Skip to main content
Andrea R. Rogers

Andrea Rogers’s Answers

1,023 total


  • Do you get a letter at the end of a sentence of unsupervised probation telling you it has been successfully completed?

    I am curious as to if I should wait for one or not. Some lawyers online say yes and others no.

    Andrea’s Answer

    No, the court will not send any notification once the probation is completed. If it's in circuit court, you can check casenet online, but most municipal courts don't report case information online so you would have to call the court clerk to confirm that your case has been closed after you successfully complete probation.

    See question 
  • I was caught shoplifting at Walmart. I am a first time offender I have never been in jail or in any trouble. Will I go to jail?

    They say it's a felony amount I have never been on jail and this is my first time doing anything wrong . I feel really stupid . will they charge me with a felony or will it just be a fine please help. How long will it take for me to hear from them

    Andrea’s Answer

    It will not be just a fine if you are charged with felony stealing.

    If you can prove you are indigent, you may be able to get a public defender to represent you. If not, you need to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you.

    See question 
  • Can a person get a change of venue for a misdemeanor marijuana charge ?

    The police are saying they were given permission to search my 17 year old sons vehicle and they were not given permission to do so, and they searched anyways, my son has a witness that says he did not give them permission

    Andrea’s Answer

    Yes, it's possible to get a change of venue.

    Unfortunately for your son, his witness (which was probably a friend of his who was a passenger in his car) won't have much credibility in court (because he's your son's friend), in comparison with the credibility of the police officer who will testify that your son consented to the search.

    If the police officer smelled marijuana, he can search the vehicle without the driver's consent. There are other reasons for a legal search of a vehicle without consent, but that is the most common scenario that comes to mind when dealing with marijuana cases.

    Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent your son if you want to help him avoid having a marijuana possession conviction on his permanent criminal record. .

    See question 
  • Do you have Missouri law driving no insurance

    I was driving no Plates just expired

    Andrea’s Answer

    Yes, in Missouri it's illegal to drive without insurance. If you plead guilty to "Driving Without Insurance," 4 points will be added to your driving record, and your car insurance rates could increase. If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days (if it's your first suspension). I suggest you hire a traffic law attorney to represent you if you want to avoid points being added to your driving record.

    See question 
  • Ticketed for expired plates/no insurance. Car was repossessed and my names is wrong in the summons. Do I have to go to court?

    My car was repossessed a few days later. I missed my first court date and now a summons was sent to my address, but my name is wrong.

    Andrea’s Answer

    You will have to either go to court or hire an attorney to represent you. If you ignore these tickets, the court will issue a warrant for your arrest.

    Your attorney can explain to the Prosecutor that your car was repossessed, but you will still have to provide proof that the vehicle you were driving was insured when you got the ticket, or that the vehicle you own now is insured, or buy non-drivers/non-owners insurance.

    If you decide not to hire an attorney and instead plead guilty to "No Insurance," 4 points will be added to your driving record and your car insurance rates could increase. The "Expired Plates" ticket is a no-point violation. If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your driver's license will be suspended for 30 days (if that's your first suspension).

    The misspelling of your name on the tickets is not enough to get the tickets dismissed. Small errors can be corrected by the police officer or the prosecutor at any time, up to and including date of trial.

    See question 
  • I was caught stealing from south county mall they arrested me and took me to clayton and let me out with paw what is that

    I was released with a paw

    Andrea’s Answer

    If you are charged with stealing, hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you if you want to avoid having a conviction on your permanent criminal record.

    See question 
  • My son is 15 and he was caught on top of a roof and the police charged them with trespassing and destruction of property.

    When he was arrested, an officer, never read them their miranda rights? can charges be dropped?

    Andrea’s Answer

    The police don't have to read you your rights, even when they arrest you. The only reason they read you your Miranda rights is when they want to question you while in police custody and use your testimony against you later in court. When the evidence against the person is extremely obvious, there is no reason for the cop to interrogate the person in custody. Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent your son to get the charges dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense.

    See question 
  • I have a warrant out for my arrest from 2007 for failure to appear for a bad check; where do I go from here?

    This is in the state of Missouri. I paid the checks and the fines not realizing that I still had to go to court. It is now 2014 and I was informed (a few days ago) by a friend that they saw that I had a warrant out for my arrest. I had no idea ...

    Andrea’s Answer

    Hire a local attorney who practices in the city or county where this occurred. Your attorney can lift the warrant for you so you don't have to pay the bond or turn yourself in to police, and then your attorney can negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor.

    See question 
  • Is denying search of vehicle a probation violation?

    I had picked a friend up from someones house after they got off work one night when as soon as I pulled into the driveway, police had surrounded looking for someone else that lived at that home. The officers then approached the car I was in the d...

    Andrea’s Answer

    If the conditions of your probation state that you have to consent to a search if requested, then yes, that's a probation violation.

    See question 
  • Pine lawn police department has a hold on my license for a ticket in 2011. Its in warrant status. What is the best way to handle

    I would like to know the best way to take care of and the cheapest way as well

    Andrea’s Answer

    Hire a traffic law attorney to lift the warrant for you and get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won't affect your driving record or insurance rates. You won't have to appear in court, turn yourself in to police, or pay the bond. You will have to pay a fine & court costs to the court, but the court usually gives defendants at least 30 days to pay.

    See question