Brian L. Polinske’s Reviews

Brian L. Polinske

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Brian was very helpful

    Posted by john, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Brian did everything he said he would do. His staff was / is very polite and seemed to be concerned about my case. Brian even went out of his way to help me.

  2. Really provided great help when it was needed most, straight forward, honest and dependable.

    Posted by Daniel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with simply assault and resisting arrest after a stranger had followed my daughter home. I was refereed to Mr. Polinske, we meet and after reviewing my case he said that this may take some time 6 to 9 months or more. He would work on getting the charges dropped but offered no promises and if he needed more from me he would contact me later. It was discovered that my rights to a speedy trial were violated so both charges were dismissed. I thank Mr. Polinske from the bottom of my heart and any time I have a legal issue arise in my future I will contact him.

  3. Dissatisfied

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.

    Brian "resolved" a case for me recently. Not once did I get an opportunity to speak to the man in person because he was in court every time I came in/on the phone, or discuss possible outcomes for my case. I was charged $600 for his services AND was told multiple times by his secretary that the $600 would cover any penalties as well as his fee for representing me. This morning however I received a letter dated back to July 9th (it is now the 22nd) stating that I owe $200 by August 28th and will be on court supervision for 90 days. It was never once discussed with me how my case would be handled, or different options. My money was taken, and it was not used for what I was told, and I am not well off by any means. If I had been informed by Mr.Polinske that there would be further fees/penalties I would've still used his services, but been more prepared to handle the brunt of it. However because I was told contrary I now will be struggling financially for the next two months+. If you plan on using Brian be sure to meet with him in person, and that you're told of every possible outcome for your case., because unfortunately I was left in the dark about my own case. The letter is the only direct contact from Mr.Polinske I had throughout this experience.

    1. Brian L. Polinske

      Brian Polinske

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ms. Sanders, I believe you advised when we met that I was to resolve your case by any means necessary to "get rid" of the drug paraphernalia charge as you were in the process of gaining a college degree. I was able to amend the charge to Disorderly Conduct and you were sentenced to court supervision which results in a dismissal. I'm confused why now you are claiming that I did something other than what initially was discussed between us. I tried to call you to see if you need an extended pay date. My closing letter advised you to call me with any further questions and I have not heard from you. I was on vacation for 11 days so I apologize for the late letter to you regarding the disposition. I hope you call me to discuss any remaining issues.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  4. Best Attorney Ever

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have retained Brian Polinske for several traffic citations that my son has received over the past few years . My son has never once had to appear in court and Brian was able to get a dismissal on the tickets. I have and always will refer family and friends in need of an attorney to Brian Polinske.

  5. Great Lawyer! Brian is a straightforward guy and delivers exactly what he promises.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am a recent college graduate who came to Brian after being arrested for a DUI and several smaller offenses . He was highly recommended by people in the area and after my experience I can understand why. In addition to the DUI, I was charged with possession of drug paraphernalia for possessing a cannabis grinder and for an open-container violation due to a beer sitting in my passenger side floorboard. As promised, he was able to get the paraphernalia and open container charges dropped. Additionally, he was able to keep the DUI charge off of my permanent record and I kept my license. As an aspiring doctor, it was of utmost importance to not have a permanent criminal record. Brian has experience dealing with aspiring professionals and worked with me closely from the beginning and understood my priorities. He was able to negotiate a deal on my behalf that I was very satisfied with. Brian definitely did not walk me through every step of the process and this made me nervous at times. However, when something important happened or when I grew worried, he took the time to let me know everything was going according to plan. In retrospect, I realize it was only his extreme confidence in his ability to deliver what he promised that led him to move the process along without keeping me updated every step of the way. If you are looking for someone to constantly update you at every step of the process, Brian may not be your man. However, if you are looking for great results and someone who delivers what they promise, Brian is your guy. In the end, I was extremely satisfied with Brian, the temporary displeasure of dealing with uncertainty was more than made up for by the results Brian was able to deliver.

  6. Brian Will Give You Your Life Back

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Gotta be real, Brian is quite an... individual. If you want your hand held and for your attorney to breathlessly inform you of every move, he's not your man. Look, this guy just does what he knows needs to be done. Maybe you'll hear about it and maybe you won't. It's frustrating when you're the one with your neck in the noose. On the other hand, would you rather have some glad-hander or a guy who will actually get you off!? Think about it.

