Skip to main content
Peter Todd Stevenson

Peter Stevenson’s Answers

186 total


  • Can I sue my car dealer?

    On May 30,2015 I put a down payment of $1,000 down on a 2002 Buick Rendezvous. The following week I took them $250.They asking asking price was $3,900.I went to a used car lot but I had a 60 day warranty which really covered 50% if Transmission/En...

    Peter’s Answer

    You may have a claim under the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. You'll want to speak with a consumer rights attorney right away.

    See question 
  • What can I do if I bought a car 2013 Volkswagen May 28,15 and June 7,15 the motor goes out..June 26 same thing happen? GMT AUTO

    They towed the car June 8 I got the car back June 25 they said with a new engine.. June 26 I arrived to work and pull out the drive way and seen oil on the ground and my oil light like before.

    Peter’s Answer

    More information is needed. Did you buy it new or used? If you bought it used, the Lemon Law does not apply, but you may have a claim under the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. Did you buy "as is?" Did you buy from a dealer or private party? If you bought from a dealer, did the dealer give you a valid inspection? These are questions that an attorney will ask you. You should contact an attorney who handles consumer cases.

    See question 
  • My son is sitting in county jail domestic charges I am guessing his third one. Iam reading on the in internet her could get 7

    years for this, is this true?

    Peter’s Answer

    If it's 2nd degree, then yes, that is a Class C Felony, range of punishment is up to 7 years.

    See question 
  • I'm being charged with 1st degree child endangermment ...me and my wife overdosed in gas station parking with our kid in the car

    I was a passenger in the car I don't see how I cam be charged with 1st degree child endangerment and the charges stick any advice or case law that will help me beat this or get it dropped to a misdemeanor

    Peter’s Answer

    You need to hire a lawyer immediately, and not post things on public forums. Delete this post if you can. This incident made the news in Springfield, so either edit or delete your post!!

    See question 
  • My speeding citation says that I was clocked 1.5 miles from where I was pulled over. Do I have a chance of fighting this?

    One of the speed limit signs (a 60 from a 45) was moved back in Republic and I was unaware of this and therefore was speeding in a 45. I saw the cop behind me but didn't realize I was speeding because this area was previously a 60 and I could see ...

    Peter’s Answer

    The best strategy is to hire an attorney to try to fix it to a non-moving violation to avoid points and insurance rate increases.

    See question 
  • Does Missouri have a used car lemon law

    We bought a truck with no warranty and on the way home the transmission starting acting up

    Peter’s Answer

    Missouri's Lemon Law only covers new cars. However, you may still have recourse against the dealer. Please feel free to call or email me, I'd be happy to speak with you about your case.

    See question 
  • My 15 yr old wants to change his name and my husband, the natural father, and I are okay with it. Should he be the petitioner?

    He is transgender and original name is female and we want it changed to a male name. Mom and dad are in support of the name change. He is 15 yrs old. All the pro se paperwork I find for name change for a child is organized as if it is a divorce. S...

    Peter’s Answer

    I am not aware of a form for parents of a minor child to fill out so that the child may change their name. This is beyond the pro se forms. Hire an attorney to make sure this is done properly. I can be reached at 417-501-5320 or email at peter@peterstevensonlaw.com if you have any questions.

    See question 
  • My 17 year old son has a 15 year old tried push him off of a railing. My son ended up punching now they are pressing assult cha

    My17 year old had a 15 year old keep trying to push him off of a railing. My son ended up punching him and not they are pressing assault charges, can they do that? Can we turn around and press charges? This kid is also trying to start something wi...

    Peter’s Answer

    Yes, they can. However, your son may have a viable defense of self-defense. What you need to do is get him an attorney right away (i.e. tomorrow) and make no statements to anyone other than your attorney. Do not try to work this out on your own, and do not post anything else about the case on here. I can be reached at 417-501-5320 or by email at peter@peterstevensonlaw.com.

    See question 
  • What can i do with this car? or with the dealer?

    i bought a 2003 ford focus that i recently found out was in a bad wreck labeling the car disabled. The car should have only been able to be sold as a parts car or a demolition car with a salvage title. i was never informed of the wreck or any of t...

    Peter’s Answer

    You may have some recourse against the dealer. However, I would need more information. Please email me at peter@peterstevensonlaw.com or call me at 417-501-5320 and I'd be happy to discuss this with you further.

    See question 
  • I bought a car from a dealer, i recently found out that my car was in a bad wreck labling it dasabled.

    I am buying the car for $3995 and i was told that with this kind of damage that the car is barely worth $1000 if that. I was also told the car should have only been able to be sold as a parts car or a demolition ccar with a salvage title, but i wa...

    Peter’s Answer

    You may have some recourse against the dealer. However, I would need more information. Please email me at peter@peterstevensonlaw.com or call me at 417-501-5320 and I'd be happy to discuss this with you further.

    See question