Back to Joshua’s Profile

Joshua has received 34 client reviews

Big Mistake

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

Great sales pitch up front! Nothing after they have their retainer. Paralegals didn't have a clue. Unless I contacted them NOTHING happened. Attorney sent a surrogate to my hearing. The one time they called was to extend their retainer. Wasted my money, but most important did not help in my effort with my kids. I would steer clear. I should have paid heed to the warnings. I am now having to hire a new attorney. Due to their negligence this will go on for a longer time. Don't go cheap with this type of an attorney. Your future depends on having a good attorney. I wish I could afford to sue him and get my money back. Lesson learned albeit painfully.

Thank you!

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Joshua Mathews

Let me just start by saying I'm not a fun female to work with when my emotions are high. I'm combative and very angry! Joshua stood by my side through everything and I appreciate everything he's done for my family. I'm not going to say that I always liked what he had to say but it was honest and he steered me in the right directions. I sincerely appreciate everything you did for me today. It's been a rough and long road but I'm thankful it's coming to an end. I hope we never cross paths again but I'd be happy to refer a friend. Thank you!

AWFUL

Posted by: a client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

This law firm does nothing but take your money and then you never hear from them again unless YOU follow up. You'll hire Joshua and then never hear from him again. They are all lazy, negligent, and have poor communication skills. If you want to make your divorce take 10x longer than usual, hire them! if you also want your case to be passed around from paralegal to paralegal not having any prior knowledge to the case, hire them! If you would like to wait months for the paperwork to be submitted to the courts, hire them! I cannot stress how LAZY this law firm is. They do not care about you or your situation. DO NOT HIRE THEM.

Compassionate Lawyer!

Posted by: Marilu, a Child Custody client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

Joshua handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My sister hired Mr. Mathews to represent her in her child custody matter. He is very professional and kindhearted. He took my sister under his wing and guided her through her whole case, taking time after hours to call and discuss with her matters pertaining to her case. He went above & beyond in representing her, to make her feel calm & reassured. Me. Mathews is not only a Lawyer, he proves he is an individual who understands your position, reassures his clients, makes his clients feel important, is not only professional but knows his practice. This is not just a career for him, it is about helping other people and their children live a happy content life together. I cannot thank him enough for his involvement in my sisters case on her behalf. If you are looking for a lawyer, Mr. Mathews would be your guy!

Horrible Experience

Posted by: Joy, a Divorce client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired the Mathews Group to help me as I attempted to renegotiate parenting time and child support with my ex. They were amazing in the first meeting and all the way up until I gave them a check. Then, unless I called and spoke to someone past the receptionist, NOTHING happened with my case. I had to constantly call and nag to get anything done. It took a year to work out what should have been a simple mediation. A YEAR. And that's only because I was constantly calling and insisting that they work on my case. My case got passed around, and I ended up dealing with 2 paralegals and one lawyer. None of whom were motivated to get things done. They had their money, why would they care? After my ex and I came to a new agreement, it took forEVER for them to get the wording, ages, and details correct in the paperwork. Every time they sent a new document for me to review, there was something wrong with it. I have an email thread a mile long from the MULTIPLE times it took for them to get it right. All the way up until the day I came in to sign the final paperwork, they still had failed to correct my kids' ages on the front. ?!? We're not talking about complicated stuff here. All told, I wish I could go back. That was $2000 down the drain. I could have done a better job all on my own and saved the money. Don't hire them--you will not be a priority in ANY way.

Patient, Understanding, attentive, professional

Posted by: Danielle, a Adoption client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 6-12 months ago.

Joshua handled my Adoption matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My ward wanted me to adopt her but the situation was complicated. Joshua Mathews met with all the kids and myself to discuss our situation. He showed just as much respect to the children & their input as he did in me, the adult. He agreed to take on our case knowing how difficult and time consuming it could become. Mr. Mathews has been very professional, attentive, understanding, and answers my questions/calls in a timely manner. His staff is very upbeat, polite, and professional. The kids love going by the office to drop off paperwork or for me to sign papers. As a parent I find it reassuring that an attorney's office can put the client and full family at ease during, what can be, a trying time. Yes, I would recommend this law practice!

