Salim John Sheikh’s Reviews

Salim John Sheikh

Average Rating

Based on 82 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Sal helped me with a speeding ticket

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim < 1 month ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sal was recommended to me by an ols classmate of mine. He was very personable and explained what my options were. I was afraid my licence was going to get suspended. Thanks Sal. I will refer anyone i know who needs a lawyer to him.

  2. Aggressive, compassionate, and knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim < 1 month ago.
    • Salim handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sal, very professional, personable and dedicated to my case. I came in worried and looking for advice in a situation I felt I couldn't take on alone. After meeting him he made me at ease about what to say and do to be best prepared for court. I'd highly recommend him to anyone who needs help in successfully winning their case.

  3. Downtown Public Urination Ticket

    Posted by a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sal was knowledgeable/confident within this area of the City Code, and managed to get to my case knocked down to a lesser citation. Background: I was charged with a 'misdemeanor crime' after taking a leak behind a dumpster in a dark, empty alley in the middle of the night. In my hometown, we'd give someone a high-five for even having the courage to enter said-alley, but Chicago is hurting for funds (cite: the news) and so they are using young patrol officers to sneak around in the dark to find easy mone- oops I mean "criminals." I also saw them arrest several other guys later for basically being outside while drunk. This is an unfortunate police tactic that will deter tourism, much like other cute moves such as leasing a federal road project (I-90) to foreign toll investors for $1.83 billion. Got to love those politics.

  4. represented me at the Daley plaza formy dui case

    Posted by diego, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    i got arrested at a Chicago roadside safety check. They charge me with a DUI because they found a tiny amount of cannabis in the vehicle. I went on a look out to find me a good lawyer to represent me in court. Another lawyer who i met told me about Sal and gave me his number, so i gave him a call. Best lawyer around.Great communication any concerns i might have he is just a call away. and you can always stop by the office. He even came into the office to see me on a Sunday!. if your looking for a criminal defense lawyer this is the person to call.

  5. A++

    Posted by Jameel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Best lawyer I've ever worked with! Outcome was way better than expected. He's really passionate about what he does and actually cares about his clients. Overall Sal is an extraordinary attorney and an amazing person! Very inspirational. If you're looking for the best defense in Chicago Sal is your guy.

  6. He Walks The Walk

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sal took initiative and really helped me out in a case where I had not kept up with my commitments for court. He got me an extension to take care of these things, and I am grateful. I thought I was going to get a violation and sent to jail because the judge said I had to complete everything by the next court date, and I didn't. I did not give Sal much to work with. He took what he had and got me an extension to fulfill my commitments for the courts.

  7. Attorney Sal Helped me with a speeding ticket that was a misdemenaor

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 6-12 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was a college student and would usually take the METRA to school, however on this specific day I was late for a midterm exam. I did not have enough time to take METRA and borrowed my roommates car to drive to class. While driving on the expressway I was pulled over by the police for speeding. I was an international student and had only an expired Illinois Drivers permit and no insurance. The officer let me go to class but gave me tickets for no copies of my license and insurance and speeding. Well it turns out the speeding ticket is a Misdemeanor Charge! WHAT? I hired Sal and he handled the situation for me. My court date was at the traffic courthouse in Mundelein.

  8. Sal got my case dismissed

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-3 years ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am a College Student and was charged with Retail Theft at the Courthouse on Belmont St. This was the first time I was ever in trouble. Sal was very helpful in relieving my stress and anxiety about what was going on. I was afraid for my future and ruining what I have done in school. Sal made my case dismissed. Thank You.

  9. Family case

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a case at 555 W Harrison. Sal was a great person to work with. He kept me up to date. Responded within a timely manner and he kept my confidence up about the whole situation. I would recommend Sal to anyone. It was a great outcome, he was able to get my case dismissed.

    Thanks Sal!

  10. I recommend Sal if you are in a sticky situation

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Salim Sheikh.
    • I hired Salim 1-6 months ago.
    • Salim handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sal represented me in a criminal case that I had in a downstate rural county. I needed an attorney who was outside of the small legal community in the county. I was facing criminal charges that had immigration consequences. Sal came thru. If you are ever in trouble: Better Call Sal!!