Back to Joshua’s Profile

Client Review

Joshua has received 26 client reviews

Most judgemental lawyer ever

Posted by: a client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I have talked to many different lawyers about my case and this lawyer is by far the WORST I have ever talked to. When I explained that the father of my child was abusive towards me, he literally stopped me in mid sentence and said "you chose to have a baby with an abusive person so that's your own mistake that you have to live with now." He wouldn't even let me speak most of the time because he was too husy judging me and putting his OPINION out not his legal advice. I don't recommend him to ANYONE because he will just tear you down and not care about what you want in the case of your child. Cases that have to do with children and especially when there is physical and sexual abuse involced are VERY sensitive subjects and they should be dealt with in a kind manor, not to the point of bringing someone to tears for being a total jerk. Never use him as a lawyer. Big mistake.

Horrible divorce group

Posted by: a Divorce client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

This group actually made my divoce messier and uglier than it needed to be. My ex and I had a basic understanding how we wanted to proceed with divorce topics. I had started all the paperwork in St. Louis and after we moved to Kansas City we decided to file here. I gave the Mathew's group all the information that they needed to file and somehow they were able to make a hug mess of the whole deal. They never looked at my file for a month after I paid my fee and only progressed with me calling daily. I had never been verbally aggressive on the phone until having to deal with their staff. They presented miss information to my ex's lawyer causing he and I to have more heated agruments than when we were together. Thank goodness we were able to talk and have a united front between us and let the lawyers know what we wanted as it appeared they were trying to get us to go to court. Sure why not, we both are successful professionals. The best part was my court date to have the judge sign off was moved back 60 days as they never had received confirmation from his lawyer that he received papers. This lead to him being served at his medical practice which I greatly regret agreeing to. What was to take a max of 3 months took a painful 8 months It is lawyers like this that give the profession as a whole a bad reputation.

If I had to choose again.....

Posted by: a client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I DEFINITELY would never use this group again. I consider myself a pretty easy person to do business with. I can be understanding and forgiving of honest mistakes or occasional delays due to busyness, etc., but working with these people was very frustrating, and at times infuriating. This firm is poorly managed, has poor communication, and appeared to have a very high turnover rate. Josh Matthews was great to converse with and he can really set your mind at ease. I will give him kudos for that. But it ends there. I was very sorry we wrote the check up front, because then we were trapped. I believe that is a good strategy for them, otherwise people would bail and hire someone else once they discover how the firm operates. My case was handed over to different attorneys multiple times, each who knew nothing of my case, forcing me to retell my story and goals from the beginning each time. There was no consistent communication among the people working on my case. It was necessaty to send multiple emails and/or call several times before receiving a response from anyone, and what I would receive was a lot of smooth talk, vague, comforting promises, but not actual answers to my questions. I didn't realize how horrible the experience was until something came up regarding the case 6 months after, and I contacted a different attorney. It was like a breath of fresh air!!! The new law office was VERY knowledgeable, helpful, and definitely gave me the direction and help I needed. Night and day difference!! I definitely did not find a lawyer for life with Josh Matthews.

Be wary of this lawyer!

