Janice L. Berman’s Reviews

Janice L. Berman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-6 months ago.
    • Janice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Janice was effective and conscious of her hours spent when she helped me with my divorce. She has helped me a couple of times, since, too. Very honest and focused.

  2. The Attorney way beyond just being Excellent

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Child Support matter.

    Finding the reliable high professional attorney is not easy. I've got lucky having Janice as my attorney in child support case. I felt like I am the only client and very special one since Janice and Shirley, Janice's assistant, made you feel that way by handling the case superbly. I know people who were changing their attorneys and not once and as a result losing money and getting more frustrated. Not with Janice. From the very start my case seemed easy but the opposing party made it too complicated by changing the attorneys, hiding the information, making false statements and creating more barriers to avoid. Janice with her top professionalism, great experience and her considerate attitude was always there for me to go through the storm. She has a very high ethics. Janice is one of the rare attorneys nowadays who cares more about the client and the positive outcome of your case rather than bleeding your money. Sometimes as a client I was tempted to take actions that would increase my bills and bring more money to the attorney but Janice always stopped me by keeping me away from additional costs that are not relevant and unnecessary. Janice is very accessible both via email and by phone and in person. Janice is credible, efficient and understanding. She explained everything clearly and kept me well informed. The whole year I felt guided and every obstacle created by the opposing party was met with a reply to overcome the situation. Janice is down to earth and sees the situation clearly without sugar coating things since she is so experienced and knowledgeable. When I asked her for an advise, she always came with the right one as it turned out later. From our first meeting she promised me to get the money (past due child support, increase in child support) and she kept her word and did even more, the attorney's fees paid back. I highly recommend Janice without hesitation to anyone who is looking for a Real Attorney to help you and to guide you and to get the result and to save you your money. I was recommended Janice by one of my acquaintances and I recommend and will recommend Janice who is in search for a superb attorney. Janice is the Attorney you do not want to change but keep turning to with all the issues you have.

  3. Janice did an amazing job

    Posted by Cheryl, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am thankful I hired Janice to handle my divorce and custody issues a few years ago. At the onset, I explained to her that my case would be particularly contentious and difficult (which proved to be true) (in case she had seconds thoughts) but she never flinched. She really did an amazing job helping me to navigate the legal process and advocating for the best interests of myself and my children. Whatever seemingly overwhelming complication arose, she responded calmly and professionally with a reasonable plan to manage it. For example, there were safety issues in my situation which she handled promptly and effectively. She clearly has extensive knowledge of and experience dealing with all aspects of divorce/custody, including those that I could not even have anticipated. She has shown sincere concern for the well-being of myself and my children and for facilitating outcomes that didn't just get the job done but improved our lives. Shirley too, does a great job assisting to organize a busy practice and keeping the lines of communication open. Although my divorce was final some time ago, there will be future issues as the children reach adulthood. I am confident that Janice will handle these expertly as well.

  4. Highly recommend - exceeded expectations

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-6 months ago.
    • Janice handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    Janice is very knowledgeable and compassionate. She understood a stressful family situation and very promptly and competently advised us and handled our needs. I can't imagine receiving better service. Janice and Shirley truly exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend Janice.

  5. I was very pleased when I hired Janice and her team!

    Posted by Jim, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 6-12 months ago.
    • Janice handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Janice and Shirley were on top of every aspect of my house closings. She handled both the selling side and the buying side.
    She was able to guide us through every aspect, even when the opposing side didn't hire an attorney until Janice strongly encouraged them. I was pleased with Janice's take on the situation, and was impressed with her ability to take a situation and offer advice on how to handle.
    All of her correspondence was professional, accurate, to the point, and timiely.

    Her assistant Shirley was also very good at getting back to me with a phone call or emails on whatever was taking place. She was patient when we would call in during any frustrating situations in the proceedings. But let me be clear, the frustration was with opposing counsel, not Janice's office.
    I would recommend them very highly! She has the professional touch as needed, but also has the personal side when just an opinion or calmness is required.
    Very pleased!!!

  6. Wouldn't go to anyone else!

    Posted by Andrea, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've had one condo sale and one condo purchase handled by Janice Berman and I wouldn't go to any other attorney. She gave quick and informative replies to all of my inquiries. Both transactions were seamless and without any troubles. Very much feel she truly cares about her clients' best interest.

  7. Divorce Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice more than 3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Janice has helped me to finally get divorced! I am grateful for all her help. Janice have been very patient with me and have always assured me she is doing everything in her powers to get all my petitions awarded. The divorce proceedings have been very painful but she has always made me feel assured that everything would be ok at the end of it all.

  8. A very nice lawyer

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Janice helped me from the very start on my legal matters stemming from my divorce. I went through some stressful times and Janice would always support and provide a feeling of comfort. There are no real winners in divorce cases but at least Janice was able to make the process less painful. I am ever grateful to her for helping me through the matter and allowing me the feeling that life will be much better going forward.

  9. Glad I hired her!

    Posted by Annette, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice 1-3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Janice is a mix of hard working professional, common sense and just plain friendly.. She's smart, caring, and eager to get things. done. Mine was a benign uncontested divorce after 30 years of marriage. No children or mortgage were involved. The huge issues were a retirement fund and ranch house. Due to opposing counsel along with my ex-spouse learning an impending layoff was closer than expected, instead of taking a possible 3 months, the process of reaching a dissolution agreement took twice as long.

    Throughout that time, Janice and her assistant, Shirley, were in constant communication about everything. If I didn't heard anything, neither had they. Many times, if court time prevented Janice from checking an email for my case, instead of just leaving it for later, she'd send right over to me to look over and forward thought, concerns, etc. and mention when she expected to get to it herself which was usually a few days later. This save time in that both the email and my thoughts regarding it were waiting for her to act on as soon as she was ready.

    Janice never did anything without consulting me and kept her informed of my concerns. Only once did we have a minor tiff caused by my impatience. We talked about it and possible consequences if I said one thing and did another. She was upfront and disappointed yet not overly criticizing.

    By the time the agreement was signed, it was after Thanksgiving and my major concern was not having to deal with filing a joint tax return. She went to the courthouse to be sure my divorce was on the judge's docket before the end of the year. The court day did not go smoothly but the divorce happened. Janice worked thru the unexpected problems and assured me all would be fine. By the time we were before the judge my nerves were fraying with the shock of reality. Janice's encouragement and assurance helped keep me as calm as I could be.

    My own 40+ years of assisting in offices makes me very aware of offices that are friendly and professional versus those that are disorganized and don't pay much attention to the customer. I tend to stay away from the 2nd scenario. Janice's law firm is professional and very friendly. Besides the divorce work, we had some very nice conversations about life in general. I particularly remember one visit in which, instead of a business suit, Janice was wearing a relaxed slacks outfit with her pinned up. I remarked about not having court that day. She laughed with me and said it had been a long week and she was glad to not be running around for a change. Then we got down to the business at hand for the day.

    The other day, I received a letter from Janice officially closing my divorce case as everything she'd been hired to do was done. I assured her she hadn't gotten rid of me yet. Two other important projects are ahead of me; redoing my Will and purchasing a place to live. I intend to hire her to help me with both of those also.

  10. Janice Berman, the best choice for a family law attorney in Cook County!

    Posted by Aimee, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janice Berman.
    • I hired Janice more than 3 years ago.
    • Janice handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Janice is a phenomenal lawyer that was on top of my case from start to finish! She and her staff did an excellent job of keeping me informed and I was very pleased with the outcome. In fact, I used her services on two occasions and would not hesitate to use her services again if needed. Janice is very knowledgeable and fair. She's very well respected in the industry and my experience with her demonstrates exactly why.

847-292-9900