Back to Joshua’s Profile

Client Review

Joshua has received 30 client reviews

Horrible Experience

Posted by: Joy, a Divorce client 23 days ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired the Mathews Group to help me as I attempted to renegotiate parenting time and child support with my ex. They were amazing in the first meeting and all the way up until I gave them a check. Then, unless I called and spoke to someone past the receptionist, NOTHING happened with my case. I had to constantly call and nag to get anything done. It took a year to work out what should have been a simple mediation. A YEAR. And that's only because I was constantly calling and insisting that they work on my case. My case got passed around, and I ended up dealing with 2 paralegals and one lawyer. None of whom were motivated to get things done. They had their money, why would they care? After my ex and I came to a new agreement, it took forEVER for them to get the wording, ages, and details correct in the paperwork. Every time they sent a new document for me to review, there was something wrong with it. I have an email thread a mile long from the MULTIPLE times it took for them to get it right. All the way up until the day I came in to sign the final paperwork, they still had failed to correct my kids' ages on the front. ?!? We're not talking about complicated stuff here. All told, I wish I could go back. That was $2000 down the drain. I could have done a better job all on my own and saved the money. Don't hire them--you will not be a priority in ANY way.

Patient, Understanding, attentive, professional

Posted by: Danielle, a Adoption client 30 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-6 months ago.

Joshua handled my Adoption matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My ward wanted me to adopt her but the situation was complicated. Joshua Mathews met with all the kids and myself to discuss our situation. He showed just as much respect to the children & their input as he did in me, the adult. He agreed to take on our case knowing how difficult and time consuming it could become. Mr. Mathews has been very professional, attentive, understanding, and answers my questions/calls in a timely manner. His staff is very upbeat, polite, and professional. The kids love going by the office to drop off paperwork or for me to sign papers. As a parent I find it reassuring that an attorney's office can put the client and full family at ease during, what can be, a trying time. Yes, I would recommend this law practice!

They got me my kids

Posted by: a Family client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-6 months ago.

Joshua handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired Joshua Mathews as my second attorney to handle my child custody case. The mother was trying to move to Texas with my kids, and I didn't know what to do. From the first time I met him, I was very comfortable with him. I had hired somebody else at first, and they basically told me that there was nothing I could do. During the case, my ex tried to say all kinds of things about me and my new wife, so we ended up getting a guardian to come in and talk to the parties and discuss the issues. My first lawyer just kept telling me that nothing was going to go my way and that I needed to settle with her and let her move. He told me that maybe I could get some extra time in the summer. That's when I hired The Mathews Group and Josh Mathews got right on the phone with the guardian during our first meeting in his office. He convinced the guardian that there was more to this case, and the guardian agreed to look into it deeper. After talking to me and my wife, along with the teachers, counselors and even the soccer coach, the guardian told the court that my ex was not "credible," and that there was nothing bad going on in our house. At the trial, Mr. Mathews proved that not only was I a good parent but that the mother was trying to do everything in her power to keep the kids away from me. IN the end, the judge gave me custody of the kids. My ex tried to change it by saying that she would stay in town, but the judge said it didn't matter and the kids were going to live with me. I can't thank these guys enough. Without them, I probably would have ended up letting my kids move to Texas. Also, I don't know what anybody is talking about saying that people don't return their calls. My other attorney didn't even answer the phone. You just got voicemail. At The Mathews Group, they always answered and they always tried to help you. If you needed a specific person, like when I needed to talk to Josh Mathews, they would just set a time for us to talk on the phone, or for me to come in. There was never an issue.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

Posted by: Judy 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

We hired this lawyer in December, 2010 after our daughter committed suicide. We wanted Grandparents Visitation with our daughter's son. He was also hired to collect insurance monies that was left to me. This went on for almost 3 years. We did not get visitation rights and I gave up 1/2 the money on Joshua Mathews recommendation. He didn't mind taking all the money and he did nothing but sit back and dupe more people. DO NOT HIRE THIS GUY. DO NOT BELIEVE ANYTHING HE HAS TO SAY.

Most judgemental lawyer ever

Posted by: a client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I have talked to many different lawyers about my case and this lawyer is by far the WORST I have ever talked to. When I explained that the father of my child was abusive towards me, he literally stopped me in mid sentence and said "you chose to have a baby with an abusive person so that's your own mistake that you have to live with now." He wouldn't even let me speak most of the time because he was too husy judging me and putting his OPINION out not his legal advice. I don't recommend him to ANYONE because he will just tear you down and not care about what you want in the case of your child. Cases that have to do with children and especially when there is physical and sexual abuse involced are VERY sensitive subjects and they should be dealt with in a kind manor, not to the point of bringing someone to tears for being a total jerk. Never use him as a lawyer. Big mistake.

Horrible divorce group

Posted by: a Divorce client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

This group actually made my divoce messier and uglier than it needed to be. My ex and I had a basic understanding how we wanted to proceed with divorce topics. I had started all the paperwork in St. Louis and after we moved to Kansas City we decided to file here. I gave the Mathew's group all the information that they needed to file and somehow they were able to make a hug mess of the whole deal. They never looked at my file for a month after I paid my fee and only progressed with me calling daily. I had never been verbally aggressive on the phone until having to deal with their staff. They presented miss information to my ex's lawyer causing he and I to have more heated agruments than when we were together. Thank goodness we were able to talk and have a united front between us and let the lawyers know what we wanted as it appeared they were trying to get us to go to court. Sure why not, we both are successful professionals. The best part was my court date to have the judge sign off was moved back 60 days as they never had received confirmation from his lawyer that he received papers. This lead to him being served at his medical practice which I greatly regret agreeing to. What was to take a max of 3 months took a painful 8 months It is lawyers like this that give the profession as a whole a bad reputation.

