Donald Erwin Ray’s Reviews

Donald Erwin Ray

Average Rating

Based on 53 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Attorney Review

    Posted by Shawn, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Donald Ray assisted me in Family, Child Care/Support, Child Custody, and Adoption. Donald Ray is hands down the most honorable attorney that resides in the Rockford, IL area. Mr. Ray is compassionate about his work and is very knowledgeable in providing legal advice. During times when I was impatient with unfavorable results, Mr. Ray remained loyal to my case. I would refer Attorney Ray to anyone in a difficult situation, requiring legal representation.

  2. BEST FREAKING LAWYER EVER!!

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-6 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ok so your here looking for a Great Lawyer... well your search is complete!!
    Don, is by far the best lawyer I have ever come across. I was in a desperate situation with my psychotic ex wife that love to make false allegations in an attempt to mess with my summer visitation with my son. Don took control immediately and made me feel relieved knowing that he had things under control. At no time did I ever lose faith in Don, even when things looked at its worst Don stood strong and set me at ease and made my ex wife's and her attorney look like lliteral fools. I feel sorry for anybody that has any other attorney besides Don...
    Thanks Don for everything!!!!!
    Jeff

  3. Excellant attorney with compassion for his clients

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Attorney Ray made me feel at ease from the first moment that I stepped into his office for my consultation. I knew that he was the attorney that I needed. At every step of my divorce, which was at times quite contentious, he was honest, and upfront about what was realistic and had no problem taking care of any issues that arose. He took his time to explain things to me when I was unsure, and at times when I thought I was at the end of my rope, was supportive and made me feel that he had my best interest and was in my corner. I would recommend Attorney Ray to anyone! Not only is he, in my opinion, an excellent attorney, but he treats you with compassion, not just a paying client. I hope I will never have a need for another attorney, but if I did, he is the one that I would be contacting, no hesitation.

  4. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by Melissa B, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Don Ray is an exceptional attorney. He tracked down the father of my children for years, making him responsible for paying his child support. It didn't matter what state he chose to reside in, Don was always right on top of it. He's very trustworthy and always came through for my family! I highly recommend him!

  5. A Hero Without A Cape

    Posted by Lorinda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 6-12 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.

    Don is an amazing attorney. He bypasses being coy, and beating around the bush, so to speak, with a candid bluntness needed for courtroom situations, saving precious time. He exudes endless patience with me, and my misunderstandings of the family law legal process. (Sure there were some eyes rolling, but in good humor) He will not talk over your head, nor fill it with fancifull promises that may not be able to be kept. He tells it like it is good, bad, or ugly, but he is on your side. He also posesses a sense of humor,easing the anxiety. My case has been quite .convoluted, yet he did not hold my hand, but lead the way. Although he is blunt, and fierce, he is also compassionate. A hero? Possibly. Just needs a cape.

  6. THANK YOU!

    Posted by Katie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.

    Mr. Ray was patient with the process and kept on pursuing the child support modification long after I became frustrated. Throughout all of the continuances and nonsense that kept happening he remined calm and patient and kept me informed of what I needed to know, and didn't bog me down with unneccessary details. Mr. Ray kept his word and didn't charge me any additional fees even though the modification process took 9 months. I truly appreciate all he's done to help and get my child support modified! Thank you!

  7. Excellent. Mr. Ray helped through a rather simple divorce but however he in my opinion is the best. Straightforward, and honest.

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My divorce was fairly simple but what is a simple divorce? He and his staff are efficient, trustworthy, knowledgeable, and proficient. Mr. Ray does not sugarcoat things and tells you the facts. He also keeps you informed as the process unfolds so that you know exactly what is going on. His assistant Jannel is a real help also. If you need a divorce attorney this guy is the one. I would like to also mention that his office is convienently located in a good part of Rockford on Bell School road.

  8. great atty with knowledge and loyalty

    Posted by LindseyParksChamberlin, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.

    Donald has been more than great to my husband and I . He is very knowledged in family law and child support matters. My husband had a really messed up case in Boone County and had been taking to the cleaners with previouse attorneys. When we got Donald everything changed. He was awesome and even though we were going against another really good attorney Donald did not back down like others had in the past. He fought for us and showed us that we did not have to go through what we were
    previously going through. He stuck with is for almost 5 yrs and never gave up. We are more than grateful for all his hard work and loyalty to us.

    Thanks so much for everything. If I know anyone that has a family case I tell them to call Mr. Ray and will continue to do so.

  9. Amazing attorney

    Posted by Lori, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don is an amazing attorney! He did everything he could to fight for what was owed to me. I am very happy with the outcome of my case and would highly recommend Don.

  10. BEST Attorney EVER!!!

    Posted by Happily Divorced, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Ray.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for an attorney who is honest, compassionate, straight to the point and very well knowledge in the his field Attorney Ray is your man! I can not say THANK YOU enough to this man for everything he has done for my divorce! I must say from my consultation through to the finalization of my divorce Attorney Ray has had great communication with me about my case and making sure any and all questions were answered. Thanks Again Attorney RAY!!!

815-713-1272