Joseph Lewis Norton III’s Reviews

Joseph Lewis Norton III

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best DUI lawyer- Worth the money!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jay was an incredible lawyer. I think the longest I waited for an e-mail response was maybe 1 hour. Sometimes it was only minutes. He was very helpful, and knowledgeable during a very difficult process. He answered all my silly questions without me feeling stupid, and he got me off in my admin hearing! Use him for your DUI case and you won't be disappointed.

  2. jay norton great lawyer

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After having another lawyer prior to jay, I'm so happy I found jays number. My prior lawyer told me to take the deal which was, no deal at all it was what would happen if I got charged with the dui. My old lawyer told me I had no case and going to trial was a waist of time. I told him if I get charged I lose my job. He said I didn't have a choice. I spoke to jay the next week and set an apt. I told him my situation, and he ask me what I had to lose by going to trial. Nothing. .... So fired the first lawyer hired jay, who fought for me and we won. Im able to keep my job and have a clean driving record. I wish I had just found jays number In the first place.

    Stephen

  3. Best decision I made

    Posted by RJ, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jay Norton was fantastic. He was always available to talk and was easy to talk to when we did. I never had to show up to most hearings, just the one. The case turned out great for me and I was always confident in Jay's integrity, knowledge and hard work for me. Can't recommend him enough.

  4. In top 1% of his class.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I wanted to make sure I hired the best lawyer who had the best skill set when it comes to working hard on my case. And Jay was just that. Jay is really experienced, hard working lawyer who knows his stuff. From critical thinking to modern technology, he acquires all the knowledge to fight cases. Jay was very easy to talk whenever I needed to be filled in with procedures. His communications with court and client was outstanding. I am extremely pleased with the outcome of the case and I can't thank him enough. I highly recommend Jay.

  5. Great attorney!

    Posted by Jennifer,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.

    Jay made my entire experience, as trying and frustrating as it was, as easy as I could have ever anticipated.
    He made me feel like a person rather than someone who made a mistake and needed to pay over and over again for it.

  6. Loyal and Trustworthy

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called Jay with a case (later became 'cases') that soon became a tangled mess due to multiple charges, the City's involvement which was then turned over to the County...etc., and strung out for over 5 years. Jay showed up to EVERY single one of my court dates and only expected me to show up when it was absolutely necessary. During the multiple trials, he was extremely knowledgable of the laws and cited cases - which had been won, to use in our favor. He was always up to date on the latest laws , which helped us immensly in multiple trials. I always could expect to receive a letter from Jay's office after every court appearance explaining what had occured and if it had been continued, etc., and when the next court date was set for. I was never lacking knowledge of what was going on at anytime. Jay was always responsive to phone calls, texts and email even though I knew there were times that he probably wanted me to relax and just let him do his job. Though he was a very busy and sought after attorney, I never felt like my case was less than first on his list of priorities. Jay also responded to questions that I had regarding other issues not even related to my case and even received referrals from him for family members. Jay is an excellet attorney and even though my very difficult case was WON!!! and is finally over, he still remains on my speed dial.

  7. Jay Norton resolved my case in hours!. It took two other lawyers years to do with Jay did in hours.

    Posted by James, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    2.5 years ago I was wrongfully required to take a sobriety test in the State of Kansas. I had hired two lawyers in two years to work with the State of Kansas to drop the case and they could not help me prove my case to the state. When the second lawyer said there is nothing more he could do for me, he referred me to Jay Norton saying he might be able to help. During the first meeting with Jay, he was already making phone calls and telling me what needed to be done. Within a week, Jay called and said all charges were dropped and the charges were going to be removed from my record. Wow! This affected my entire life, my family and potential job interviews. Jay has given my family and me a new life. Thank you Jay, you are the best!

  8. Aggressive, Hard Working, No BS Attorney_Jay Norton is Your Man!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained the services of Mr. Norton to represent me in a DUI case in Leawood, KS. Given that I reside out of state, Mr. Norton was very flexible in working with me and taking the case on. Furthermore, he took the time to ensure I understood the DUI laws in the State of KS and my legal options and implications.

    After entering into a Diversion Agreement with the Leawood, KS courts, Mr. Norton helped me to identify a reputable monitoring agency in the local KS area and provided any requested counseling throughout my diversion period.

    Thanks in large part to Mr. Norton's aggressive negotiations with the State's Prosecuting Attorney and his diligence and persistence, Mr. Norton was successful in securing an early termination of my DUI case.

    Suffice it to say that I was more than pleased with the outcome of my DUI case and highly recommend Mr. Norton to anyone facing similar legal circumstances. Mr. Norton was quite knowledgable with respect to DUI laws in Leawood, KS, was responsive to any requests for information I had and in returning phone calls or responding to emails, and was attentive to the finest of details in my case.

    When shopping local attorney's in the area, you may that Mr. Norton's rates are higher than other attorney's in the area. However, as my father always said, you get what you pay for. Mr. Norton is kick-butt, no bs attorney that gets the job done and gets resutls. Thanks Jay!!!

  9. Forthcoming, Hardworking, Aggressive, Compassionate:These are just a few traits we found in Jay Norton

    Posted by Courtney, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For the last 6 months Jay Norton and his firm have not only worked for us, but along side my family as we faced a life changing situation. I could not have asked for a better lawyer to be on my side. He takes his practice past just "Winning" a case, he takes the lives of those he represents to heart! I would say he is the best at what he does.

  10. Hardworking, Intelligent, Experienced!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Norton.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jay Norton is a very experienced and hard working DUI Lawyer. He took my case seriously and negotiated a very successful outcome. This was the outcome that was best for me and not necessarily the outcome that was easiest for him to achieve. He was excellent at keeping me informed on how the legal process works and where we were at any given time in the process. Jay is highly intelligent and a very strategic lawyer whom I would heartily recommend. He is quite possibly the finest DUI Lawyer in Kansas.