    While you're at it, think about how you're gonna pay for your freedom. If you're in serious doo-doo you need an attorney who will work on a bond assignment. There are supposed big-time guys up in Chicago who want $50K to just sign your sorry ass up. Brian will go ahead and work for you even if you've posted bond, so you aren't doubly cleaned-out before you even get results. Bottom line, even if you don't hire him, you don't need to pay everything up front to a lawyer. If you got ripped off on your bond amount because of a small-town kangaroo court, then assign it to your lawyer and pay him that way.

    So the thing you need to consider is all the illegal bullshit LEOs do when they hassle you and charge you with a bunch of stuff that is false. Do you just want to get off and go your merry way or do you want to NAIL the f^&($%s who made your life a living hell for months... years... before your case was resolved? If you prefer the latter, then calm down and let him methodically set your case up for a civil rights case after it's all said and done. Yep, you will be screwed until it's done. You won't pass a background check. If you want to earn anything you'll need to be self employed. Deal with it. It sucks, I know.

    Suffice it to say, Brian is a cool dude and will get you off unless you're a complete badass; in that case I don't know what to tell you. But the cops are so sloppy he'll probably find a mistake they made and you'll eventually walk free. OK? So hire the guy and believe he's doing the right thing even if he's not reporting every minute.

    Finally, good luck, my prayers are with you. It's a totally effed up system, he knows it, and he'll eventually give you your life back.

  7. "HE DELIVERED"

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Almost a year ago, my son was arrested in a little town call Edwardsville, Illinois for transporting illegal products across stateliness. At that time, my son was attending college in the state of Arizona, but his home of record was Texas. My husband and I received a phone call from our son stating that he was arrested, we were upset, but we knew that he would be in need of a good attorney in the located area. We pray that a miracle would come our way. Well to make a long story short, our prayers were answered. Our son provided us a name of an attorney (Brian Polinske). So, we immediately made contact with Mr. Polinske. During our initial phone meeting we inquired about obtaining legal services for our son. We were satisfied with the terms of the legal services provided by Mr. Polinske. How residence was so far from where the incident occurred driving back and forth to court would have been stressful, so Mr. Polinske told us that court appearances would be minimal. We communicated with Mr. Polinske by phone or thru email and his office assistance Jen. Jen was a wonderful help. Jen thanks so very much for your patiences and excellent assistance. Mr. Polinske has demonstrated to us that he was trustworthy and not to mention how knowledgeable he was of the legal system. My son is a young man who has his whole life in front of him. He just made a bad choice. We were please with the final (HE DELIVERED) outcome of the case. All charges against my son were dismissed. Mr. Polinske my family thank you so very much for representing our son a job well done!!!! Overall rating on a scale of 1-10 yes 10

  8. Misdemeanor Domestic Battery Dismissal - Madison County

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First of all...A BIG Thank you Brian! I'm writing this review because I want to help the next person in my situation make an informed decision when choosing who will represent you. As someone who has never been on the wrong side of the law I suddenly found myself faced with a very serious charge. I started my search making many phone calls and spent several hours reading reviews. I needed to make the right choice. Folks, look no further. I read through all of his recent cases on his website as well as some of his reviews here and decided to make an appointment with Brian. He was very polite and answered my questions directly. But importantly, he also seemed confident about my case and knew the law well.
    The Result: I never had to step into court. After three months and three attempts by Brian I received a phone call with the good news...case dismissed! His paralegal kept me informed along the way and I always felt "in the loop."
    (I am in the middle of a divorce and was shockingly arrested for domestic battery. Apparently it's not uncommon for these charges to be used as leverage in a divorce and/or child custody dispute. I believe this to be true in my particular case. I'm grateful that I had Brian representing me and that the legal system got it right.)

  9. Former client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was unjustly arrested in Madison county for driving under the influence of alcohol. I took my case to Brian after having several people recommend him to me, and hearing their stories about what a great job he did for them. Brian spoke with me over the phone just a day or two after contacting his office. He took the time to hear my whole story and told me what he could do for me and how the process would work, before having met with him in person or paying any money. He is a great lawyer who really knows his stuff which is why i wasn't surprised at all that he was able to have all charges against me dropped. I highly recommend him as a criminal defense attorney to any and all others who need to seek assistance involving criminal law. He was worth every penny.

  10. Excellent and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Mark, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Polinske.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Civil Rights matter.

    The thing that I appreciated most about working with Brian Polinske is that he was honest about my case and I was clear from the beginning what to expect. I received regular calls from him to update me on the progress of my suit. He was realistic about our chances and the recent settlement, in my favor, was right within the range of what i was told to expect from the very beginning.
    I highly recommend Brian Polinske.

Call now for a free consultation.

618-692-6520