Posted by: Kent, a Child Support client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired the Mathews group to attain a simple child support modification as I was allowed to request a modification after 40 months. I received 2 court dates almost immediately but they were both postponed by my ex. We then were given a court date in Oct. I showed up. My ex showed up. Her counsel showed up. The only person conspicuous in their absence was Mr. Mathews. I called the law office and since there was another lawyer from the firm in the building, they sent him to me. He explained that he was unprepared for the case as he did not have my file. We were forced to ask for another continuance. My ex then filed for attorney fees and costs. We received a new court date for the 1st week of January. At this hearing, even though I had specifically asked my lawyer to attempt to have my support modified retroactively back to July 1st, he never even mentioned it. He also admitted to the hearing officer that his failure to appear in October was his fault and "On him". Our hearing officer at this time requested my Domestic Relations Affidavit, a form that I had already filled out and returned to my lawyer the previous August. We were again given a new court date and instructed to provide said document by the 21st of January. Arriving in court on January 22nd I discovered that this document had still not been provided to the court by my lawyer. I had to go home and fill out the form once more and re-submit it to my lawyer for submission to the court. Finally, on February 6th, 10 months after my 40 month period of paying $650.00 per month, I finally received my modification lowering my support. This was not made retroactive back to July, when my stipulated 40 months was complete. How could it be? My lawyer never brought it up in court. My ex was awarded $500 in lawyers fees and costs as a result of my attorney not showing up for our court date in August. I paid 4 months more of my unmodified child support than I would have if he had shown up for court as well as being saddled with a $500 bill for my ex's lawyer fees. After being informed by my attorney that I had received my modification and that my new support payment was $339/month, I asked the law office representative who called me if the Mathews group was going to pay the $500 in lawyers fees since it was "his fault" and "On him". I was told that they would have to speak to Joshua Mathews and get back to me on that. The only other communication I have received from The Mathews Group since then is a letter informing me that they had accomplished their task of obtaining a modification and that they considered their job done. I would warn anyone looking for an attorney that this firm is definitely one to avoid. They do not return calls. They do not appear for court dates. They do not address issues with the court that are important to you. They do not file forms and paperwork in a timely manner. They incur fees that YOU will be accountable for, and will not offer to pay them. This is a very slipshod and unprofessional firm and I heartily recommend that you seek elsewhere for competent legal council.

Professional, Personal and Reliable

Posted by: Rebecca, a Divorce client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Finally a law firm that makes you feel comfortable. When I called his office I was able to speak to a member of the team for 15 minutes. I set the consultation appointment for the next day. From the moment I walked in the door I knew I wanted to hire Joshua Mathews and his team. Joshua was truly listening to my story and never once made me feel intimidated or rushed (feelings I felt at other law firms). While this was one of the most difficult times in my life, the entire team makes you feel at ease. I recommend this firm to everyone searching for a family law attorney.

ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND!!

Posted by: George, a Adoption client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Adoption matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Joshua Mathews recently represented my wife and I in an adoption proceeding. My wife's ex-husband had been out of the picture for a long time so I was doing a stepparent adoption. Unfortunately my wife's ex showed up at the first hearing and started making things really difficult. We knew that the adoption was right for our daughter, especially since I'm the only one she has ever called "Daddy." Her real dad was gone before she could speak. But we were worried because Josh had done our case really cheap not expecting it to be a fight. Even though it is a flat fee we knew that if things changed they might have to charge us extra. Josh knew that we didn't have the money to fight this, and any other attorney would have quit. But Josh stayed on the case and continued to fight. The thing ended up lasting 8 months and we actually offered to pay them more money when our tax return came in. Josh told us not to worry about it and ended up winning the case. I know that a lot of people are going to be unhappy in these kinds of cases and they might try to blame their lawyers. But I can tell you from experience that Josh and the rest of the office really cared about us.

Terrible!!!!!!

Posted by: Derrick, a Child Custody client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I have read other reviews on this site and they sound identical to what I went through. During the phone consult, he said all the right things and I felt like I would have my son in no time. WRONG! He did not communicate with me at all. His paralegal staff were wonderful and they helped a lot but Josh was pure junk. He yelled at me and told me I was a bad father. He said I haven't showed that I wanted to be a father. He is sooooo far from correct. I live in California and the court was in Johnson County. Upon arriving to his law firm for the FIRST TIME, Josh hid in his office like a little baby. He never came out one time to introduce himself. He ended up passing me on to some other attorney with less then a year of experience at the time. I met with the new attorney and he had no idea what I wanted. I told him my story 3 different times before he halfway understood it. Once at the court house, the attorney's voice was trembling while he was talking. My Ex's attorney ate him alive. We ended up settling because my attorney had no experience. He was timid. josh matthews doesn't know how to treat people. He is the worst "attorney" ever

Aggressive Attorneys

Posted by: a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

They kept their word, and were very easy for both sides to work with. But when my ex-wife refused to be reasonable, Josh and his staff refused to be pushed around. At trial, it was obvious that we were WAY more prepared than my wife's attorney, and the judge clearly liked the way that Josh did things. I did better than I ever thought I would.

