Kathy M. Baker-Bowen’s Reviews

Kathy M. Baker-Bowen

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Attorney: Professional, Fair, and Honest

    Posted by Brad, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • Kathy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathy was very professional, honest, and fair. She always told us the truth even when it wasn't what we wanted to hear and made sure to prepare us for what would be coming at us next. There was no BS, sugar coating, or wasting our time trying for results she knew we couldn't get. She only charged us for the actual time she worked and didn't just round up to the nearest hour or half hour like most attorneys. She always answered our questions in a timely manner as well. We felt as if she actually had a vested interest in our case and making our lives better. We won our case and would recommend Kathy's services to anyone needing an attorney.

  2. Kathy is extraordinary!!

    Posted by Maria, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-6 months ago.
    • Kathy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathy is an exceptional attorney, extended knowledge in the laws and did a great job translating legal terms into language that I was able to understand. By far she exceeded my expectations when she represented me in my child custody case. She is a compassionate, honest and caring individual and a great asset and representation of the legal profession.

  3. I was referred to Kathy by another attorney and she met and exceeded my expectations

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-6 months ago.
    • Kathy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kathy did a great job with my divorce case and mine was a difficult one to say the least. She was professional and had me prepared for anything that might come up. I would recommend her and would use again if needed.

  4. THE ONLY LAWYER I WOULD EVER USE! The BEST!

    Posted by Janelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Kathy Baker-Bowen in the Yellow Pages over 10 years ago when I was getting divorced. Not only did she do an excellent job, she fought hard for me and kept me in the loop as issues came up during the divorce. Since that time I have referred over 6 clients to her, all happy, satisfied clients. I have also used her again after my daughter was born to write our Will and my husband hired her to get more visitation with his son/my stepson. I wouldn't use anyone else, but her!

  5. Adoption Excellence!

    Posted by Tonya G., a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathy handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kathy was very knowledgeable and responsive. She took control of our entire situation and made our adoption so easy. She attended all of the court dates (without us having to be present for most) and kept us informed of each step. I have recommended her to three friends and she has handled all of their issues with ease as well. Kathy is your one-stop-shop for family law! -Tonya

  6. Kathy Baker-Bowen

    Posted by Dane, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • Kathy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mrs. Baker-Bowen was my teacher at University of Illinois Springfield for a semester so I got to spend 16 weeks with her as we went over Civil Procedure. While she was not my attorney she was competent in each area of knowledge that we were tested on as students - From Wills, Contracts, Divorce proceedings, etc.

    I was then offered a position in her office as an intern and spent close to 200 hours working alongside her (and her office) to shadow her while she worked on divorces, custody, and adoption.

    Funny thing about the internet is that you can lambaste a profession with no real concern due to anonymity. I feel bad that the other posters think that of Mrs. Baker-Bowen, as she was nothing but professional and prompt in all the meetings that I attended.

    I am curious though if the people that are commenting lost their case, or were just merely displeased with their verdict?

    Regardless of the negative commentary - I have recommended Mrs. Baker-Bowen to several of my friends and she has offered to assist pro-bono a few times to clientele that cannot make their payments.

    She was a valuable asset to the Christian, Sangamon, and Montgomery County Courts.

    9.5/10 would hire, and would recommend for anyone looking for representation in the arena of family law.

  7. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Cynthia, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathy is one of the best Attorney I have ever dealt with. She is honest, trustworthy and will help you anytime. She always tries to give the best advise, Councils and is very fair. I have used her many times and have recommended her to many people. She always had mine or my children's best interest and would always set me straight if I was wrong. Thank you !

  8. Easy to understand and talk with. She gets the job done and cares about you as a person. A rare find in an Attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We hired Kathy to represent my Daughter in her Divorce case. I must admit at first I was not sure because we needed a strong attorney to represent her. and I was unfamiliar with her. Her husbands family was well known in the community. She listened, was attentive and respected what we had to say and acknowledged my daughters feelings were important. Kathy was not the first attorney that we had interviewed. We actually had to lose a significant retainer with another attorney to switch and I believe we made the right decision.

    She provided us with helpful information and strong guidance in what was important and what we would just have to live with. She was honest and knew how the judges would react to our case and I must say she was spot on. Even if what she told us we did not want to hear she made sure that we understood and she let us make the decisions. She argued our case by what we wanted and not what she wanted. She was clear and concise in court and was outspoken when needed. She knew her facts and made the other attorneys look unprepared and stupid to the point that the judge had to question my daughters soon to be ex husband on his decision to keep his attorney.

    Yes, we wanted everything and no we did not get everything but I must say in doing research we fared much better than we could have under the circumstances. I really hate attorneys and I have had the unfortunate opportunity to work with many as a part of my job but I would not hesitate to hire her again if the need arose. I know that she would be honest and do her best!

  9. Great attorney

    Posted by Leann, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy 1-6 months ago.
    • Kathy handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathy handled our daughters adoption, our Wills, and my POA for my mother. She is very professional yet personable. She always was available when we had questions regarding our cases. The best!

  10. My opinion of Kathy Baker-Bowen

    Posted by Robyn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathy Baker-Bowen.
    • I hired Kathy more than 3 years ago.
    • Kathy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She handled my divorce with the husband that I actually re-married 3 years later! (we insisted we were getting divorced). She was professional, trustworthy, compassionate and kind. She wrote my will which was done with utmost detail and attention to every issue. She has guided me to other attorneys for other legal matters that were not in her field. She takes pride in her work and never treated me like I was a number or a source of income. Very impressed.