If I had to choose again.....

Posted by: a client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I DEFINITELY would never use this group again. I consider myself a pretty easy person to do business with. I can be understanding and forgiving of honest mistakes or occasional delays due to busyness, etc., but working with these people was very frustrating, and at times infuriating. This firm is poorly managed, has poor communication, and appeared to have a very high turnover rate. Josh Matthews was great to converse with and he can really set your mind at ease. I will give him kudos for that. But it ends there. I was very sorry we wrote the check up front, because then we were trapped. I believe that is a good strategy for them, otherwise people would bail and hire someone else once they discover how the firm operates. My case was handed over to different attorneys multiple times, each who knew nothing of my case, forcing me to retell my story and goals from the beginning each time. There was no consistent communication among the people working on my case. It was necessaty to send multiple emails and/or call several times before receiving a response from anyone, and what I would receive was a lot of smooth talk, vague, comforting promises, but not actual answers to my questions. I didn't realize how horrible the experience was until something came up regarding the case 6 months after, and I contacted a different attorney. It was like a breath of fresh air!!! The new law office was VERY knowledgeable, helpful, and definitely gave me the direction and help I needed. Night and day difference!! I definitely did not find a lawyer for life with Josh Matthews.

Be wary of this lawyer!

Posted by: Kent, a Child Support client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired the Mathews group to attain a simple child support modification as I was allowed to request a modification after 40 months. I received 2 court dates almost immediately but they were both postponed by my ex. We then were given a court date in Oct. I showed up. My ex showed up. Her counsel showed up. The only person conspicuous in their absence was Mr. Mathews. I called the law office and since there was another lawyer from the firm in the building, they sent him to me. He explained that he was unprepared for the case as he did not have my file. We were forced to ask for another continuance. My ex then filed for attorney fees and costs. We received a new court date for the 1st week of January. At this hearing, even though I had specifically asked my lawyer to attempt to have my support modified retroactively back to July 1st, he never even mentioned it. He also admitted to the hearing officer that his failure to appear in October was his fault and "On him". Our hearing officer at this time requested my Domestic Relations Affidavit, a form that I had already filled out and returned to my lawyer the previous August. We were again given a new court date and instructed to provide said document by the 21st of January. Arriving in court on January 22nd I discovered that this document had still not been provided to the court by my lawyer. I had to go home and fill out the form once more and re-submit it to my lawyer for submission to the court. Finally, on February 6th, 10 months after my 40 month period of paying $650.00 per month, I finally received my modification lowering my support. This was not made retroactive back to July, when my stipulated 40 months was complete. How could it be? My lawyer never brought it up in court. My ex was awarded $500 in lawyers fees and costs as a result of my attorney not showing up for our court date in August. I paid 4 months more of my unmodified child support than I would have if he had shown up for court as well as being saddled with a $500 bill for my ex's lawyer fees. After being informed by my attorney that I had received my modification and that my new support payment was $339/month, I asked the law office representative who called me if the Mathews group was going to pay the $500 in lawyers fees since it was "his fault" and "On him". I was told that they would have to speak to Joshua Mathews and get back to me on that. The only other communication I have received from The Mathews Group since then is a letter informing me that they had accomplished their task of obtaining a modification and that they considered their job done. I would warn anyone looking for an attorney that this firm is definitely one to avoid. They do not return calls. They do not appear for court dates. They do not address issues with the court that are important to you. They do not file forms and paperwork in a timely manner. They incur fees that YOU will be accountable for, and will not offer to pay them. This is a very slipshod and unprofessional firm and I heartily recommend that you seek elsewhere for competent legal council.

Professional, Personal and Reliable

Posted by: Rebecca, a Divorce client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Finally a law firm that makes you feel comfortable. When I called his office I was able to speak to a member of the team for 15 minutes. I set the consultation appointment for the next day. From the moment I walked in the door I knew I wanted to hire Joshua Mathews and his team. Joshua was truly listening to my story and never once made me feel intimidated or rushed (feelings I felt at other law firms). While this was one of the most difficult times in my life, the entire team makes you feel at ease. I recommend this firm to everyone searching for a family law attorney.

ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND!!

Posted by: George, a Adoption client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Adoption matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Joshua Mathews recently represented my wife and I in an adoption proceeding. My wife's ex-husband had been out of the picture for a long time so I was doing a stepparent adoption. Unfortunately my wife's ex showed up at the first hearing and started making things really difficult. We knew that the adoption was right for our daughter, especially since I'm the only one she has ever called "Daddy." Her real dad was gone before she could speak. But we were worried because Josh had done our case really cheap not expecting it to be a fight. Even though it is a flat fee we knew that if things changed they might have to charge us extra. Josh knew that we didn't have the money to fight this, and any other attorney would have quit. But Josh stayed on the case and continued to fight. The thing ended up lasting 8 months and we actually offered to pay them more money when our tax return came in. Josh told us not to worry about it and ended up winning the case. I know that a lot of people are going to be unhappy in these kinds of cases and they might try to blame their lawyers. But I can tell you from experience that Josh and the rest of the office really cared about us.