a lot of money. I spent over $15,000 with him for a child custody case that consisted of a year of "motions to continue". He drug the case out for over a year. When I finally retained a reputable attorney, I spent $2,500 with him and within ONE month he was able to get me full custody. John Kinney could take a few lessons from his colleagues in the legal profession.

    1. John Andrew Kinney

      John Kinney

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have searched our database of client names and can find no one I have ever represented named "Kendra" and no one fitting this fact pattern, or anything close to this pattern, at least not in the last one to three years.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  9. pragmatic advocate

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    While no one really wants to have to hire a divorce lawyer, it is important to find a pragmatic advocate in your time of need. I found John to have a thorough understanding of the nuances of Nebraska divorce law and be able to communicate likely scenarios, as well is best and worst case situations.

    In negotiations I found John to be both reasonable and realistic, while knowing where and when to stand firm on a position.

    I have talked with many people who hesitate calling their attorney with a question because of fears of running up their legal bills with every phone call. I found John's rating structure to be fair, and possibly more importantly, to encourage clients to call with questions and concerns.

    Like most professionals, John’s schedule does not always allow him to answer or respond to calls immediately. However, I found that John or someone on his staff would usually acknowledge my communications almost immediately, and get me thoughtful answers in a timely manner.

    Even the smoothest and least contentious divorce can be exceptionally stressful. I felt better having John and his staff as my advocates. They encouraged communication, helped me understand the process and likely outcomes, and held fast to my best interest.

  10. Top all around lawyer

    Posted by Sean, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kinney.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recomend John and his staff with the highest confidence. John is extremely knowledgable about the law. He is very responsive, explains everything, gives you all the advice how to handle many of situations that you will encounter through the whole process. I was married for 14 years with 2 young children. I went through an ugly divorce where I was followed by private investigators, had inlaws that write horrible things about me to the courts, had the ex- spouse try to hide money and keep the kids away from me. John put together a great strategy to protect my children and my interest. His staff was incredible to work with. There is know one better than his assitant Marie. They kept emotion out of whole proceddings, but were very counsoling when things got nasty. John and his staff always took the high road and I am glad they did when the other party didnt. It could have been very easy to fall into the oters party's accusations and name calling. The end results was I got joint custody, kept all my interest that was pre-martial,kept the home where my children have been raised ( to keep things consistent for them). I could go on, but if anyone has questions please call Johns office and talk with him and Marie. I believe my first name will be on this review, so please ask them if you would like to ask me any questions. Thank you Kinney Law, you saved a family.