James Paul Lefante’s Reviews

James Paul Lefante

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Law Firm

    Posted by Nancy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. LeFante and his staff were very professional in their handling of our college-aged son's criminal defense. They were able to accomplish an alternative to prison, and are always there for us in case any questions arise. We would highly recommend Mr. LeFante for any criminal defense legal issues as his area of expertise far outweighed our expectations.

  2. Honest Lawyer, You won't regret it!

    Posted by Levan G., a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Great lawyer! Was very informative, explained my options.I highly recomend J.Lefante to anyone who wants a lawyer who is actually going to be there for them and not turn them away in despair.

  3. Best Lawyers in Peoria area

    Posted by Joshua, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had got myself in to trouble 4 years ago. After a long battle and several motions filed. We settled for first time felon probation.(4-10) Which the States Attorney fought very hard against. Jim and Mike Doubet fought very hard for me and never gave up. They saw that I was getting the book thrown at me and I have never seen lawyers actually fight a case like it was their own charges. My probation was for 2 years. After a year and a half I was pulled over and convicted for driving on revoked. Peoria County didn't hesitate to revoke my probation and I went in with a Public Defender. The State said they would only take a conviction an 1 year state time no exceptions. I called Jim right away. Jim knows my family because he treats us like family. I don't have a secret that Mr. Lefante doesn't know. I was also battling another case in Tazewell County. I knew with Jim and Mike on my case I would be ok. After several months going over everything Tazewell's charges were dropped and I do not have a conviction. This guys and all the staff are great. They take every case and fight like its there own.

  4. Great Experience !!!!

    Posted by Eric & Jackie, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    They all were great! Always kept me updated and very nice!! I really appreciated Liz she was so understanding and always very nice!!! I would use them again and I will send anyone to then that is in need of a good lawyer !!

  5. Mr. Lefante and his office crew are the most caring and understanding law firm my husband and myself could have ever found!!

    Posted by Terri, a Slip and Fall client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Slip and Fall Accident matter.

    I had a major slip and fall accident and needed to seek out a lawyer for help and guidance. On our first visit with Mr. Lefante he talked with us for well over an hour and took the time to read all the documentation I had wrote up regarding my accident. He told us his background, asked questions regarding our case and was very caring and truly sympathetic of our case and we felt he truly wanted to help us. We had no reservations at that point making the decision to hire him on!
    I was in a lot of pain and had to go through a year and a half of all kinds of different doctors, therapies, surgeries and injections. It was one ordeal after another trying to figure out why I was in so much pain. Jim and his staff were there with me every step of the way, documenting every thing, taking in all my medical bills and always sympathetic of my pain and the discouragement I was going through and always gave me positive encouragement to keep me going to my doctors appointments and to keep my spirits up because the goal and focus was always for me to get better. At one point I was so upset and crying as I had finally reached a breaking point that I called Jim in a frantic panic and he talked with me until he finally got me settled down on the phone to get me back on track to continue on to try to find out what was wrong with me. Medical bills also started piling up and we needed some major help as we did not have the funds to pay all of them. Jim was willing to help with the medical bills by sending out letters to the medical providers letting them know he would take on a lien for these bills until medical treatment was complete. I was overwhelmed with the fact he was willing to go that far to help us out, that was such a huge relief to us. I could not have been more appreciative for his help at that moment! Jim and his staff no matter how many times we called or had problems were always there to try to answer our questions and help out in anyway possible.. We never ever felt like we were a bother to them. I always felt like we were top priority every step of our lengthy ordeal. We were always kept informed of any information we needed to be informed of at all times via phone, mail or e-mail.
    After both of my major surgeries Jim and his staff sent me a beautiful flowers to try to cheer me up! The whole staff just made us feel like family which was very comforting.
    Finally after getting out of pain it was time to get geared up for court which was very scary to us as we had never been through anything like this before. Jim helped us the entire way through the whole process, he went out of his way to set up evening appointments for us to help get us prepped for court. We finally ended up going to Federal court for mediation for our case and after spending the entire the day mediating our case we came to a great settlement on our behalf!! Jim immediately got his staff preparing all the paperwork and by time we got back from court all paperwork was ready for us to sign and with in three weeks settlement was received. Jim and his staff then got all medical bills paid and even went above and beyond expectations with medical bills and actually made some phone calls to some of the medical providers to see if they would reduce some of their fees to help us with our net income and they were actually able to get a lot of the medical providers to reduce their bills for pay off!!
    My husband and myself are elated with the service we received with Mr. Lafante and his awesome office crew and we give them the highest recommendation we can give and thank them for all their help, compassion and support through this whole lengthy process. Thank you , thank you ,thank you for being a law firm with grounded roots and bringing that through to us as your clients, that gave us so much comfort in more ways then you and your staff will ever know and thanks for giving us the opportunity to become part of the Lefante family! :-)
    03/15/2014

  6. Knowledgable and Effective

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Lefante.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. LeFante represented me in my divorce after a previous lawyer led me in a wrong, almost irretrievable direction. He researched my case and was honest and forthright with his advice. He worked diligently with me to determine a strategy for my case and coached and encouraged me to present the best evidence for my trial. It was obvious Mr. LeFante cared about my case and was dedicated to presenting it in the most effective manner. I put my complete trust in him for a favorable outcome for me and my two children and I was not disappointed. What sets him apart from other attorneys, in my opinion, is his intelligence, knowledge and dedication to his clients. He is superlative where it comes to legal representation that you can count on. I highly recommend him to anyone seeking the services of a competent and caring attorney.