Susan Hickman Butler’s Reviews

Susan Hickman Butler

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. very satisfied

    Posted by Gary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I changed attorneys because my previous one was pessimistic about winning child custody. Thank God I found Susan Butler. She was recommended by a paralegal in another Peoria office , and she and her paralegals handled my case all the way through a two day trial. Her brilliance in the courtroom showed me what a true professional can do who believes in her client. Last year I again asked Susan to handle some retirement paperwork which required an attorney. Although Susan did not personally handle this case, the results were the same: excellent.

  2. THANK YOU SUSAN BUTLER! YOU AND YOUR STAFF ARE AMAZING!

    Posted by Lynn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Susan Butler and her staff are very caring, compassionate and trustworthy! Susan's knowledge about divorce law was very comforting to me in such a stressful time in my life - the end of a 30 year marriage! She and her staff were always quick to respond to any questions and concerns of mine! Susan was very professional, yet very friendly, open and easy to talk to about many of the concerns I had during my divorce proceedings! She negotiated a very fair settlement! She is a very strong lawyer with the facts about the law to back it up! I appreciated that she was willing to give me the facts about the the law and did not leave me with any doubts or false hopes in my case! I would not hesitate to hire her again, and I would highly recommend Susan to anyone who needs a divorce or family law attorney! She is an amazing woman and does an excellent job! Susan and her staff receive an EXCELLENT RATING from this very satisfied client!

  3. SB Law Saves Lives

    Posted by Kevin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.

    Susan Butler was a true god send. My ex wife had custody of our children and hopped from guy to guy and all different locations. My child support was spent on her habits. Then one day she said she is going to marry some guy she new twenty some years ago and move over three hundred miles away. She claimed there was nothing I could do about it. She took my kids and left to be with their new dad. I didn't know what to do so I took my case to Susan Butler. Susan listened and took notes in an amazing fashion because she told me everything I told her word for word after I talked. That was impressive because I was freaked out at the time and talking real fast. Then Susan told me what to do and what she was going to do. I didn't have to do much other then come up with character witnesses. Susan first got my kids to me through the court, interviewed witnesses and family, and fight my case in court. We had a tough fight because my ex's lawyer was playing the fact that my ex was a woman and my kids were two girls that need their mom. Susan fought the good fight and proved instability. We won but even if we had lost I would have still been impressed by Susan's efforts. Susan gave a very impressionable sense of care towards me and my girls who were scared through the battle because they had time with me where they saw structure. It was an amazing win because I am now a single father who has his kids living with him. That is almost unheard of. I have had my girls living with me for five years now and it is a dream come true. We celebrate the day they came to live hear with a vacation every year. It was Florida last year for our vacation. Every other day is like a dream. I look back at the struggle and thank God everyday that I saw Susan Butler's phone number and gave her a shot at helping me. I don't know how it all worked out but my only understanding is that there actually are good lawyers with ethics out there.

  4. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!

    Posted by TGO, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I would recommend Susan Butler to represent you in any family law issue. Susan is professional, compassionate and is dedicated to her profession. Susan did not sugar coat anything during my case. She provided me the answers to my case that a knowledgable and experience attorney would know. Every male in the State of Illinois understands the laws of this State are one sided, yet Susan was able to negotiate a fair settlement for my family, allowing me to be a father to my children. I have yet to meet another Family Law Attorney that has the respect of Judges and fellow Attorneys. Again, I would highly recommend Susan Butler and her highly qualified staff to assist you in any of your family law issues.

  5. Susan Butler: A True Advocate

    Posted by Judith, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.

    I found Ms. Butler to be empathetic while remaining very professional. She handled my legal issue with expediency and at minimum financial expense. The issue was the last one to be taken care of from my divorce 18 years ago. I had worked with a different attorney for my divorce and wish now that I had gone to Ms. Butler back then. I believe that she would have made a very painful experience easier with her gracious manner and the legal proceedings would not have been as protracted. She is a true advocate for her clients. I highly recommend her.

  6. Wonderful experience with Susan!

    Posted by SLB, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Susan looked at every aspect of my case and helped me achieve my desired outcome plus some! She looked out for my best interests and respected my decisions. Susan looked at my situation as a person and not just another divorce case to process on paper. She gathered information about my 20 yr marriage, my children, and my needs to take on the future as a single parent. She helped me through one of the most difficult times of my life.
    Her staff is wonderful as well! I could call the office and whoever answered knew my name. I have no complaints whatsoever and will definitely be requesting her expertise and assistance when future needs arise!

  7. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS ATTORNEY

    Posted by Sara, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Butler.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My daughter and I met with this attorney concerning serious child abuse of my grandchildren by a care provider. I had searched the internet for a law firm that specialized in this type of case, and that would be strong in court. Susan Butler's website was written so well and promised such strong legal support to clients, that I called her office. I explained to the legal aide who answered the phone that we lived quite some distance from the office, I explained the situation in detail, and asked if this is something that Attorney Butler could help us with. The legal aide assured me very strongly that yes, this was exactly what this attorney does, and to definitely meet with her and explain the case, then retain her services.

    I did schedule an appointment, and we prepared detailed documentation of what we wanted Susan Butler to see.

    On the day of the appointment, we arrived a bit early. The attorney came into the office about the time our appointment was scheduled, but instead of meeting with us, we could hear her in the next office making telephone calls and actually angrily yelling at various people on the phone for 40 minutes past the time of our appointment. The people who had an appointment after ours arrived while we were waiting, and also took a seat to wait.

    When we were finally called into her office, we began to take out our case materials, but Susan Butler started yelling at us not to bother, that she had reviewed the paperwork that we filled out upon arival at her office, and she couldn't help us with our case. She continued to yell at us over the next twenty minutes as we attempted to explain to her that we had traveled to see her based on her legal aide telling us that she could help, and that this is exactly the kind of case that her website indicated that she specialized in. We showed her photographs and documents, and she yelled as if we were hostile witnesses that she was cross-examining over every piece of paper we attempted to show her. She demanded to know how we obtained the photographs, as if we had stolen them or had otherwise done something wrong. She refused to review documents, actually pushing or throwing them back at us across her desk, stating that she could not help us. She said that her legal aide wouldn't know what type of case she would accept, and that we shouldn't have taken her legal aide's word on that and scheduled with her.

    After twenty long minutes of verbally abusing us, she actually expected us to pay her $150 for sitting there waiting for an hour to see her, then being yelled at and horribly criticized for another twenty minutes. I did explain to her, politely but insistently, that we had paid to travel there based on the word of her legal aide, and was it really right to charge us $150 to have her tell us she couldn't help us? She finally gave in, very angrily, and stormed out into the waiting room to tell her aide that we didn't need to pay her. She came back into the office and told us, sarcastically, that her time is worth money, and she had lost money by meeting with us, and so we should consider this "her donation to the cause". We could still hear her carrying on as we left the office.

    This was a terrible experience, and I could not and would not recommend this attorney to anyone. We were innocent people seeking help for two abused children, and she abused us. If she has forms to fill out, as we did upon arrival, which would tell her whether or not she would accept a case, then she should have mailed them to be returned to her and reviewed by her, prior to our having to drive to her office and go through the ordeal that we did.

    1. Susan Hickman Butler

      Susan Butler

      Lawyer Comment:

      I know you were disappointed that I did not take your case. Your review is untruthful. I treat every client the way I would want to be treated, with kindness and respect.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag