Marjorie K. Carter’s Reviews

Marjorie K. Carter

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Recommended Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.

    I have known Marjorie for over a year, and it has been an honor to have her representation. Amidst a major life crisis that had turned my entire life upside down, and when I was terrified and confused, Marjorie helped me find clarity, put things in perspective throughout the legal process. She is knowledgeable, intelligent, confident, understanding, very pleasant, and compassionate as well as accommodating, fair and attentive with my case. She keeps me well informed every step of the way and made sure that I was making the right decision under the circumstances. She understood my goals that financially protected my teenage daughter and achieved the best possible outcome for all parties. I was very pleased and highly recommend Marjorie; she is an excellent lawyer and a truly genuine person.

  2. Divorce

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.

    After going through such a emotional experience in your life,not being in the write frame of mind,she made sure I clearly understood all that was going on.,and all the legal terms. She went over and beyond her job as rep-resenting me as her client

  3. Marjorie Carter is a true professional.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marjorie Carter is a true professional. Marjorie represented me during my dissolution of marriage proceedings. She provided easy to understand explanations of the law and how it applies or does not apply to my situation. Marjorie was instrumental in guiding me through this taxing emotional time and process in a way in which I truly felt was fair for all parties involved. This was not about hurting or teaching a lesson, it was a tribute to the preservation of family with the emotional well being of my children always in the forefront. Marjorie is always prompt in returning calls and emails and is great in following through with me to ensure I'm comfortable with where we are and to ensure I know where we were headed. I highly recommend Marjorie Carter.

  4. Happiness again.

    Posted by Maureen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Went thru a bumpy divorce and she was very understanding and key point was she actually LiSTENED to what I was worried or scared about. I felt very much like she was part of my family, she calmed me down and told me how it is and I needed that -as I looked back - it is a very very hard thing to go thru in your life and I was glad -so glad I met Marjorie and that she helped me thru this.

  5. Divorce mediation consultation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I sought Marjorie's services when an unexpected pregnancy (not mine) complicated the mediated divorce that was in process, just to have someone in my court that I could use as a sounding board for questions.

    One of the main issues that Marjorie assisted with was wording around the various scenarios in which my name would come off of the marital residence. For the stability of my daughters, I had agreed to allow my ex-wife to remain at the marital residence with my daughters until I had fulfilled my agreed upon maintenance responsibility. My goal was to protect my good credit should the economy not recover by the time it needed to be sold/assumed. Marjorie was able to help provide a concise wording that was able to protect my financial risk and I that I was able to deliver to the mediator and ultimately reach an agreement with my ex-wife.

    I was very pleased with all aspects of the services that Marjorie provided, and while it was some additional expense in the process, she more than covered her fees with one simple change to the structure of child support. In my opinion, she is worth the money!

  6. Very kind, passionate, hard working attorney!

    Posted by Gayle, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie more than 3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Child Custody matter.

    Marjorie is such a calm, efficient attorney. She works extremely hard at getting the job done. She is thorough and makes the time in her busy schedule to speak to you when you need to reach her. She is quick to respond to both phone calls and emails. She is very detailed orientated and he assistant, Sally, is wonderful as well.

  7. Fantastic Counsel

    Posted by Josh, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • Marjorie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marjorie went above and beyond my expectations and I am extremely satisfied with her services. I went through a very demanding custody case and she was always prompt in speaking with me or returning my phone calls and\or emails. I would recommend her to any person looking for an honest, diligent, and precise lawyer.

  8. Marjorie Carter Review

    Posted by Terri, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie 6-12 months ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found Marjorie to be very responsive and helpful in walking me through first my divorce and then the motion to modify.

  9. A blessing

    Posted by Denise, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I was referred to Marjorie by another lawyer/friend and what a blessing she has been to me! My divorce started out very ugly, but with Marjorie and her support and caring nature, she brought a calmness to me. She is trustworthy and walks a path of integrity. She is kind, considerate and a great listener. Marjorie kept me informed of the proceedings and helped me to stay true to myself and my own personal integrity. A 34-year marriage ended amicably and calmly thanks to Marjorie. I was blessed to have her handle my divorce and I will refer her to anyone that crosses my path in the future.

  10. Nothing good about her--unethical, incompetent, overbills

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marjorie Carter.
    • I hired Marjorie more than 3 years ago.
    • Marjorie handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    She handled my divorce and custody case. The opposing attorney and judge were probably more helpful to me than she was. She drones on in court, talking in circles, and putting the court to sleep. She just did not show up for the last hearing. She sent a wimpy associate who had passed the bar the year before. She did not even notify me that she would not be there. She billed me about $40k for this year long fiasco. She paid no attention to the specific issues in the case--just went through the motions and churned unearned legal fees. Later I heard similiar stories from other people. . I cannot tell you how bad she was for me. I will be paying for picking her for the rest of my life. Get someone else.

    1. Marjorie K. Carter

      Marjorie Carter

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're so sorry you had a bad experience with our firm. We strive to provide client satisfaction in every case. This matter does not sound familiar, but please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag