Skip to main content
Catherine Ann Zigtema

Catherine Zigtema’s Answers

345 total


  • Can a 16 year old boy get charged with anything if he gets his 14 year old girlfriend pregnant?

    Me and my boyfriend have been talking about sex. we haven't decided to do it yet because I want to make sure everything would be legal and that if I got pregnant we wouldn't have any legal issues to deal with.

    Catherine’s Answer

    You would have several potential legal issues to deal with including a baby daddy in prison because you are not lawfully able to consent to sexual contact, and he would have to register as a sex offender thereby keeping him from obtaining employment, involvement in your family - both with the new child and with your own parents, by DCF and potential child in need of care actions, impact on your ability to complete your education, besides having to deal with a paternity action, child custody issues, and child support. I suggest that in order to avoid these issues that you wait until you are 16 where at least the criminal implications are removed.

    See question 
  • My daughter recives calls from her best friend late at night crying because of her dad,there is no abuse, justyellingandcussing

    her friend has a voice recording of her father yelling at his 4 year old son in profanities, because he called him the wrong name, the name of the guy his mom cheated on his dad with, theyre married now. he constantly yells at his daughter for no ...

    Catherine’s Answer

    Yelling and cussing is a form of emotional abuse. You should report your concerns to the department of children and family services. You can do so anonymously.

    See question 
  • How long is the statue of limitations for agg batt great body harm

    I was convicted of aggravated battery great bodily harm serverity level 4 in 1999 was sentences to 74mo went in in 1999 got out in 2004 it is now 2015 is the statue of limitations still going on or is it still public record?

    Catherine’s Answer

    You misunderstand what the statute of limitations is. It is the time period in which charges must be filed. Upon conviction, your record is permanent and public unless a petition for expungement is granted. A petition for expungment may not be filed until 5 years after post release is completed for a level 4 offense.

    See question 
  • Can police run ur tag at walmart for no reason an sit down street an wait to get you for suspended dl?

    Was leaving walmart an seen cop in the parking lot. He had jus been passing my car an acting as slowing to look at another few down from mine..An I thought to myself he's jus driving an he went on I was buying grocery's an he left an watched me p...

    Catherine’s Answer

    Yes they can. You should only drive with a valid license under state law.

    See question 
  • I have an ongoing lease with an apartment complex in Lawrence Kansas and was the victim of a crime and they wont let me out

    i was the victim of a human trafficking crime in another state and the investigator on the case has given them an official letter officiating that it puts my life in danger if i continue to reside there i have gotten conformation they have receive...

    Catherine’s Answer

    Contact the victim advocate at the da office or police department and see if they can help you. Otherwise you should contact Kansas legal services.

    See question 
  • "Im 15 can my 18 year old brother fight my family for custody of me?"

    I live with my grandparents but they talk about me all the time. My father is in jail and my mom acts like she does not have kids until its time for discipline. I've been going through this since 6th grade. Yesterday we got into a arguement becaus...

    Catherine’s Answer

    You should speak with a school counselor regarding these issues. You have a right to your own safety and a report to DCF should be made on your behalf.

    See question 
  • Tow company used coercion to obtain funds.

    i called for a gas delivery from a tow company. when the tow truck got to my vehicle he ran my credit cards and I couldn't pay.they were about to tow my vehicle due to my inability to pay.i had to call someone to pay for me. they used my lack of ...

    Catherine’s Answer

    If you feel they did not comply with applicable law you may contact the Attorney general office consumer protection division to make a claim against them.

    See question 
  • My husband had an apeal done with the appelate court what is the time frame he has to do another apeal.

    i don't know if the apeal with the court was done in 2011 or 2013

    Catherine’s Answer

    An original action in the Appellate Courts is exceedingly rare. If your husband is seeking post conviction relief, he will need to file the appropriate action in district court initially. However, there are very strict timelines for filing for post conviction relief and he should retain counsel to have the best shot of having his motion avoid summary dismissal.

    See question 
  • How to go to court for DUI Kansas without an attorney

    December 31. went to lunch meet Mother. Mother couldn't come I had lunch & 2 glasses of wine. Left to do errands and few minutes at mall parking the car in front stopped fast and I hit bumper. Very minor, but police was there and she told him she...

    Catherine’s Answer

    You should request a court appointed attorney if you cannot afford one. You should not proceed pro se particularly as there appear to be complicated health issues.

    See question 
  • I am being accused of raping a minor. I've been on the run for almost 2 years.

    My friend has convinced me to turn myself in. Can a lawyer help me? If my friend accompanies me to see a lawyer, can they get in trouble for helping me?

    Catherine’s Answer

    You should contact an attorney immediately. They can help you arrange your surrender, advise you of your rights, and assist you in preparing your defense. You should not discuss the facts of the case with anyone but your attorney.

    See question