Fantastic

Posted by: a Child Custody client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I can't say enough how hard they worked for my husband and me. Someone wrote a review and said that they were ignored, but that was certainly the opposite of our experience. Josh was my husband's third attorney, (he used others for his divorce and first modification), and none of them were as attentive as Josh and his staff. Somebody always answered the phone, and we were always taken care of. And the whole thing cost us about 1/3 what it would have with somebody else.

Warning! WORST LAWYER EVER!!!!

Posted by: a Child Support client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Child Support matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Terrible experience!!!! The "flat rate fees" are just to reel you in. Once you pay...you will mean nothing to them...and they will have absolutely NO incentive to work for you! You will soon discover that YOU will be doing much of the work for yourself. Our nightmare began in February 2012, when my husband and I had a "phone consultation" with Joshua Mathews. (we live out of state). My husband needed a fairly simple 'modification' done on his existing divorce decree in regards to his daughter's child support/college arrangements. We were initially attracted to the "flat rate" fee...and Joshua Mathews told us "everything we wanted to hear". He pin-pointed how we should approach his very difficult ex-wife, and he "sounded" like he knew what he was talking about....wrong!! We paid our money....and that was the last we heard from him for 6 months. His staff gathered our information for the case, but NOTHING went according to the plan in our consultation. He never so much as "informed" his staff about our case, so they didn't approach his ex wife in the manner we discussed...nor did they follow the procedure we had agreed on...and THAT set the stage for a very long, and miserable experience.. The office staff (Tricia, Julie, Katelyn) did not keep us updated on anything...ever. (they say they will, but they don't). They ignore most emails, and Josh is always "in a meeting". We asked multiple times that they please "copy us" on letters and correspondence (like other attorney's do) and they never once did! You literally have to BEG for information about your own case!! You will never know what's going on, and months will go by with no progress whatsoever. They even failed tp get the "required" financial information from his ex-wife, even though we provided ALL of ours to her attorney. And they never apologize for anything no matter how many mistakes are made. Then.. somewhere along the way...Josh pushed our case off on another awful and rude attorney (Jadh) without even notifying us. She pretty much blew our case by sending an "unapproved" settlement offer to the opposing counsel...then..NOT telling us for 4 weeks that the other side actually had quickly responded with a counter offer!! (found that out from the ex-wife)...which by the way...was the ONLY way we ever found out anything on our case. All they managed to do was tick her off, making her even harder to negotiate with. We finally emailed Josh and INSISTED they he take back over our case. (He didn't even remember us!) We wanted to fire him, but we simply could not afford someone new after paying him up front. Ultimately, after NINE MONTHS of "pure torment"...we ended up having to "negotiate a deal with his ex-wife directly ourselves!". And just when you think it can't get any worse, ALL THAT WAS LEFT, was acquiring our signatures on the modification to send in to the court. Simple enough. Instead, Josh literally lied to us for weeks about emailing her attorney for signature...he said he was just waiting to hear back from him. (NOT TRUE). This was confirmed by the opposing counsel. No idea "why" he never emailed the opposing attorney for signatures..makes no sense!! We would have been DONE! So "WE" had to send the "revised modification" to his ex-wife for her signature, and her attorney's signature. THAT is how we finally got it....by doing the work ourselves. Extremely unprofessional lawyer and staff!!!! Literally impossible to communicate with!! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. We basically paid for "self service". Wasted our hard earned money...and 9 months of our lives that we'll never get back.. Hopefully this will save at least "one" person from making the same terrible mistake that we did. Bottom Line: If you value your sanity...you will not hire Joshua Mathews!!