Skip to main content
Paul Joseph McMahon

Paul McMahon’s Answers

73 total


  • Is there a place to go for predivorce help in the mid west?

    Someone who can advise customers as to how to go about the pre divorce things that some of us know nothing about like safe temporary housing, how to know the right time to get help from the police etc?

    Paul’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    If you are a victim and are looking for help with domestic or sexual abuse contact the Russell House, P.O. Box 2259,Rolla, MO,573-364-0579. They are located in Rolla and should be able to help you find a place in your area. Good Luck!

    See question 
  • Will first time offense domestic assault 2nd degree result to prison time?

    My fiance and i got into an altercation which led to him hitting me. We were both under influence at time. He has no violent criminal history but does have criminal history. Is it likely for him to do the max sentence with this being his first vio...

    Paul’s Answer

    It will all depend on his priors. If he has ever been to prison before. If he has other felonies on his record they can charge his as a prior and persistant offender. If this happens he will go to prison and will serve at least 85 percent of his sentence. Usually these cases result with probation but it all depends on his criminal history, the extent of the injuries and the prosecuting attorney. Good Luck!

    See question 
  • How can my boyfriend an I be together, with both of us on Felony probation in the state of Missouri?

    In the state of Missouri. My felony probation is SIS but his is on record for life. My PO has told me that I can not have any contact with him

    Paul’s Answer

    You can't unless you are married to each other but to do that would be a violation of your probation. I would talk to your PO and see if the two of you got married would they violate your probation. Good Luck!

    See question 
  • Probation question in Missouri

    I was put on probation in 2007 for class C burglary I was GIVEING 5 years on sis probation and a 30 thousand dollar restution. I was due to get off of probation in 2012 thus serving my fiver years but I had no yet finished paying my restution. Now...

    Paul’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    If you have not paid back restitution by the end of this extension period the State can file a motion to revoke your probation because you have not fulfilled all the terms and conditions of your probation. They can ask that you be revoked and sentence but that the court suspend the execution of that sentence and place you back on probation for another five years. This would result in a conviction of on your record. You need to hired an experience criminal defense and get them to file a motion for early release from probation and ask that the court take you off probation and refer the remaining debt to a collections department. Hope this help. Good luck!

    See question 
  • Can a police officer send a DUI citation in the mail 3 weeks and 2 days after issuing a citation for a minor in possession

    20 yr old stopped by officer for tires in back of car blocking view and 3 people in front, officer then smells alcohol and gives sobriety test takes 20 yr old in handcuffs to police station and then read maranda rights. Now 3 weeks and 2 days late...

    Paul’s Answer

    Yes. An officer does not have to present the ticket that day. They can collect the evidence and proceed with the ticket at a later date. The prosecuting attorney than has up to one year from date of incident, for misdismeanors, to file charges. You should contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Good Luck.

    See question 
  • What are the possible consequences for driving while revoked/suspended-1st offense?

    In 2010, I received 2 DWI's. I was 20 years old. Between then and June of 2012, I went thru an outpatient rehab, 100+ hours community service, changed jobs and got back in school. My attorney suggested this may help the court have mercy on me. The...

    Paul’s Answer

    In Missouri, first violation of for Driving While Suspended/Revoked shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed three hundred dollars. You need to contact an experienced criminal law attorney to help you with this to see if it can get amended. Good Luck.

    See question 
  • Is it against the law to have a body rub that leads to sex even though there was no mentioning money for having sex?

    If you have sex with a women who advertises bodyrubs but you dont mention money for sex?

    Paul’s Answer

    Your case depends on specific facts and in Missouri prostiution is defined as:

    (1) "Promoting prostitution", a person promotes prostitution if, acting other than as a prostitute or a patron of a prostitute, he knowingly

    (a) Causes or aids a person to commit or engage in prostitution; or

    (b) Procures or solicits patrons for prostitution; or

    (c) Provides persons or premises for prostitution purposes; or

    (d) Operates or assists in the operation of a house of prostitution or a prostitution enterprise; or

    (e) Accepts or receives or agrees to accept or receive something of value pursuant to an agreement or understanding with any person whereby he participates or is to participate in proceeds of prostitution activity; or

    (f) Engages in any conduct designed to institute, aid or facilitate an act or enterprise of prostitution;

    (2) "Prostitution", a person commits prostitution if he engages or offers or agrees to engage in sexual conduct with another person in return for something of value to be received by the person or by a third person;

    (3) "Patronizing prostitution", a person patronizes prostitution if

    (a) Pursuant to a prior understanding, he gives something of value to another person as compensation for that person or a third person having engaged in sexual conduct with him or with another; or

    (b) He gives or agrees to give something of value to another person on an understanding that in return therefor that person or a third person will engage in sexual conduct with him or with another; or

    (c) He solicits or requests another person to engage in sexual conduct with him or with another, or to secure a third person to engage in sexual conduct with him or with another, in return for something of value;

    It all depends on what happened. You need to contact an experience criminal defense attorney to see if your facts fit the law. Good Luck!

    See question 
  • What age does the safe school act apply to?

    i got in a fight at school they told me it was 16 and they were going to make me talk to and juvinel officer, i thought that the age limit was 17 am i wrong?

    Paul’s Answer

    At 17 and older you can be charged as an adult. So any crime you commit at school can be charged against you as an adult. If you are 16 and younger you can be charged as a juvenile unless the prosecutor or distict attorney wants to have you certifyied as an adult. Do not talk to a juvenile officer unless you have an attorney or parent present. You have rights that must be protected.

    See question 
  • What issues might I face as a job-seeking High School Social Studies teacher in Missouri with a recent DWI?

    I received the DWI in my last semester of college and have not yet begun job seeking. It is likely that I will receive an SIS with 2 years probation beginning in November.

    Paul’s Answer

    The major problem you will face is whether they ask you if you have ever plead guilty to a crime. If that is the question than you will have to admit to your DWI and that will probably have an effect on you getting hired. If they just ask if you have ever been convicted and you do indeed receive a SIS than you will not have to disclose the DWI. It will depend on what types of questions they ask you in the interview or on the application.

    See question 
  • Boyfriend sex charge

    My bf had been on the Missouri sex offender registry since 2002 and been on that for a long Ike would he be able to to get his name removed being his a teri2 and he has obey the law and has been a repeat offender at all and what do I do to get his...

    Paul’s Answer

    No he will not be able to get his name off the registry.

    See question