Donald Erwin Ray’s Reviews

Donald Erwin Ray

Average Rating

Based on 49 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Hero Without A Cape

    Posted by Lorinda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-6 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.

    Don is an amazing attorney. He bypasses being coy, and beating around the bush, so to speak, with a candid bluntness needed for courtroom situations, saving precious time. He exudes endless patience with me, and my misunderstandings of the family law legal process. (Sure there were some eyes rolling, but in good humor) He will not talk over your head, nor fill it with fancifull promises that may not be able to be kept. He tells it like it is good, bad, or ugly, but he is on your side. He also posesses a sense of humor,easing the anxiety. My case has been quite .convoluted, yet he did not hold my hand, but lead the way. Although he is blunt, and fierce, he is also compassionate. A hero? Possibly. Just needs a cape.

  2. THANK YOU!

    Posted by Katie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.

    Mr. Ray was patient with the process and kept on pursuing the child support modification long after I became frustrated. Throughout all of the continuances and nonsense that kept happening he remined calm and patient and kept me informed of what I needed to know, and didn't bog me down with unneccessary details. Mr. Ray kept his word and didn't charge me any additional fees even though the modification process took 9 months. I truly appreciate all he's done to help and get my child support modified! Thank you!

  3. Excellent. Mr. Ray helped through a rather simple divorce but however he in my opinion is the best. Straightforward, and honest.

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 6-12 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce was fairly simple but what is a simple divorce? He and his staff are efficient, trustworthy, knowledgeable, and proficient. Mr. Ray does not sugarcoat things and tells you the facts. He also keeps you informed as the process unfolds so that you know exactly what is going on. His assistant Jannel is a real help also. If you need a divorce attorney this guy is the one. I would like to also mention that his office is convienently located in a good part of Rockford on Bell School road.

  4. great atty with knowledge and loyalty

    Posted by LindseyParksChamberlin, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.

    Donald has been more than great to my husband and I . He is very knowledged in family law and child support matters. My husband had a really messed up case in Boone County and had been taking to the cleaners with previouse attorneys. When we got Donald everything changed. He was awesome and even though we were going against another really good attorney Donald did not back down like others had in the past. He fought for us and showed us that we did not have to go through what we were
    previously going through. He stuck with is for almost 5 yrs and never gave up. We are more than grateful for all his hard work and loyalty to us.

    Thanks so much for everything. If I know anyone that has a family case I tell them to call Mr. Ray and will continue to do so.

  5. Amazing attorney

    Posted by Lori, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don is an amazing attorney! He did everything he could to fight for what was owed to me. I am very happy with the outcome of my case and would highly recommend Don.

  6. BEST Attorney EVER!!!

    Posted by Happily Divorced, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for an attorney who is honest, compassionate, straight to the point and very well knowledge in the his field Attorney Ray is your man! I can not say THANK YOU enough to this man for everything he has done for my divorce! I must say from my consultation through to the finalization of my divorce Attorney Ray has had great communication with me about my case and making sure any and all questions were answered. Thanks Again Attorney RAY!!!

  7. DON RAY IS WORTH A MILLION IN MY BOOK

    Posted by RACHEL, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'VE BEEN TOLD MANY NEGATIVES ABOUT LAWYERS, BUT DON PROVES THEM ALL TO BE FALSE. HE IS TRUELY ONE IN A MILLION LAWYER!!! DON, KNEW WHAT I WAS THINKING BEFORE I EVEN SAID IT!!! HE IMPRESSED ME WITH HIS: KNOWLEDGE, FAST RESPONSES, COST, PERSONALITY, AND CARING FOR MY WHOLE SITUATION. HE WAS MORE OF A FRIEND THAN SOMEONE I HIRED!
    DON GOT MY FAMILY SUPPORT IN ONE MONTH WHEN I WAS WAITING A YEAR BEFORE MEETING HIM. HE WENT AGAINST MY EXS LAWYER WHOM WAS MONEY HUNGRY, VERY MEAN, AND A LIAR!! I WON'T SAY HER NAME(CHERI GREENLEE)!! OOPS!!! SHE WILL TAKE EVERY PENNY YOU HAVE AND STILL NOT HAVE A CLUE IN WHAT SHE IS TALKING ABOUT. DON STEPPED UP TO HER LIKE SHE WAS A TINY PUPPY WITH A BIG BARK!!! CONTRARY TO POPULAR BELIEF DON DOES NOT WANT BOTH PARTIES TO CONTINUE FIGHTING FOR MORE MONEY, HE ALWAYS TOLD ME IF MY EX AND I AGREE IT WILL BE CHEAPER. HE JUST WANTED TO DO HIS JOB GOOD FOR ME AND MY FAMILY . HOWEVER, IF I DIDNT LIKE SOMETHING HE STOOD BY ME AND FAUGHT!!! HE ALWAYS GOT ME WHAT I NEEDED!!! THANK YOU VERY, VERY, MUCH DON RAY FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK IN ALL MY CASES!!!

  8. mr ray

    Posted by kody, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i recently had the pleasure of having mr ray as my lawyer through a custody battle we just went to court recently and he did an amazing job i could not be happier with how he respresented me and got me my visitation rights back for me to see my son i would recommend mr ray to anyone wanting an honest hardworking attorney who actually knows what he is doing and is not in it just to take your money i wanna thank you mr ray for defending me and getting my son back thank you

  9. If you want an HONEST attorney..........Then he is the One for You

    Posted by Sherri,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.

    I went to see Mr. Ray for a free consultation. I thank him for the honesty; he is quite blunt, but that is who you want in an attorney. He does not sugar-coat it, the way it is, is the way he will tell you; which for me was the way it should be, and for anyone wanting an attorney. He even said that he would not take my money to hire him! (That's how much he thinks I didn't have a case!) Even though I think I am right on my case! I saw him a couple times in court, pro se, (without an attorney) and he asked how my case was going......He is truly an attorney you can count on! Wish he would re-consider my case??!

  10. Absolutely the best!!!!!!

    Posted by Scott, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm at work right now so when I get a chance I will give you all the details about Don. But there is no way I would've made it through my divorce and got soul custody of my daughter without him. It was kind of funny how I got recommended to go see Don. A lady I used to work with her son ex wife had him and told me that her son didn't have a chance against him.... I also work at a plant with like 4200 people and I have people coming up to me that I don't even no and ask me who my divorce attorney was.. And before I hired Don I had about 5 or 6 consultation with other divorce attorneys and it seemed like everyone only cared about the money. And I can't say enough about Don thank you so much!!! Scott

815-713-1272