Ted Harvatin’s Reviews

Ted Harvatin

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Looking for an attorney who actually cares?

    Posted by Shawn, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted < 1 month ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're looking for an attorney who actually cares about your case...call Mr. Harvatin.

    From my initial consultation, until the reinstatement of my drivers license Mr. Harvatin helped me understand the procedure and kept his word. He methodically worked through the legal process & guided me accordingly.

    After retaining his counsel, his staff was on top of my case. They called, they emailed, they reached out to me and they followed up. I was provided clear direction and was always aware of the next step. He gives you defined timetables and expectations.

    Our case objective was clear from day one. The process worked smoothly. Within months I obtained driving relief. In 15 Months, I obtained a full reinstatement. His pricing is competitive and considering what you get - a bargain. In addition, I found Ted to be easy to speak with. He's down to earth & honest. Overall, my experience with Mr. Harvatin was outstanding. He restored my faith in lawyers and casts a big shadow for other attorneys to follow. Frankly, I don't think most can.

    I am grateful, I am humbled, and I highly recommend him.

  2. Out Of State Drivers License Petitioner

    Posted by Ricky, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Illinois had revoked my drivers license for a mistake I made as a teenager & I truly felt it was a waste of time trying to battle the system so I waited 17 long years to give it a try. I contacted Mr. Harvatins Law Firm & asked if he thought trying to get my drivers license back was hopeless & he replied "Far from it" which gave me hope! Ted took my case & once the ball got rolling it took about 4 maybe 5 months for the state of Illinois to grant me full reinstatement of my driving privileges with the very first & only out of state petition packet he submitted. I will never forget Rose Painter ( Mr.Harvatins assistant) calling that day saying that I would be able to go get my license...truly 1 of the best days of my life! Harvatin Law Firm has changed my life & I cant Thank them enough for helping me in this matter. I highly recommend anyone that needs a very knowledgeable lawyer that knows exactly how to get the job done right the first time while trying to get their license back needs to contact Mr. Harvatin & his very helpful, caring assistant Rose. Thank you again Mr. Harvatin!

  3. THE BEST LAWYER EVER!!!!!!

    Posted by Laura, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To put it simply, Mr. Harvatin is the BEST!
    Professional and kind. He eased my fears and did everything he could to help me, and that he did.
    Anytime I had a questions he was quick to reply.
    His knowledge of the system and situation was spectacular.
    I forever owe him my grattitude.
    If you are looking for an attorney, do not look any further..unless you want to settle for less than the best.

  4. Excellent Law Firm!

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have been dealing with Illinois DMV for 4 long months jumping through all their hoops and getting nothing but the run around. Mr Harvatin and his staff member Rose had my issue taken care of within a week and I got my drivers license back. They were professional and wonderful to do business with!

  5. Personable and Professional

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted 1-3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Harvatin's experience was exemplary!! I worked primarily with his knowledgeable and responsive office staff. I had all of the required paperwork required by the S.of S. beforehand, but they sent me a checklist and reviewed it prior to my pre-hearing consult.

    When I arrived at the office it was apparent that Mr. Harvatin had taken the time to review my information, asked some clarification questions and walked me through a mock hearing. I was resinstated on my first attempt, thanks in no small part to his and his colleagues efforts. It was the best money I spent.

  6. Out of state Dui

    Posted by Jacob, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would recommend this lawyer, but dont expect to hear from the guy at all, I hired him last year to take care of my out of state hearing and not one time did the actual lawyer call me or even talk to me, all i ever heard from was his assistant, if people have to fork out thousands of dollars for a lawyer you would think they would want to speak with their clients directly, another thing was the amount of errors that the firm continued to do, 1. wrong mailing address, had to find out the hard way when my over nite letter didnt arrive overnite, 2 submitting paperwork to the SOS that has not been gone over for mistakes, again had to learn the hard way, that one they didnt even bother telling me had to find out from the SOS that the paperworik was unfinished, 4 week setback and all i got was "it shouldnt effect the outcome" dont expect them to fight for you in any way when it comes to requirments from the SOS, I personally did 2 alhocol education classes for 1 dui and not one time did harvatin law point this out to the SOS they just tell me "you have to do it again" so after 3 dui classes, 3 alcohol evaluations and another year of my license being suspended and about another 3k down the drain I finally recieve my license back I would rate this firm at a low 3 star out of 5, they did however get my license back on the first try, it took a year.

    1. Ted Harvatin

      Ted Harvatin

      Lawyer Comment:

      The SOS is an administrative agency with rules. The rules can only be bent so far. if in fact this unidentified person had completed DRE twice before, it would be on file with the SOS. When someone moves and fails to inform me of that fact, it's pretty hard to see how that is my fault. I have no idea who this person is, but he seems pretty hard to please. He got his license back on the first try and yet he is still complaining. I was hired to get his license back. I did my job.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  7. traffic ticket

    Posted by Joe, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The staff is very helpful and intelligent. Response is quick and direct with your alternatives. When a decision is made, they act timely and take care of the problem. I would highly recommend this service for traffic related problems.

  8. Ted got my license back after 7 1/2 years

    Posted by Dave, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The process was so easy I couldn't believe it. I was supposed to fill out an out of state packet which was a pain and was a very long and daunting task. I called Ted and had my license within 3 months and I couldn't believe how easy it was.

  9. Best DUI Lawyer in Springfield

    Posted by Rachel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ted pretty much did the impossible. I had a DUI on my record that I had gotten supervison for. I was in jeopardy of losing my job. He got the summary of suspension recinded (dropped) and DUI treated as a first offense. I did not lose my license at all. I could not be more grateful for his services and have already referred several people to him. I will continue to do so. He definitely knows the law and how to help people.

  10. My Hearing Experience

    Posted by Timothy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ted Harvatin.
    • I hired Ted more than 3 years ago.
    • Ted handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have nothing but good things to say about my hearing experience with Mr Havatin as my lawyer. His entire office (especially Amber Pittman) was very efficient and kind. I never had to wait too long when I had to meet with Mr. Havatin, and that's a rarety in the lawyer world.

    Whenever I had a question Amber was always eager to get an answer for me and her kindness was much appreciated. Mr. Harvatin's office was run very well.

    I have recommended Mr. Harvatin to several friends and will continue to do so in the future.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

217-525-0520