They got me my kids

Posted by: a Family client 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired Joshua Mathews as my second attorney to handle my child custody case. The mother was trying to move to Texas with my kids, and I didn't know what to do. From the first time I met him, I was very comfortable with him. I had hired somebody else at first, and they basically told me that there was nothing I could do. During the case, my ex tried to say all kinds of things about me and my new wife, so we ended up getting a guardian to come in and talk to the parties and discuss the issues. My first lawyer just kept telling me that nothing was going to go my way and that I needed to settle with her and let her move. He told me that maybe I could get some extra time in the summer. That's when I hired The Mathews Group and Josh Mathews got right on the phone with the guardian during our first meeting in his office. He convinced the guardian that there was more to this case, and the guardian agreed to look into it deeper. After talking to me and my wife, along with the teachers, counselors and even the soccer coach, the guardian told the court that my ex was not "credible," and that there was nothing bad going on in our house. At the trial, Mr. Mathews proved that not only was I a good parent but that the mother was trying to do everything in her power to keep the kids away from me. IN the end, the judge gave me custody of the kids. My ex tried to change it by saying that she would stay in town, but the judge said it didn't matter and the kids were going to live with me. I can't thank these guys enough. Without them, I probably would have ended up letting my kids move to Texas. Also, I don't know what anybody is talking about saying that people don't return their calls. My other attorney didn't even answer the phone. You just got voicemail. At The Mathews Group, they always answered and they always tried to help you. If you needed a specific person, like when I needed to talk to Josh Mathews, they would just set a time for us to talk on the phone, or for me to come in. There was never an issue.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

Posted by: Judy 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

We hired this lawyer in December, 2010 after our daughter committed suicide. We wanted Grandparents Visitation with our daughter's son. He was also hired to collect insurance monies that was left to me. This went on for almost 3 years. We did not get visitation rights and I gave up 1/2 the money on Joshua Mathews recommendation. He didn't mind taking all the money and he did nothing but sit back and dupe more people. DO NOT HIRE THIS GUY. DO NOT BELIEVE ANYTHING HE HAS TO SAY.

Most judgemental lawyer ever

Posted by: a client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I have talked to many different lawyers about my case and this lawyer is by far the WORST I have ever talked to. When I explained that the father of my child was abusive towards me, he literally stopped me in mid sentence and said "you chose to have a baby with an abusive person so that's your own mistake that you have to live with now." He wouldn't even let me speak most of the time because he was too husy judging me and putting his OPINION out not his legal advice. I don't recommend him to ANYONE because he will just tear you down and not care about what you want in the case of your child. Cases that have to do with children and especially when there is physical and sexual abuse involced are VERY sensitive subjects and they should be dealt with in a kind manor, not to the point of bringing someone to tears for being a total jerk. Never use him as a lawyer. Big mistake.

Horrible divorce group

Posted by: a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Joshua Mathews

I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.

Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

This group actually made my divoce messier and uglier than it needed to be. My ex and I had a basic understanding how we wanted to proceed with divorce topics. I had started all the paperwork in St. Louis and after we moved to Kansas City we decided to file here. I gave the Mathew's group all the information that they needed to file and somehow they were able to make a hug mess of the whole deal. They never looked at my file for a month after I paid my fee and only progressed with me calling daily. I had never been verbally aggressive on the phone until having to deal with their staff. They presented miss information to my ex's lawyer causing he and I to have more heated agruments than when we were together. Thank goodness we were able to talk and have a united front between us and let the lawyers know what we wanted as it appeared they were trying to get us to go to court. Sure why not, we both are successful professionals. The best part was my court date to have the judge sign off was moved back 60 days as they never had received confirmation from his lawyer that he received papers. This lead to him being served at his medical practice which I greatly regret agreeing to. What was to take a max of 3 months took a painful 8 months It is lawyers like this that give the profession as a whole a bad reputation.